Author Topic: new killer scope in town - a true game changer from R&S - RTB2002 & RTB2004  (Read 815662 times)

pdenisowski, maxspb69 and 3 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline TK

• Super Contributor
  • I am a Systems Analyst who plays with Electronics

So did some more poking around (literally, with a long probe).    The battery itself seems to be fine.  Measuring from the cell (+) to the chassis gives 3.1V.  Measuring from the battery clip to the chassis though gives nothing (0 V).   If I press down on one of the contact spring tabs on the battery clip I can get a voltage but as soon as I release pressure it loses contact again.  This is the same for both of the contact tabs.  With some effort I managed to move the battery around.  For a brief moment it made contact and survived two power cycles then failed again. I've managed to rotate the battery 180°, testing at multiple spots, but failed to make it connect again.  Strangely the battery seems to be in there pretty good.  I have no idea what's holding it in yet not making electrical contact.  Anyway looks like a bum battery clip or some kind of contamination. It is likely a 5 minute fix although I'll let them do that.

R&S has agreed to FedEx it back to their factory on their dime.  Thanks everyone for the suggestions.
Can you check continuity from the battery (+) to the battery clip?  Maybe the battery clip is not soldered correctly to the PCB.

Offline nctnico

• Super Contributor
    • NCT Developments
Were you able to get to the battery to see if it was perhaps dead? Would be a shame to send it back if a new battery does the trick.
It is better to send faulty new gear back and not mess with it.
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.

Offline agdr

• Supporter
    • agdr Audio