Author Topic: Rather cheap (~£200) oscilloscope suggestions  (Read 3604 times)

Offline WillTopic starter

Rather cheap (~£200) oscilloscope suggestions
« on: March 24, 2019, 05:18:00 pm »
Hi,

I'm looking into getting my first oscilloscope. Looking around, USB might be a better choice for me becuase of my budget (£200)?

I've had a look at the Picoscope, Hantek, e-Design DSO (the mini ones with 2/4 channels), Owon, and the very limited selection of pre-owned oscilliscopes in that price range that are avaliable on eBay. The Analog Discovery 2 did look good - but is unfortunately out of my price range. I've just bought a cheap logic analyser, so I really only need the scope. I could possibly get an analog scope, but as I'm primarily working with digital electronics and related items, I didn't think that one would be a good fit for me, and even they are going for over £200 on eBay. I'm a computer science student doing this as a hobby, so I really don't need anything excellent, just something basic will do.

Does anyone have any suggestions for an oscilloscope in this price range, and/or do they think any of the brands I mentioned are bad/good?

Thank you!

Offline DDunfield

• Regular Contributor
Re: Rather cheap (~£200) oscilloscope suggestions
« Reply #1 on: March 24, 2019, 08:14:59 pm »
You'll get as many answers as there are low-end scopes available.

I think most people in these forums will advise you to increase your budget if at all possible as it's hard to get anything (new) decent in that range, and for not a whole lot more you can get really good "bang for the buck". The DS1054Z remains very popular at the low end, giving you 4-channels, deep memory, decoding, and 50Mhz (stock) or 100Mhz (easy hack) and is a real bench scope with knobs (much nicer on the bench than mousing around a PC). I have one and I'm reasonably happy with it.