Author Topic: Recommendations on new HQ probes for DS1102E for audio work  (Read 1831 times)

Offline zoniaTopic starter

• stotch.com
Hello,

I want to buy some better quality probes for my Rigol DS1102E. I am a hobbyist who works on digital and (primarily) analog audio electronics. I work on valve guitar amps, guitar effect pedals and low voltage power distribution (pedal board PDUs and such).

I am still using the stock Rigol probes, today, but would like to upgrade to something better quality without breaking the bank. Any recommendations on < $200 USD probes that are adequate for my use cases?

Thanks in advance,

~z
~z

Online nctnico

• Super Contributor
    • NCT Developments
Re: Recommendations on new HQ probes for DS1102E for audio work
« Reply #1 on: July 19, 2018, 07:38:26 pm »
Any probe will do for audio as long as it is adjusted (compensated) properly.
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.

Offline Fsck

• Super Contributor
  • sleep deprived
« Reply #2 on: July 19, 2018, 07:46:21 pm »
Why do you need more expensive probes? Expensive usually equals higher bandwidth, and you're in the audio range.
Even the cheapie p6100 type probes will be more than enough.

You could grab some used HP/Lecroy/whoeverelse probes off ebay for relatively cheaply, but you will need to check their compensation range and all this will give you is "feel good". Your scope is probably the bottleneck in your set up (assuming you're probing something far above audio range.)
If I were you, I'd probably want a differential probe though, so you can probe more willy-nilly.
« Last Edit: July 19, 2018, 07:48:07 pm by Fsck »
"This is a one line proof...if we start sufficiently far to the left."

The following users thanked this post: zonia

• stotch.com
« Reply #3 on: July 19, 2018, 10:46:12 pm »
Why do you need more expensive probes? Expensive usually equals higher bandwidth, and you're in the audio range.