Author Topic: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope  (Read 1404866 times)

0 Members and 4 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline Armxnian

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 214
  • Country: us
  • Computer Engineering Student
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1375 on: April 24, 2015, 08:09:15 am »
Riglol worked for me as well.  >:D

It was mentioned the hardware does not support the 500uV setting. Is there actually anything disadvantageous with enabling it? I can still see a waveform at that setting.
 

Offline yattr

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 5
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1376 on: April 24, 2015, 08:13:10 am »
Tried using both telnet and Ultra Sigma and can not uninstall the trial version.  |O

The commands work via both methods - cool!

Guess I will have to wait for the trail version to expire before attempting a keygen based install...
 

Offline g8bnr

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 21
  • Country: england
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1377 on: April 24, 2015, 03:55:54 pm »
Yattr,
Do not 'Uninstall' the 'Trial' version. Just 'Install' using the 'Keygen' and the 'Trial' will be put into suspension, i.e. it's time clock will freeze until the 'Keygen' stuff is 'Uninstalled'.

G8BNR
 

Offline Teneyes

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 495
  • Country: ca
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1378 on: April 24, 2015, 09:09:53 pm »
Tried using both telnet and Ultra Sigma and can not uninstall the trial version.  |O
Options enable as a Trial are based on Run time of the DSO , as discovered Early in the Hack thread,
With the Trials starting after 470 minutes ,as discussed on page 3 of the 263 page Hack thread , back in June 2013.

The trial options can be installed with a Key also. but Only once.
After I got a  repaired replacement DS2000 I requested and obtained a key for the Trial options!
I never tried to uninstall the Trials!
IiIiIiIiIi  --  curiosity killed the cat but, satisfaction brought it back
 

Offline Galenbo

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1470
  • Country: be
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1379 on: April 24, 2015, 11:05:28 pm »
Hi Folks,
Is it possible to send a screen shot, from my DS1054Z, to my computer via the LAN connection? I have no difficulty doing it using a USB Memory Stick, but would like to do it direct! Any ideas, please?

73 Dick G8BNR

I expierience the same with my DS1204B.
Over USB everything works fine, over LAN there exists a spaghetti of programs, libraries, extensions and codes but nothing works.

If you try and take a cat apart to see how it works, the first thing you have on your hands is a nonworking cat.
 

Offline yattr

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 5
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1380 on: April 25, 2015, 12:07:43 am »
Let the unit run over night to get past the 12 hour issue and repeated the cammands over the lan this morning.  Yes, without uninstalling the trial version, all the the options are now OFFICAL versions ;D

Purely operator error...put in one to many digits in Keygen (apparently it does not check and just uses the necessary number of digits if there are more then enough).  Which then generated a bad code which in turn set a 12 hour hold offer time until the correct code could be entered. 

Made good use of the 12 hours and learned the LAN approach, some commands, Ultra Sigma and Ultra Scope.

Thanks for all the great hep from this site...

« Last Edit: April 25, 2015, 12:20:16 am by yattr »
 

Online ebastler

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2554
  • Country: de
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1381 on: April 25, 2015, 01:00:09 am »
Is it possible to send a screen shot, from my DS1054Z, to my computer via the LAN connection?
I expierience the same with my DS1204B.
Over USB everything works fine, over LAN there exists a spaghetti of programs, libraries, extensions and codes but nothing works.

Peter Dreisiebner's "Bildschirmkopie" (screen copy) works great for me: http://peter.dreisiebner.at/rigol-bildschirmkopie-lan/. The software is about two orders of magnitude lighter weight than Rigol's mess of a PC software... Also available for Mac and Linux, and works via USB or LAN connection.

Peter's web page is in German only, but if I recall correctly, the software can be switched to English. Don't have it up and running on the PC I am currently writing from, unfortunately.
Did you give Peter's "Bildschirmkopie" a try yet? The web site does not specifically list the DS1204B as being compatible, but I think it should be. Definitely worth a try -- simple, lightweight, and with cross-platform capability as an added bonus for non-Windows fans.
 

Offline yattr

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 5
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1382 on: April 25, 2015, 02:11:06 am »
Is it possible to send a screen shot, from my DS1054Z, to my computer via the LAN connection?
I expierience the same with my DS1204B.
Over USB everything works fine, over LAN there exists a spaghetti of programs, libraries, extensions and codes but nothing works.

Peter Dreisiebner's "Bildschirmkopie" (screen copy) works great for me: http://peter.dreisiebner.at/rigol-bildschirmkopie-lan/. The software is about two orders of magnitude lighter weight than Rigol's mess of a PC software... Also available for Mac and Linux, and works via USB or LAN connection.

Peter's web page is in German only, but if I recall correctly, the software can be switched to English. Don't have it up and running on the PC I am currently writing from, unfortunately.
Did you give Peter's "Bildschirmkopie" a try yet? The web site does not specifically list the DS1204B as being compatible, but I think it should be. Definitely worth a try -- simple, lightweight, and with cross-platform capability as an added bonus for non-Windows fans.

Just tried this on a Mac/OSX and it worked well over LAN.  Simple!  DS1054Z with DSER...
 

Offline g8bnr

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 21
  • Country: england
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1383 on: April 25, 2015, 02:20:43 am »
Yes, I tried the software that you advised and it works fine in Windows XP, thank you for the information. It is so much quicker and easier doing things via my LAN rather than using a USB Stick!

Best regards
Dick G8BNR
 

Offline tooki

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3350
  • Country: ch
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1384 on: April 25, 2015, 02:29:51 am »
Just got my DS1054Z today (the Swiss distributor has them in stock) and used the Bildschirmkopie program on OS X to install the DSER license key. Worked like a charm!

Thanks to everyone who posted info and figured this all out, making it easy for a n00b like me!
 

Offline alsetalokin4017

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1856
  • Country: us
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1385 on: April 25, 2015, 01:47:47 pm »
I do not recall anything about a third party screen capture tool, can you, please advise, I would be most interested to try anything like that.
Peter Dreisiebner's "Bildschirmkopie" (screen copy) works great for me: http://peter.dreisiebner.at/rigol-bildschirmkopie-lan/. The software is about two orders of magnitude lighter weight than Rigol's mess of a PC software... Also available for Mac and Linux, and works via USB or LAN connection.

Peter's web page is in German only, but if I recall correctly, the software can be switched to English. Don't have it up and running on the PC I am currently writing from, unfortunately.

I can confirm that the "RigolBildschirmkopie" executable in the Linux zipfile works over the LAN, and has menus and buttons in English. I could not get it to work over USB, though, and it's pretty slow to download a screenshot over LAN, about 30 seconds if scope is Stopped and nearly a minute if scope is Running. The "save" saves the shot with correct date and time! The graphics look best if "Original size" button is selected.
 
It's too bad that it's not a "live" display but only a screenshot.
The program also can send the SCPI commands and receive answers, from another menu window.

I had to set the permissions for the executable file to allow "execute" by owner and group.
My OS is Ubuntu 12.04 32-bit, Linux kernel 3.2.0-74-generic-pae, the USB version may work with later Ubuntu versions (14) , haven't tested that yet.
The easiest person to fool is yourself. -- Richard Feynman
 

Offline alsetalokin4017

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1856
  • Country: us
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1386 on: April 25, 2015, 01:52:09 pm »
Does anyone know if there is a button or button combination that can be held during boot-up that will reset a scope to factory defaults? Some such may come in handy some day if a scope should freeze or become unresponsive for some reason, and if it stays stuck after power cycling.

My (replacement) scope is still working fine, I'm just worried about the future, since I've seen some people report occasional freezes or lockups.
The easiest person to fool is yourself. -- Richard Feynman
 

Offline kwass

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 321
  • Country: us
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1387 on: April 26, 2015, 01:22:26 am »
Does anyone know if there is a button or button combination that can be held during boot-up that will reset a scope to factory defaults? Some such may come in handy some day if a scope should freeze or become unresponsive for some reason, and if it stays stuck after power cycling.

My (replacement) scope is still working fine, I'm just worried about the future, since I've seen some people report occasional freezes or lockups.

From the middle of the giant Rigol thread:

I tried the procedure on my MSO1000Z and ended up with a constant beeping noise (as if I'd pressed the button too many times), but no reset. It's possible that I did something incorrectly. I'll give it another shot tonight after work.

It is the 5th gray button on the left (not the bottom gray button).  When you press it during power on it will beep a couple of times until the Rigol screen comes up.  Keep pressing it.  You'll know it worked when you see Chinese!
-katie
 

Offline g8bnr

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 21
  • Country: england
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1388 on: April 26, 2015, 02:09:23 am »
Don't just press and hold. Press, release, press again and repeat quickly until the beeping stops. Then you come up in Chinese! That did not reset my options!

Dick G8BNR
 

Offline alsetalokin4017

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1856
  • Country: us
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1389 on: April 26, 2015, 02:46:27 am »
Ah, thank you both very much.

I have read the whole thread,  but most of it was months ago when I first started "waiting" for my scope (ordered Feb 9th, not delivered until April) and I thought I remembered some mention of such but couldn't recall just where.

So just to be totally clear.... it is the button indicated in the picture below?

The easiest person to fool is yourself. -- Richard Feynman
 

Offline Teneyes

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 495
  • Country: ca
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1390 on: April 26, 2015, 04:02:54 am »
Hi Folks, Is it possible to send a screen shot, from my DS1054Z, to my computer via the LAN connection? I have no difficulty doing it using a USB Memory Stick, but would like to do it direct! Any ideas, please?
73 Dick G8BNR
I expierience the same with my DS1204B.
Over USB everything works fine, over LAN there exists a spaghetti of programs, libraries, extensions and codes but nothing works.
For the DS2000 , I use  RUU
IT has both USB and LAN connection but the USB is Faster.
As the Trigger Captured waveforms can be captured at the update rate (50,000/s) , I rely on the DSO to capture and then transfer data to the PC. (using DSO memory)
I use the DSO functions to make sure I have the correct Data, then transfer to the PC for reports, History.
Here are some captures in GiF and 3-D:
I will show more displays in next post.
Once you know it is fast and easy to capture and Post
« Last Edit: April 26, 2015, 04:27:55 am by Teneyes »
IiIiIiIiIi  --  curiosity killed the cat but, satisfaction brought it back
 

Offline Teneyes

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 495
  • Country: ca
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1391 on: April 26, 2015, 04:26:07 am »
Also a 4-40 MHZ Sweep with 20MHz BW input filter in 3-D
IiIiIiIiIi  --  curiosity killed the cat but, satisfaction brought it back
 

Offline Tainer

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 37
  • Country: 00
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1392 on: May 09, 2015, 03:15:37 am »
Recently I was trying to figure out why one of my RP2200 probes was completely unusable at 1:1 attenuation. The switch seemed to be a bit dicky so I took the plastic bit off and here is what I found.

I don't know whether this was done on purpose or it's just a flash from injection molding, but it seems to prevent the switch from sliding into the '1x' position properly. So I scraped this bit off and sanded the area with a small file, and guess what - my probe is usable at 1:1 once again!
« Last Edit: May 09, 2015, 03:24:26 am by Tainer »
 

Offline plazma

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 437
  • Country: fi
    • Homepage
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1393 on: May 09, 2015, 03:26:15 am »
Good find. I'll fix my 8 pieces of probes.
 

Offline Tainer

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 37
  • Country: 00
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1394 on: May 09, 2015, 03:33:17 am »
Wow, you have 8 probes with the same issue? I thought I just had a defective probe, since I can't recall this problem being mentioned before.
 

Offline plazma

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 437
  • Country: fi
    • Homepage
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1395 on: May 09, 2015, 05:48:07 pm »
3pcs were so loose you had to keep the switch by hand in the 1x position. The fourth was usable but also quite loose. I got four replacement probes and they are about the same.
 

Offline korievgenii

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 5
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1396 on: May 15, 2015, 12:42:35 am »
hi everyone.a i have been recieved my first new oscilloscope 1054z.  8)
and i have a little problem with the hcking this device.  |O
http://gotroot.ca/rigol/riglol-103d/
i have inserted the serial and DSFR, after generating i have inserted the generated code. after that - invalid license :-//, after few tries, i have "install avoid for 12 hours :-BROKE :wtf: :palm:"
i'm sure that i dont had mistake like S5 and B8 :-DMM
what is wrong? :wtf:
 

Online ebastler

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2554
  • Country: de
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1397 on: May 15, 2015, 04:09:33 am »
http://gotroot.ca/rigol/riglol-103d/
i have inserted the serial and DSFR, after generating i have inserted the generated code. after that - invalid license :-//, after few tries, i have "install avoid for 12 hours "
Try re-updating the page a couple of times to see whether you get stable keys. Double and triple-check whether you got the serial number right and entered the key correctly.

Do NOT use the DSFR option, since it includes the 500┬ÁV/div (which does not work on the DS1000Z series). Use the DSER option instead. This cannot be the cause for the difficulties you have had; but the fact that you tried this unsuitable option despite the many recommendations to the contrary suggests that you have jumped into this "hacking" rather unprepared.
 

Offline korievgenii

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 5
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1398 on: May 15, 2015, 05:17:03 am »
Quote
but the fact that you tried this unsuitable option despite the many recommendations to the contrary suggests that you have jumped into this "hacking" rather unprepared.
unfortunately you are right. i was unprepared :scared: |O. on youtube it looked like very easy :phew:. and i dont seen this forum before. |O i guess i need to wait 12 hours and try to insert the code again.  or exist some faster method?
 

Online ebastler

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2554
  • Country: de
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1399 on: May 15, 2015, 06:02:34 am »
i guess i need to wait 12 hours and try to insert the code again.  or exist some faster method?

I'm afraid that there is no shortcut to avoid the 12 hour wait. Please note that this means that the scope must be switched ON for 12 hours. The DS1000Z series does not have a built-in real-time clock; it just counts down time while it is running.
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf