Author Topic: DIY Benchtop DMM  (Read 12759 times)

Offline mrKiwi1Topic starter

DIY Benchtop DMM
« on: July 31, 2014, 08:25:15 am »
Hello everyone,

I had a accident 2 years ago and a eye operation has left me with poor eyesight, as a result I am finding it increasingly hard to read screen of lot of millimeters.  I can read writing on components with the use of strong magnification but I find when working at my bench it takes some time to focus on my dmm to read its screen.  I have tried v  that has a smashed screen and it got me thinking.  How hard would it be to turn a handheld DMM to a benchtop unit with a large LED display.

please correct me if im wrong , but from what I can see the DMM LCD is made of 7 seg LCD digits.  I was wondering if I could take the output pins to LCD and send them to a 7 segment LED driver with a 2 inch high 7 segment display.  The meter is a chippie Digetech QM-1323 from Jaycar electronics here in australia.  I am a electronics hobbyist and not to concerned about accuracy. The meter runs off a Semico CS7721CN chip.  I havnt been able to find any datasheet for this IC but looking at similar dmm driver ic's they look to have segment outputs going to the LCD.  Any advice is greatly appreciated.  :-+ cheers

Offline bktemp

• Super Contributor
Re: DIY Benchtop DMM
« Reply #1 on: July 31, 2014, 08:42:40 am »
It is basically possible, but is not easy, because lcd multiplexing is a complex thing using multiple voltage levels. And the segment/backplane arrangement is often optimized for easy manufacturing of the lcd glass: The multiplexing scheme does not always drive digit after digit, it can even be the top or bottom half of each digits or something like this.
It is much easier to use a DMM with a RS232 interface an hook it up to a pc or microcontroller driving a larger display.

Offline Wh1sper

• Regular Contributor
    • Zockertown
« Reply #2 on: July 31, 2014, 08:52:41 am »