Author Topic: HP 6236B Triple Output Power Supply (w/ talk about GPD-3303S)  (Read 15193 times)

Offline JenniferGTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
Re: HP 6236B Triple Output Power Supply
« Reply #25 on: February 26, 2017, 09:19:14 am »
Nice supplies those 6236B's. I did AoE 2nd edition with one in about 1996! Literally just bought it's successor yesterday, the E3630A as I regretted selling it years ago. If you want to get through AoE cheaply you can make do with one supply. I did when I did the old 2nd edition anyway. Had an 8xAA battery box and a croc clip lead as a second supply. If not the new HY1803D linear supplies are dirt cheap and aren't terrible.

Also skip the PB-503 breadboard. Spend the money on a nice sweeping function generator. HP 3312A is spot on for that course.

Incidentally I did the AoE course, then I did an EE degree and the AoE course was far more valuable.

Testing electrolytic capacitors... I'd just ignore this. They are almost certainly fine if the supply is operating correctly.

Wow thanks for all that useful info :)  Really cool to have people here willing to give a newb some advice to get me going in the right direction.  I am quite excited actually to start going with this.  I don't work so I have a lot of time on my hands and this would be as good a way to spend extra time.  My goal is to learn enough to where I can design cool and interesting things and make them a reality.  Also, want to save a lot of money building my own modular synth instead of the individual expensive modules.

Yeah I have no intentions of buying that bread board.  I bought a bunch of MB-102's for $2 from china.  I love this breadboard spring vise tool that breadboards sit in.  I printed it on my 3D printer.  It should do the job :)  [Cost me like $1 in plastic to print.. uses rubberbands to the wings are self-adjusting.. they really hold any pcb well!]

http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:957376