Author Topic: Keysight's new 34465A (6.5 digit) and 34470A (7.5 digit) bench multimeters  (Read 238711 times)

Offline economist

• Contributor
Did anyone get the Digitize (DIG) option? I would love to hear what maximum sustained sample rate is possible when simultaneously transferring data to a PC with USB and LAN connections.

I'm interested in the targeted use case for the digitizing functions of these DMMs (both the two Keysights and the Keithley 7510). I know the usual response is "if you can't think of a need for it you don't need it". But being a hobbyist I've stumbled onto needs I had no idea I would have at the time of purchase. A good example is buying a scope and then later coming up with a project where I really needed serial decoding -- a concept that was entirely foreign to me a year prior when making the scope purchase decision. So, what is the best use of these digitizing options? Don't get me wrong -- I can certainly imagine having fun with that functionality and using it. I just wonder what a real professional would do with it.

Offline AndyC_772

• Super Contributor
  • Professional design engineer
    • Cawte Engineering | Reliable Electronics
A few years ago, I measured the output of a prototype DC power supply with a cheap Tenma DMM (a tool which, I should add, I used on a daily basis for many years and which was generally both accurate and trustworthy).

The reading was a few volts higher than it should have been, and I spent a while probing around the circuit to try and figure out why.

It turned out to be noise on the output, which was upsetting the DMM and causing it to misread. Give or take a capacitor or two, the PSU itself was fine.

The noise was visible with a scope, but that's less convenient, and not isolated. A 34465A with digitiser could, potentially, have shown not only the correct DC voltage, but also detail of the noise.

If I had any other ideas, I'd have the DIG option for my 34465A.

Offline Lizerd

• Contributor