Author Topic: Fluke/Philips PM3394 options  (Read 13287 times)

Offline BurnedResistorTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Fluke/Philips PM3394 options
« on: August 21, 2015, 11:06:28 am »
Hey all,

This is my first time on this forum, so please forgive if I managed to overlook some obvious details/failed to find that this question has already been asked/Am posting in the wrong place!

I am currently studying electronics, and through a friend of a friend of my parents (I live in a small town :P) I was able to purchase my first oscilloscope, a PM3394 200MHz Oscilloscope, 4 channels with both an analog and digital mode! It was unopened, in original packaging, and because I live in the rural area of a small country where getting your hands on cheap test equipment is rather difficult, it was a deal I could hardly pass up!

The Oscilloscope passes the self-test, and I have not been able to find any flaws in the few days I have been using it. Overall I am very happy with it.

However the waveform memory is fairly limited with 8k on one channel, or less if more channels are recorded. While reading the manual (http://exodus.poly.edu/~kurt/manuals/manuals/Fluke/FLUKE_PM33XXSeries_OM_66.pdf)  I noticed  that there are 3 options to this oscilloscope:

A Math+ option which adds more math functions,

A 32k option which adds more memory

and A IEEE-488.2 interface option.

According to the self test, none of these are installed. I would only really have a use for the Math and of course the more memory function, as the RS232 interface is all I need. However, the manual provides very limited information on these upgrades. I do not know if they are hardware/software upgrades, here is all I was able to gather:

The IEEE interface option is a factory install

There is a manual for the Math+ option separately, although I have not been able to find it.