Author Topic: Does this exist (and if not, is it a good idea)?  (Read 1695 times)

Offline injbTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Does this exist (and if not, is it a good idea)?
« on: November 30, 2018, 07:13:03 pm »
I'm a bit of a noob, so I'll have to try and describe the thing I'm looking for: an API-controlled multi-channel signal generator. In other words, I'd like to be able to create multiple arbitrary waveforms, to be generated on separate channels, and then write a program to control them. The idea of having an API is so that I can define arbitrary relationships between the various signals. I might want one (or more) of them to have a certain phase or frequency relationship to another etc.

Does anything like this exist? It seems to me like it would be very useful if you want to mimic the signals generated by some piece of machinery etc. (which is exactly what I want it for).

Online Fungus

• Super Contributor
Re: Does this exist (and if not, is it a good idea)?
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2018, 07:15:34 pm »
Yes, it's called a "PC sound card".

Offline glarsson

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2018, 07:20:20 pm »
Yes, multichannel arbitrary function generators can do this.

The TTI TGA12104, as an example, can generate four arbitrary waveforms at the same time. The channels can trigger each other and be synchronized and summed in various ways. If more than four channels are needed then several units can be connected together.

https://www.aimtti.com/product-category/arbitrary-generators/aim-tga12100series

Offline helius

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: November 30, 2018, 07:22:13 pm »