Author Topic: Tektronix 2445B - Noise on calibrator squarewave, is this normal?  (Read 12439 times)

Offline CZ101Topic starter

• Contributor
Hi all, first post here.

I recently scored a nice looking 2445B w/ 4 probes for a decent price. I'm a Tektronix newbie btw, most of my oscilloscope experience has been with a 50 Mhz Hitachi V-550B.

So anyway, I just wanted to ask:

Is it normal for the calibrator square wave to be so noisy without the 20 Mhz bandwidth limit enabled? See pics for what I'm talking about.

The probe I'm using here is a Tek P6108A, and I'm getting basically the same results with a Tek P6133 probe as well.

One curious thing going on here is the noise is visibly reduced as the probe lead is brought near the rear of the oscilloscope, which I assume is the location of the power supply?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Offline KJDS

• Super Contributor
    • my website holding page
Re: Tektronix 2445B - Noise on calibrator squarewave, is this normal?
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2014, 03:45:40 pm »
Looks like the intensity is set a bit high and the probes need adjusting.

Offline miguelvp

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: April 05, 2014, 03:47:46 pm »
Probe needs to be adjusted at the base of the probe with a plastic flat head until the signal is square.

Other than that it seems you have the intensity set too high.

LOL KJDS you beat me to it

Offline eurofox

• Supporter
    • Music
« Reply #3 on: April 05, 2014, 03:49:24 pm »
Looks like the intensity is set a bit high and the probes need adjusting.

I was writing almost the same at the same time but add focus and astig (astigmatism) and of course intensity.  :-/O
eurofox

Offline T3sl4co1l

• Super Contributor
  • Expert, Analog Electronics, PCB Layout, EMC
    • Seven Transistor Labs
« Reply #4 on: April 05, 2014, 03:49:25 pm »
If it's periodic, you can probe the ground pin and move the cable around, see if there's anything to trigger on.