Author Topic: New DS1054z jitter problem  (Read 2446 times)

Offline droffsiteTopic starter

New DS1054z jitter problem
« on: July 08, 2016, 02:08:43 am »
Good evening, everyone. I've just today acquired a DS1054z, firmware 00.04.03.SP2, board rev 0.1.1. I calibrated the probes and figured I'd try out something simple.

<disclaimer>I'm new to the world of scopes. I'm working on a physics degree (25 years after my first degree) and wanted to get my hands dirtier than the labs will allow.</disclaimer>

I fired up a function generator producing a 16 kHz sine wave. I got the waveform you see in the attachment ending in 2. At 1 kHz it looked like the attachment ending in 4. Alternatively (not sure what the difference was), the wave would dance up and down, left to right, in a wave.

In the course of trying different probes and looking through all the menus, I happened to touch the trigger out/pass fail port on the back. I then got the image in the attachment ending in 3: the steady waveform I was expecting. As soon as I removed my finger, the jitter started back up.

Is there some calibration I've missed? Do I need a terminator on the trigger connector?

Thoughts?

Offline ataradov

• Super Contributor
    • Personal site
Re: New DS1054z jitter problem
« Reply #1 on: July 08, 2016, 02:58:02 am »
Looks like some grounding issue. Can you describe your setup in more details? What function gen? How it is connected to the scope?
« Last Edit: July 08, 2016, 03:01:54 am by ataradov »
Alex

Offline alsetalokin4017

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: July 08, 2016, 03:00:34 am »