Author Topic: Is Rigol DP832 output voltage spikes when unit is turned on an real problem?  (Read 9085 times)

Offline ReneTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Hello,

Based on what I have been reading, it appears that the Rigol DP832 output voltage spikes that occur when the unit is turned on is a well-known issue that has been known for a while (at least for a year and a half from the time I am posting this).

And yet, it looks like Rigol has not address the issue and units continue to ship with the problem (at least to my knowledge). That said, I am going to assume that this particular issue is not a problem at all since I am pretty sure that Rigol would have fixed the issue by now if this was a critical issue.

My problem is that I am new to all these so I have very limited knowledge about electronics to know if my assumption is correct or not. So my question is: Am I correct in assuming that the spike issue is not an issue at all?

By the way, I realize that I can always unplug the power supply from my circuit before turning the unit on to avoid the issue but chances are that sooner or later I will forget to do that and quite honestly, this is something I don’t want to have to worry about if I have to pay $520 dollars for the unit (after tax and shipping).

in case it helps, here is the video link that talks about the issue: http://youtu.be/IaWgF1SORkk?t=37m7s

Thanks.
« Last Edit: February 04, 2015, 07:06:43 pm by Rene »

Offline Ivan7enych

• Regular Contributor
    • My astronomy projects
Here are dp832 1st and 2nd channel during turn on. 3 records of switching it on.
I see some spikes, sometimes it's positive, sometimes negative, in a range +- 0.5V.
« Last Edit: February 04, 2015, 09:04:48 pm by Ivan7enych »

Offline Corporate666

• Supporter
  • Remember, you are unique, just like everybody else
it's only an issue if it's an issue for you :)