Author Topic: Oscilloscope Specifcation for Serial Decoding  (Read 6544 times)

Offline mheruianTopic starter

• Contributor
Oscilloscope Specifcation for Serial Decoding
« on: April 03, 2018, 05:45:38 pm »
Hi, Total Newbie here :'(

(Quite intro for all to understand properly)
As well total newbie regarding oscilloscopes (I haven't use any). Just got back from vacation (almost a month away from electronics). I am quite new to electronics (less than a year w/o mentor, just self study stuffs. Fell in love in electronics via arduino stuffs. Not a genius or smart but willing to understand stuffs as much as I can - so not so much familiar on deeper technical stuffs).

Since some people saw my potential (been trying my best) based on the small electronic stuffs I've done. I had given a project (someone started it but unable to finish it so - its my first big project yay!) where i need to integrate a lot of SPI based ICs (energy meter chip CS5480) so yeah, its a energy monitoring system where they want me to use this devboard pyboard v1.1 instead of arduino. A lot of folks here told me oscilloscope could help out since i could experience some glitches, etc on data transmission so it wouldn't hurt to have one since they give budget but of course, their not technical, etc. I've done research a lot for about 4 hours and now, been brain dead (confused)

So to make it short and simple. I'll summary what I know, have and what I'm dealing via enumeration;

What I'm dealing:
1) 2MHz CLKSPD SPI device (CS5480 datasheet pg14 as per SCLK, am I right? so this device can't go +25 Mbps as this table on this site)
2) 12MHz CLKSPD pyboard (uses this MCU that could reach 168 MHz clock speed right? but on datasheet, only accommodates up to 26MHz crystal oscillator? has 12MHz based on sch - Y2)
3) There'll be a time I'll be dealing with UART via RS-485 and this Long Distance SPI-based IC where it can operate up to 1Mbps data transmission for long distance integration.