Author Topic: High-end DMM model opinions needed  (Read 29291 times)

Offline alexwhittemoreTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
High-end DMM model opinions needed
« on: March 09, 2011, 01:56:16 pm »
Hi all, long time watcher first time poster. I'm looking for some DMM opinions. Here's the full story:

I'm an undergrad EE student who works on lots of projects all the time. A few months back I started saving up to a $400 goal so that I could get myself a Rigol DS2052E for my birthday in July. Not too long after I started, one of my professors was getting rid of some old equipment in various states of disrepair, and I managed to snag some of it - a Tek power supply that just needed some new fuses, a 1MHz function generator, and -the best part- a Tek 2221A 100MHz/100Ms/s dual channel analog/digital scope.

The scope is as old as I am, to the month judging by the manual's first run date, and it has some quirks like drift in the vertical offset, but in general it's been great to have and it gets the job done. It's missing some things: at 100MS/s, the digital functionality is only 100Mhz in repetitive mode, and being so old it doesn't have built-in FFT or any fancy triggering besides rising/falling/edge/level/so on.

So now that I have this pretty good analog/digital scope, I'm less inclined to drop $400 on another that, in many ways, won't be as good. I'll get an FFT and USB connectivity, but I can survive without them, and if I desperately need a better scope for some project, I do have plenty of access through work and school to the right equipment.

My DMM on the other hand is not terribly satisfying, and being that I use that more than any other tool on my bench, I'm thinking I'll skip the DSO and spend the money on a handheld meter. The question is, which one?