Author Topic: HP 6220b use  (Read 1842 times)

Offline oldsoulTopic starter

HP 6220b use
« on: August 24, 2017, 07:18:10 pm »
Hello,
First time poster and complete novice. I purchased this HP 6220b with the hopes of using it for guitar pedal and modular synth projects I've been working on. I got it from eBay so I know that can be a cause for concern. I think part of this might be my lack of understanding of how to operate it but had a few questions. It seems that upon power up I can't get the voltage on the meter to go up at all. I tried measuring the voltage with a multi meter and only got low mV values. Can someone direct me how I can perform some basic tests to see if this unit needs servicing or I'm just not operating it properly? Again I'm completely a novice and pretty confused by some of the stuff in the manual. In the attached PDF page I can't seem to get step d of 3-1 to do anything. The meter stays at 0.

Online TimFox

• Super Contributor
  • Retired, now restoring antique test equipment
Re: HP 6220b use
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2017, 08:29:44 pm »
Make sure that the current limit control is not fully counter-clockwise (zero current), as that will normally override the voltage control even into a high-resistance load.

« Reply #2 on: August 25, 2017, 02:22:33 am »
Nope that doesn't help. When I set the meter switch to either 1.2A to .12A I can adjust the current control to get a reading. But When I put the meter switch in either 60V or 6V range the voltage control does nothing and the meter stays at zero.

Offline macboy

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: August 25, 2017, 04:06:24 pm »
Ensure that the straps are installed exactly as in the manual page you posted, Fig 3-2. These are important connections.