Author Topic: HP 8904A Options  (Read 9067 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline davorin

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 809
  • Country: ch
HP 8904A Options
« on: June 08, 2014, 11:46:09 pm »
Hello

I just received an old HP8904A signal generator with no options installed...

Is there a way to still get the options keys for the software options?


 

Offline PedroDaGr8

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1273
  • Country: us
  • A sociable geek chemist
Re: HP 8904A Options
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2014, 12:14:57 am »
With that generation the options may actually be hardware modules that get installed. Not sure because it's appearance is right on the border between actual hardware options abd software key based options.
The very existence of flamethrowers proves that some time, somewhere, someone said to themselves, "You know, I want to set those people over there on fire, but I'm just not close enough to get the job done." -George Carlin
 

Offline davorin

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 809
  • Country: ch
Re: HP 8904A Options
« Reply #2 on: June 09, 2014, 12:18:34 am »
Well...currently no need for options...as the device went up in smoke with just being plugged in, but not powered up...

From my experience it must be burned resistor(s) (o;

 

Offline max666

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 367
  • Country: at
Re: HP 8904A Options
« Reply #3 on: June 09, 2014, 12:29:15 am »
Just out of curiosity; you did check if the voltage select switch is in the 230 V position, right?

Options:
001    Adds three more identical internal synthesizers (channels) which either can modulate the first synthesizer or be summed to the output
002    Adds second internal synthesizer and output
003    Adds fast hop and digital modulation
004    Connectors on rear panel only (not available with Option 005 or 006)
005    Adds unit to unit phase synchronization
006    Changes output 1 from a 50 Ohm output to a transformer-coupled, 600 Ohm balanced output
61024    Rack-mount Kit for a single HP 8904A
61025    Rack-mount Kit for mounting two 8904A's side by side

pretty sure those options require hardware changes, does the 8904A have software options?   :-//
« Last Edit: June 09, 2014, 12:40:58 am by max666 »
 

Offline davorin

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 809
  • Country: ch
Re: HP 8904A Options
« Reply #4 on: June 09, 2014, 12:39:19 am »
Yes..it is switched to 230V AC as it was used before in Germany...

Sadly the service manual only contains some analog section...no power supply schematics..

 

Offline wn1fju

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 186
  • Country: us
Re: HP 8904A Options
« Reply #5 on: June 09, 2014, 12:42:43 am »
In case you are able to fix the 8904A, there is a way to enable all of the software options.  You will need to familiarize yourself with HP Service Note 8904A-05 which shows how to recover from a general battery backup failure.  Then there is a method to write a specific address with a value that will enable everything, namely 0xFF into address 3FFC.  This procedure is documented in a series of e-mails which I'm looking right at now (I stuck them in my manual years ago).  If I remember, they were freely available on-line, perhaps in the Yahoo HP group.  In a pinch, I guess I could mail you a copy.  With no extra hardware options, at least this procedure gives access to the multiple channel option (001), which is the biggest bonus.
 

Offline davorin

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 809
  • Country: ch
Re: HP 8904A Options
« Reply #6 on: June 09, 2014, 01:12:24 am »
First I need to open the covers...

Got it open now...and see now some black, sticky stuff just below the line filter from the AC line...

« Last Edit: June 09, 2014, 01:28:01 am by davorin »
 

Offline SeanB

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 15050
  • Country: za
Re: HP 8904A Options
« Reply #7 on: June 09, 2014, 01:42:33 am »
Ah, the Schaeffner curse yet again. Likely that is the only fault there. Plenty of discussion on those accursed filters around here.
 

Offline davorin

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 809
  • Country: ch
Re: HP 8904A Options
« Reply #8 on: June 09, 2014, 01:51:58 am »
Yes...you're right :-))

Found this on another forum...

Think test-wise I just mount a regular AC plug without filter as it did once powered up successfully...

 

Offline Richard Head

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 682
  • Country: 00
Re: HP 8904A Options
« Reply #9 on: June 09, 2014, 04:33:03 am »
Yip. Happened with me too, on two occasions.
Plugged in my new instrument and after 10 minutes smoke.
I had it happen to two different instruments.
Luckily I was able to get an exact match from RS, albeit at a price!
 

Offline davorin

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 809
  • Country: ch
Re: HP 8904A Options
« Reply #10 on: June 09, 2014, 05:37:54 am »
Is there a document about the commands used in the HP Service Note 8904A-05?

Like how to write 0xff into location 0x3ffc?

 

Offline wn1fju

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 186
  • Country: us
Re: HP 8904A Options
« Reply #11 on: June 09, 2014, 08:21:26 am »
I found the service note at:
http://exodus.poly.edu/~kurt/manuals/manuals/HP%20Agilent/HP%208904A%20Service%20Notes%202.pdf

Or simply google "HP 8905A-05 Service Note".

Basically, what you want to do is follow the procedure as if you were going to change the three addresses at 3FFD, 3FFE and 3FFF, except you don't want to change those three - you want to use the up/down arrows to get to address 3FFC and then enter in FF for the data at that address.

You may have to fumble around or try a few times as I'm recalling all of this from years ago.  But I was ultimately successful and enabled Options 001/003/005.  Have fun.
 
The following users thanked this post: Octane

Offline davorin

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 809
  • Country: ch
Re: HP 8904A Options
« Reply #12 on: June 09, 2014, 08:28:21 am »
Well..with the up/down keys it was clear to me...but not how to enter the hex code...

So you say I can just move to 0x3ffc and try several times until I'm lucky and not mess up to end up with a dead device?

 

Offline davorin

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 809
  • Country: ch
Re: HP 8904A Options
« Reply #13 on: June 12, 2014, 12:43:17 am »
Today a replacement ac inlet/filter arrived today...not a perfect match as it is larger but I made it fit by bending the pins (o;

Used a Schaffner FN9222B-3-06 now as it was the closest model available here in Switzerland.


Now for the option hacking (o;

 

Offline davorin

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 809
  • Country: ch
Re: HP 8904A Options
« Reply #14 on: June 12, 2014, 01:19:37 am »
Wow...that was easy :-))

At the step where the technical note says "NEXT, NEXT, NEXT, f1, 4, 0, 0, 0"

then you actually set the start address...you could just press 3FFC....to switch over to enter the data itself...just press "f2" (it actually shows you on the display ;o) and then press twice "F"...then exit with twice "f4", power cycle the bastard et voila...options 01/03/05 are displayed :-))

Code: [Select]
Power-Cycle/Power-On
SHIFT, SERVICE, SHIFT, f4, 0, 9, 2, 4, 4, 8, SHIFT, SERVICE
NEXT, NEXT, NEXT, f1, 3, F, F, C
f2, F, F, f4, f4
Power-Cycle
« Last Edit: June 12, 2014, 01:35:12 am by davorin »
 
The following users thanked this post: siggi, Octane

Offline TheDefpom

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 229
  • Country: nz
  • YouTuber Geek
    • The Defpom's Channel
Re: HP 8904A Options
« Reply #15 on: March 20, 2017, 06:09:41 pm »
I purchased one of these recently to fix it in a video for my channel.

It has a dead power supply, and whilst trying to trace the fault yesterday the filter blew up in front of me, I was actually recording a video for my channel at the time, so I caught it on camera !

I think I traced the dead power supply to Q4 being blown, an MJE18006, it is completely shorted out, so I am hoping that is all that is wrong with it (apart from the filter of course, I wonder if they were not really designed for 240V operation?), I wasn't able to find a proper circuit diagram for it either.

I will be posting a video to my youtube channel after I have finished piecing together the video sections, in case anyone wants to see the filter blowing out and the smoke.... it stank, my lab still smells badly from it today !

Video will be here (once it has finished uploading and processing... will be a multipart due to the need to get parts in):
« Last Edit: March 20, 2017, 07:02:58 pm by TheDefpom »
 

Offline SeanB

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 15050
  • Country: za
Re: HP 8904A Options
« Reply #16 on: March 21, 2017, 03:16:42 am »
Whatever drove that transistor is guaranteed fried, along with the emitter current sense resistor, the base resistor if there and of course the blown fuse. Bridge rectifier might also be blown. Replace them and the small electrolytic capacitors around the controller chip as well, and check the snubber resistor capacitor and diode is still intact.

Then run the PSU unloaded with a dim bulb tester, and see if it at least tries to start up and does not light the bulb to full brightness. May or may not run properly with no load, but should have some life on the secondary side.
 

Offline douardda

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 75
  • Country: fr
Re: HP 8904A Options
« Reply #17 on: March 21, 2017, 04:03:26 am »
I did a blog  post on my HP 8904A PSU problem and repair. It's most probably not very useful for you since the pb looks very different, but just in case. I did reverse eng. a part of the schematic.

https://whatever.sdfa3.org/tag/hp8904a.html

David





Envoyé de mon GT-N7105 en utilisant Tapatalk

 

Offline TheDefpom

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 229
  • Country: nz
  • YouTuber Geek
    • The Defpom's Channel
Re: HP 8904A Options
« Reply #18 on: March 21, 2017, 04:27:34 am »
I did find that blog when I was searching for info, a very interesting and helpful page, yours had a different fault to mine, but the power supply is the same one, I have saved the diagram to my records as I expect it will be needed, one thing I did notice is the ic numbers, mine are not lm393 but lm392.
« Last Edit: March 21, 2017, 04:31:22 am by TheDefpom »
 

Offline TheDefpom

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 229
  • Country: nz
  • YouTuber Geek
    • The Defpom's Channel
Re: HP 8904A Options
« Reply #19 on: March 31, 2017, 05:22:37 pm »
I did some more investigation about the options once I repaired the unit I have here, I figured out the codes required for each option, and how to set it correctly, instead of using "FF" which results in trailing slashes due to invalid option selections (non existent options).

I did a video on my channel for this, showing what I found and demonstrating how to set the options.



Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf