Author Topic: MSO5000 waveform data format problem  (Read 2536 times)

Offline quakemanTopic starter

MSO5000 waveform data format problem
« on: April 10, 2019, 10:00:53 pm »
Hi,

i wanted to get the signal from my new MS05074 to the PC in a format which i can use for other programs. Therefor i studied a bit the possible formats which can be saved on the scope or transferred via Ethernet.

I liked the WFM format from my old DS1052E because it stores all settings within the header. But at the moment I don’t know the specific locations for the needed informations within the header. And the format seems to have changed compared to the DS1054Z or DS1052E. So I tried the BIN format and after I compared these two I found out that only the header differs.

For the BIN format I only know that the header is 168 bytes long before the data for the samples start and I know the following offsets.

OffsetContent
000-004Rigol Identifier (RG01H)
044-04DRecord date (2019-03-29)
054-05BRecord time (19:08:46)
064-06AModelname (MSO5074)
06C-078Serialnumber of the model (MS5A2108XXXXX)
0A8-end1 Byte for each sample

All other Bytes within the header doesn’t change with different settings. So it seems that there is no information about the timebase or voltage scaling.

For the WFM format I only know the offset at which the data for the samples start which is 0x197D. The data format is identical to the BIN format. If somebody has more information on the WFM format for the MSO5000 series I would be happy to know it.

So at the moment I have the problem that with both formats I can’t decode the data into representable data on the PC. The CSV format is not practical because it gets too large and is too slow to store for a larger amount of samples.

Then I tried to get the data from the scope via Ethernet and the LXI interface which started better compared to the approach with the files. I wrote a little python program which grabs the samples within the internal memory.