Author Topic: Help choosing a used scope  (Read 3574 times)

Offline greg_gorrellTopic starter

Help choosing a used scope
« on: March 14, 2017, 02:58:26 pm »
Hello all,

I have been browsing the forums and watching the videos for a year or so now and finally decided to register.  Been into electronics for most of my life but now I am getting into the market for a scope.  I have the following for sale locally that I can purchase:

Tektronix 5110 for $50 - This comes with a differential amp 5a19n and time base 5b10.  The only issue I see is that there are no probes and the granicule backlight isn't working which is no big deal.  Also, I'm not sure about it only being a 2MHz scope, but I am a beginner and sometime in the future I could upgrade.

LG OS-5100 for $135 or best offer - in good working condition, includes a 100 MHz testing lead and that's about all the information I have on it.  It's a two hour drive away from me but looks very well taken care of.

Elenco MO-1252 for $200 - I'm sure the price is negotiable and this also comes with the probes.  This is a 35MHz dual channel model and comes with original manual.

I'm guessing the LG is going to be the best value but I don't know and would greatly appreciate any advice from the pros.  Thanks in advance everyone.

Offline SingedFingers

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Help choosing a used scope
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2017, 03:05:13 pm »
Stay away from the 5110. Bandwidth is too low to be of any use.

LG OS-5100 is the better scope on that list but the price is way too high IMHO. I've had a couple of their older 20MHz units and they are rebrands of Chinese generic ones. usually pretty easy to fix if anything goes bang. Not the best scopes on the market though

Offline nctnico

• Super Contributor
    • NCT Developments
« Reply #2 on: March 14, 2017, 03:11:23 pm »
Location? There are lots of analog GW Instek scopes on Ebay from the US which seem to be in good condition.