Author Topic: Moderately-Priced Microscope for SMD Soldering  (Read 40019 times)

Offline baElectronicTopic starter

• Contributor
« Last Edit: February 16, 2013, 08:57:45 am by baElectronic »

Offline mazurov

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Moderately-Priced Microscope for SMD Soldering
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2013, 09:45:06 am »
I have the last one - it is very good.
With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine - RFC1925

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: February 16, 2013, 10:11:59 am »

It looks like the working distance is 4" as opposed to the 6" or 9" that the other scopes offer. Do you have any issues with SMD soldering?

Offline TerminalJack505

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: February 16, 2013, 10:27:11 am »
You'll probably want to get one with a 0.5X Barlow lens.  This increases the working distance by 2x.

BTW, I have an Amscope stereo microscope and I'm very happy with it.  The one I have is similar to the one in your last link.  It has the same stand but came with an LED ring light and a 0.5X Barlow lens.  The ring light isn't quite bright enough at maximum magnification but I never use the max.  The working distance with the 0.5 Barlow lens is about 8".  There's plenty of room to get a soldering iron under it.

• Contributor
« Reply #4 on: February 16, 2013, 10:39:57 am »
You'll probably want to get one with a 0.5X Barlow lens.  This increases the working distance by 2x.

BTW, I have an Amscope stereo microscope and I'm very happy with it.  The one I have is similar to the one in your last link.  It has the same stand but came with an LED ring light and a 0.5X Barlow lens.  The ring light isn't quite bright enough at maximum magnification but I never use the max.  The working distance with the 0.5 Barlow lens is about 8".  There's plenty of room to get a soldering iron under it.