Author Topic: Rigol DP-832 as a digital volt meter  (Read 2406 times)

Offline drprinterTopic starter

• Under Construction
Rigol DP-832 as a digital volt meter
« on: June 05, 2018, 06:37:31 pm »
OK...  I am using my DP-832 as a digital volt meter... I set the voltage to 0 volts and I can take voltages up to 30 volts (too chicken to try higher voltages). My question is - is there any danger to the dp-832 doing this??  Yes I have been using this mode for over 6 months with no problems and I do test the outputs with my fluke meter just to check the calibration once a month with no problems. Has anyone else done this???
Don't Throw it out - Let's take it apart!
Yes I did get Dave's permission to use it!
Stop moaning

Offline sdouble

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Rigol DP-832 as a digital volt meter
« Reply #1 on: June 05, 2018, 09:47:23 pm »
why don't you use a DMM for measuring low DC voltage ?
it would be safer, more convenient and more reliable.

• Under Construction
« Reply #2 on: June 05, 2018, 10:56:51 pm »
I do use a DMM as a matter of fact I do have a few DMM's but having a very accurate bench meter is a plus.... I can turn the voltage to 0 and I can see the progress of a battery charging, track the input voltage and see the output voltage on the same display (turn up the voltage on a buck converter and see the output on the same display. Besides I think this might be a cool feature...
« Last Edit: June 05, 2018, 11:28:54 pm by drprinter »
Stop moaning

Offline glarsson

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #3 on: June 06, 2018, 08:42:49 am »
This is a bad idea.