Author Topic: new killer scope in town - a true game changer from R&S - RTB2002 & RTB2004  (Read 817653 times)

Offline TK

• Super Contributor
  • I am a Systems Analyst who plays with Electronics
That would suck marginally less if the options are reenabled after fixing the battery/clock. Fingers crossed?
The scope ships with the activation codes in a piece of paper, so I guess they can be re-enabled after the battery is fixed

Offline grouchobyte

• Regular Contributor
I would somehow expect that a clock changing deactivates options. How else should they ensure that timed licenses work? They probably have some fancy crypto ongoing as well. That's not like shareware in the nineties.

Timed licences? Really? So when you buy a licence for a this scope it will expire?
So you are essentially renting the option for some number of years? That would be dumb in this case.
I would expect a perpetual or forever license that never expires and is flaged in non volotile memory as such negating the need to check againt the date and time for an option with a forever attribute

@grouchobyte

Offline theatrus

• Frequent Contributor
That would suck marginally less if the options are reenabled after fixing the battery/clock. Fingers crossed?
The scope ships with the activation codes in a piece of paper, so I guess they can be re-enabled after the battery is fixed

Mine didn't. The only paper included was the China RoHS diagram booklet  :'(
Software by day, hardware by night; blueAcro.com

Offline TK

• Super Contributor
I would somehow expect that a clock changing deactivates options. How else should they ensure that timed licenses work? They probably have some fancy crypto ongoing as well. That's not like shareware in the nineties.

Timed licences? Really? So when you buy a licence for a this scope it will expire?
So you are essentially renting the option for some number of years? That would be dumb in this case.