Author Topic: Help Identifying Instek GDS-2000E pin headers  (Read 1503 times)

Offline rhbTopic starter

• Super Contributor
Help Identifying Instek GDS-2000E pin headers
« on: November 19, 2018, 11:48:55 pm »
I am finally getting time to work on FOSS FW for Zynq based scopes.  At present I have a GDS-2072E for a test platform.  My first task, of course, is to understand the design and how to bare metal program it.

I'm trying to sort out some connectors on the main board.  In particular:

J500
J501 (not populated, but appears to be a USB PHY)
J502
J1170

On my later production MSO-22004EA only J502 is populated.

I need to find out how to reprogram the device when I brick it.  I'm hoping I won't do that, but I want to be prepared.  I've never attempted anything like this.  So I'm assuming I'll brick it more than once.    I have 30 years of DSP  experience with a wide range of hardware and have built up a pretty good bench setup with budget for more T&M gear as needed.   Most of the work will be done on a MicroZed or Zybo Z7-20, but at some point I'll need to start testing my FW on the 2072E.

I'm hoping for something usable in 12 to 18 months.  So don't hold your breathe.  The DSP is easy, but I doubt that the FPGA dev tools are.

There is a getty initiated on ttyPS0 (one of the two Zynq UARTs) in /etc/inittab

I lucked out and got the GDS-2072E from Amazon for $244 delivered in one of their old stock selloffs.  The Siglent SDS1202X is also Zynq based.  So I'm looking for a similar deal on one of those.  My goal is to write FW which is portable so that a port to a new scope is as easy as possible.  I've also bought a Cyclone V based Terasic DE-10 Nano and will be testing my Verilog code on both Zynq and Cyclone V as I write it.  I don't know of anyone using it in a DSO yet, but I learned a long time ago that the sooner you identify portability issues, the better.