Author Topic: Phase Noise Head to Head: Siglent SSA3032X vs HP 8566B vs SignalHound SA124B  (Read 8034 times)

Offline hendorogTopic starter

• Super Contributor
Currently I have a cool problem - too many Spectrum Analysers!
I have had a SignalHound SA124B for quite a while, I've just acquired an HP 8566B in really nice condition, and member tautech has lent me his Siglent SSA3032X for a comparison.

I am interested in low phase noise equipment, and this is not often covered in any detail in modern equipment. So I thought it was a good chance to compare these three instruments and see what they've got.

Before this gets going, important to point out that I'm not an RF engineer and am not pretending to be one, so advice, education and suggestions are welcome.

Firstly to measure the phase noise contribution of an SA, the signal generator needs to have lower noise than the LO of the SA itself.

I am using a Marconi 2041 for this test, which 10kHz - 2.7GHz and is very low noise. Typical performance is below 140dBc/Hz at 1GHz@10kHz offset. I haven't the capability to confirm this yet, so am operating under the rash assumption that my example is somewhere close to this spec.
https://www.avionteq.com/Document/IFR-Aeroflex-Marconi-2042-Specification-Sheet.pdf

Some comments on the procedure:
Setup is just RF out of the Marconi and into the SA's one by one. The source is set to 0dBm, which meant that dBm/Hz is close enough to dBc/Hz for it to not matter.
The 10MHz references are not coupled together as I didn't want to influence the PN. Because of this, in some cases there will be small errors due to me not checking the frequency is centered exactly.

Method
The SignalHound has a built in Phase Noise test mode, so I used that.

The HP 8566B has the very nice KE5FX PN utility. That makes life simple so I used that with an HP 82357A USB-GPIB adapter.