Author Topic: Multimeter to pair with DS1054Z  (Read 4423 times)

Offline ajo518Topic starter

• Contributor
Multimeter to pair with DS1054Z
« on: July 18, 2016, 01:52:55 am »
I am a Electrical Engineering student and am looking at getting a proper multimeter instead of the cheapie I currently have as I am working for a semester and don't have access to all the awesome stuff at school.  >:(
I am also going to get a DS1054Z Rigol to use as well.

I am mainly looking at a fluke 87v(Used) or a 17B+(New). 
They have about a $100 price difference, but with having a dso as well is it work the extra dollars to go for the 87v or am I better off with the 17B+?

I mainly will use it for electronics projects, but do do the occasional mains work, so true rms would be nice, but I've survived without it so far...

Opinions? :-//

Offline MarkF

• Super Contributor
Re: Multimeter to pair with DS1054Z
« Reply #1 on: July 18, 2016, 03:09:17 am »
I would go for the Fluke 87V.  The 17B+ is NOT a True RMS meter for AC.

I have the Fluke 87V, Fluke 117 and Fluke 334 clamp-on meters and happy with all of them.  Was looking at a bench meter for some time but ended up with the 87V instead.
« Last Edit: July 18, 2016, 07:05:47 am by MarkF »

Online rstofer

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: July 18, 2016, 04:49:41 am »
There is certainly nothing wrong with buying Fluke, I have a 189 myself.  But I bought a couple of Dave's rebadged BM235s and they are very nice meters with a great spec and True RMS.  And they cost a LOT less than my 189.

I'm not a fan of using high dollar meters on mains.  I don't need to know the voltage down to the last millivolt because there is nothing I could do about it anyway.  It's either there or it isn't.  I use a solenoid style tester https://www.amazon.com/Ideal-61-076-Vol-Con-Tester/dp/B000BVKUS