Author Topic: Are uni-t multimeters good?  (Read 21673 times)

Offline sspj9Topic starter

• Contributor
Are uni-t multimeters good?
« on: October 25, 2015, 04:44:27 pm »
I'm a first year engineering student in electronics... Till what stage is the uni-t UT70A multi-meter good?
Thanks

Offline OldSchoolTechCorner

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Are uni-t multimeters good?
« Reply #1 on: October 25, 2015, 05:19:01 pm »
If you can afford it go with a fluke 87-5. The UNI-T's are not suitable for high current, as input protection is lacking. For electronics projects sure be decent enough. 

UNI-T UT61E has HRC fuses
UNI-T UT71E 40,000 count

https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/uni-t-ut71d-review/
https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/uni-t-ut61c-multimeter-teardown-and-review/
https://www.eevblog.com/forum/reviews/uni-t-multimeter-ut71d-unboxing-and-teardown/
« Last Edit: October 25, 2015, 05:23:21 pm by OldSchoolTechCorner »

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #2 on: October 25, 2015, 05:28:06 pm »
The Brymen is worth looking and a much suitable great quality meter. Usually goes for much cheaper then the Fluke.  A good model is a BM869

Offline pickle9000

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: October 25, 2015, 05:37:26 pm »
2-3 meters per bench

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #4 on: October 25, 2015, 05:42:26 pm »
2-3 meters per bench

That a given, you need one to measure current alone and then different voltage rails at the same time.

Offline Lightages

• Supporter
  • Canadian po
« Reply #5 on: October 25, 2015, 06:28:19 pm »
If you can afford it go with a fluke 87-5. The UNI-T's are not suitable for high current, as input protection is lacking. For electronics projects sure be decent enough. 

UNI-T UT71E 40,000 count

Sorry, but the UT61E only has HRC fuses in the GS version sold in Europe. The regular rest of the world version has glass fuses.

I can recommend what I have recommended before:

UT139C $50