Author Topic: Rigol DP832 - Firmware list and bugs  (Read 188723 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Uup

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 71
  • Country: au
Re: Rigol DP832 - Firmware list and bugs
« Reply #100 on: September 01, 2014, 06:34:56 pm »
Great, I updated my bootloader from 1.06 to 1.09 and my firmware from 1.09 to 1.11 and I still have all my Riglol options  :-DD


Looks like you didn't go through the procedure to update your analog 1 & 2 boards.
Ununpentium
 

Offline mcinque

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 971
  • Country: it
  • I know one thing: that I know nothing
Re: Rigol DP832 - Firmware list and bugs
« Reply #101 on: September 01, 2014, 09:46:57 pm »
Great, I updated my bootloader from 1.06 to 1.09 and my firmware from 1.09 to 1.11 and I still have all my Riglol options  :-DD

What's exactly that makes you laugh so loud?

I don't think that using a keygen is funny or cool.

Understanding how to write it and doing it, it's funny and cool.

Looks like you didn't go through the procedure to update your analog 1 & 2 boards.

THIS is funny. :-DD
« Last Edit: September 01, 2014, 09:52:45 pm by mcinque »
I'm basically still a rookie and because of this, even with the best intentions, I often say bullshit :)
 

Offline Uup

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 71
  • Country: au
Re: Rigol DP832 - Firmware list and bugs
« Reply #102 on: September 01, 2014, 10:21:57 pm »
Has anyone tried calibrating their DP832 after updating to 1.11?
Ununpentium
 

Offline Macbeth

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2412
  • Country: gb
Re: Rigol DP832 - Firmware list and bugs
« Reply #103 on: September 02, 2014, 03:26:36 am »
Looks like you didn't go through the procedure to update your analog 1 & 2 boards.

Thanks for pointing this out :)



I hope that's fixed it :)
 

Offline Macbeth

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2412
  • Country: gb
Re: Rigol DP832 - Firmware list and bugs
« Reply #104 on: September 02, 2014, 03:33:39 am »
What's exactly that makes you laugh so loud?

You humourless assburger. Do you not understand that RigLOL is a funny name for the software? LOL = Laughing Out Loud. I'm happy to be amused by the provider of Riglol 1.3  :palm:

I don't claim to be anything other than someone grateful for his services.

And thanks to UUp for pointing out my fail at updating analog boards. I would have been oblivious if I didn't post.

I hope other DP832 owners now have the confidence to upgrade.
 

Offline mcinque

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 971
  • Country: it
  • I know one thing: that I know nothing
Re: Rigol DP832 - Firmware list and bugs
« Reply #105 on: September 03, 2014, 12:28:53 am »
Quote from: Macbeth link=topic=24919.msg505588#msg505588
You humourless assburger. Do you not understand that RigLOL is a funny name for the software? LOL = Laughing Out Loud. I'm happy to be amused by the provider of Riglol 1.3  :palm:

Generally I do not lack sense of humor, on the other hand, someone is very touchy  :P

It's easy to spot the LOL in the name. I understood that since the 1st release. This is not the point.

I firmly believe that the hacking that led to the writing of this keygen is amazing: it serves a lot of skill and knowledge to do it and there's no doubt about its success.  :-+

Even if I'm not not a user of this software (I paid for the options I have), I admit that its author is a great hacker. I've nothing against the author. He CAN laugh loud!

What bothers me is to see keygen users who enjoy the results of the unlock with loud laughs and pride as if they were somehow part of the hack, as if they themselves were able to outwit Rigol. While they are only consumers. This was my point.

« Last Edit: September 03, 2014, 12:30:40 am by mcinque »
I'm basically still a rookie and because of this, even with the best intentions, I often say bullshit :)
 

Offline Macbeth

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2412
  • Country: gb
Re: Rigol DP832 - Firmware list and bugs
« Reply #106 on: September 03, 2014, 03:29:32 am »
What bothers me is to see keygen users who enjoy the results of the unlock with loud laughs and pride as if they were somehow part of the hack, as if they themselves were able to outwit Rigol. While they are only consumers. This was my point.
Dude, you are reading far more into this "consumers" posts. It's unfortunate that you wind yourself up over it too so your fantasy of my intentions even *bothers* you. Take a chill pill and relax. You will end up with high blood pressure or something otherwise. I laughed at RigLOL is all, and I have no pride or think I am part of the hack whatsoever.  :phew:
 

Offline mcinque

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 971
  • Country: it
  • I know one thing: that I know nothing
Re: Rigol DP832 - Firmware list and bugs
« Reply #107 on: September 03, 2014, 04:18:13 am »
As you probably see, english is not my native language, so probably I've abused of the word "bother". However, it's only my opinion :-// Never mind.
p.s. high pressure? I have it, thanks!   ^-^
I'm basically still a rookie and because of this, even with the best intentions, I often say bullshit :)
 

Offline Macbeth

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2412
  • Country: gb
Re: Rigol DP832 - Firmware list and bugs
« Reply #108 on: September 03, 2014, 07:02:58 am »
As you probably see, english is not my native language, so probably I've abused of the word "bother". However, it's only my opinion :-// Never mind.
p.s. high pressure? I have it, thanks!   ^-^
Me too, high blood pressure that is :( You have infinitely better English than my Italian that is for sure!  :-+

Ciao!
 

Offline f1rmb

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 180
  • Country: fr
Re: Rigol DP832 - Firmware list and bugs
« Reply #109 on: September 05, 2014, 03:12:09 am »
Hi,

     New problem...
I was using the power supply, fixing a Ham transceiver, turning ON/OFF channer 1 from time to time, and suddenly I got an error messages rolling about overvoltage / overcurrent alarm...  but the channel was OFF :o

The output was sets to 9V - 2A, draining ~200mA.

I tried to change output settings, no way, same problem.
At a moment, I checked with my DSO... errr >43V nice sin wave  :wtf: (sorry, no screenshot)

Well, I've opened today, once again, checking test points.

The 2.5V (next to 2.5 ref) seems wrong. Out of the 1117 regulator, 2.5V is there, but on C31 (22uF) 1.63V. I suspect the erased chip next to this capacitor have a problem...  :-[

I checked C31, it was dead (few pF), replaced, still 1.63V.

Also, I checked peaks when you turn on the power supply, terrific... (on +2.5V, -2.5)

I guess I have to contact Rigol for a new board, I don't have too much hope about fixing this one.

Cheers.
---
Daniel.


 

Offline Michael Weston

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 43
  • Country: us
Re: Rigol DP832 - Firmware list and bugs
« Reply #110 on: September 05, 2014, 11:23:49 pm »
Unfortunately, the links are "dead" now!
Can someone to upload them, again?
https://www.sendspace.com/file/66f4is http://www51.zippyshare.com/v/1061420/file.html
Thank you very much for the new firmware link!  :D
Thanks,
Michael
 

Offline Uup

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 71
  • Country: au
Re: Rigol DP832 - Firmware list and bugs
« Reply #111 on: September 06, 2014, 12:41:43 am »
There is a bug in firmware 00.01.11.00.00 relating to manual calibration. If you have installed this firmware then don't perform manual calibration on either V DAC or I DAC. Calibration of V ADC and I ADC appears to work properly though.

Calibration via a PC works fine.
Ununpentium
 

Offline Michael Weston

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 43
  • Country: us
Re: Rigol DP832 - Firmware list and bugs
« Reply #112 on: September 06, 2014, 01:26:15 am »
There is a bug in firmware 00.01.11.00.00 relating to manual calibration. If you have installed this firmware then don't perform manual calibration on either V DAC or I DAC. Calibration of V ADC and I ADC appears to work properly though.

Calibration via a PC works fine.
Are you saying calibration of "V DAC" and "I DAC" via a PC works correctly?  Please clarify and elaborate.
Thanks,
Michael
 

Offline Uup

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 71
  • Country: au
Re: Rigol DP832 - Firmware list and bugs
« Reply #113 on: September 06, 2014, 01:59:30 am »
Are you saying calibration of "V DAC" and "I DAC" via a PC works correctly?  Please clarify and elaborate.

Yes. The bug appears to affect manual calibration via the GUI only. If you try and calibrate V DAC or I DAC via the GUI then the corresponding channel on your DP832/A will not work properly.
Ununpentium
 

Offline TooOldForThis

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 52
  • Country: us
  • H: 42.576MHz/Tesla
Re: Rigol DP832 - Firmware list and bugs
« Reply #114 on: September 06, 2014, 10:48:22 am »
Quote
If you try and calibrate V DAC or I DAC via the GUI then the corresponding channel on your DP832/A will not work properly.

That's an understatement.  I tried to calibrate one channel of a DP832 (rev 1.11) and created a total mess.  I've retried half a dozen times.  No luck.  The voltage output now has nothing to do with the value requested.   I re-calibrated this unit successfully when it was running 1.08.   I tried down-grading from 1.11 to 1.09, but that doesn't work.   The other two channels are still OK.

Rigol must calibrate these things automatically using SCPI commands.  It certainly would be good to get info on their undocumented calibration commands.

Fortunately, I have a 2nd DP832 I can use until Rigol comes out with a cal fix in rev 1.12.
 

Offline TooOldForThis

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 52
  • Country: us
  • H: 42.576MHz/Tesla
Re: Rigol DP832 - Firmware list and bugs
« Reply #115 on: September 06, 2014, 11:09:15 am »
There is a bug in firmware 00.01.11.00.00 relating to manual calibration. If you have installed this firmware then don't perform manual calibration on either V DAC or I DAC. Calibration of V ADC and I ADC appears to work properly though.

Calibration via a PC works fine.

Uup, Can you provide information on how to calibrate a DP800 by PC?  Are those SCPI commands documented somewhere?
 

Offline Uup

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 71
  • Country: au
Re: Rigol DP832 - Firmware list and bugs
« Reply #116 on: September 06, 2014, 04:43:12 pm »
Sorry, I’ve overstepped my bounds. :-[ I was under the impression that the software was available from Rigol by request. Contact your local authorised Rigol distributor and explain your situation. Since your calibration was corrupted due to a bug in the firmware then they may calibrate your DP832 for free and/or with a fast turnaround.

Rigol is apparently aware of the bug so hopefully a fixed firmware will be available soon. In the meantime, hopefully no one else corrupts their calibration...

Ununpentium
 

Offline Uup

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 71
  • Country: au
Re: Rigol DP832 - Firmware list and bugs
« Reply #117 on: September 06, 2014, 05:35:18 pm »
Quote
If you try and calibrate V DAC or I DAC via the GUI then the corresponding channel on your DP832/A will not work properly.

That's an understatement.  I tried to calibrate one channel of a DP832 (rev 1.11) and created a total mess.  I've retried half a dozen times.  No luck. 

Sounds like we had a similar experience. I wasted far too much time on this myself. |O

I totally screwed up the calibration to the point where it would output an overvoltage and trip OVP, when the output was turned off! Got it closer once I realised how the values were getting screwed up. All good now fortunately.
Ununpentium
 

Offline f1rmb

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 180
  • Country: fr
Re: Rigol DP832 - Firmware list and bugs
« Reply #118 on: September 06, 2014, 06:17:37 pm »
Hi,

Quote
If you try and calibrate V DAC or I DAC via the GUI then the corresponding channel on your DP832/A will not work properly.

That's an understatement.  I tried to calibrate one channel of a DP832 (rev 1.11) and created a total mess.  I've retried half a dozen times.  No luck. 

Sounds like we had a similar experience. I wasted far too much time on this myself. |O

I totally screwed up the calibration to the point where it would output an overvoltage and trip OVP, when the output was turned off! Got it closer once I realised how the values were getting screwed up. All good now fortunately.

Like à continuous OVP alarms ? On channel 1 only ?

Have you tried to flash back to 1.10 ?

Cheers.
---
Daniel.
 

Offline Michael Weston

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 43
  • Country: us
Re: Rigol DP832 - Firmware list and bugs
« Reply #119 on: September 06, 2014, 06:18:43 pm »
Are you saying calibration of "V DAC" and "I DAC" via a PC works correctly?  Please clarify and elaborate.

Yes. The bug appears to affect manual calibration via the GUI only. If you try and calibrate V DAC or I DAC via the GUI then the corresponding channel on your DP832/A will not work properly.
Ahhh... I understand now.  Thank you very much for that clarification.  :)
Thanks,
Michael
 

Offline Uup

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 71
  • Country: au
Re: Rigol DP832 - Firmware list and bugs
« Reply #120 on: September 06, 2014, 06:49:34 pm »
Like à continuous OVP alarms ? On channel 1 only ?

Yes. Turned on DP832A and, after powering-up, an immediate OVP alarm. The control panel buttons were almost unusable due to the constant alarm as well. I could only stop the OVP alarm under software control.


Quote
Have you tried to flash back to 1.10 ?

I was unable to reflash to an older firmware version.
Ununpentium
 

Offline f1rmb

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 180
  • Country: fr
Re: Rigol DP832 - Firmware list and bugs
« Reply #121 on: September 06, 2014, 07:07:41 pm »
Hi,

Like à continuous OVP alarms ? On channel 1 only ?

Yes. Turned on DP832A and, after powering-up, an immediate OVP alarm. The control panel buttons were almost unusable due to the constant alarm as well. I could only stop the OVP alarm under software control.


Quote
Have you tried to flash back to 1.10 ?

I was unable to reflash to an older firmware version.

Exactly what I've experienced, with the 43V sin wave output on Channel 1, and I suspect that's the origin of all of my hardware problem (C31 death, and probably more)... Looks like this 1.11 turns the PSU into suicide mode.

Looks like I'm stuck waiting for a new firmware release before continuing fixing the board (or trying to)...

Damn Rigol's devs...


Cheers.
---
Daniel
 

Offline Rigby

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1476
  • Country: us
  • Learning, very new at this. Righteous Asshole, too
Re: Rigol DP832 - Firmware list and bugs
« Reply #122 on: September 06, 2014, 07:10:54 pm »
WHY are people upgrading firmware in cases where the existing firmware is not causing issues?

Can anyone explain?  One has a device that works as it is just fine, then chooses to apply firmware right after it is made available?

Tell me I'm missing something.

If it isn't broke...  I'm on 1.06 and I've not had a single issue.  And I don't ever plan on upgrading.  There's no need to, the thing works just fine.
 

Offline f1rmb

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 180
  • Country: fr
Re: Rigol DP832 - Firmware list and bugs
« Reply #123 on: September 06, 2014, 07:49:15 pm »
WHY are people upgrading firmware in cases where the existing firmware is not causing issues?

Can anyone explain?  One has a device that works as it is just fine, then chooses to apply firmware right after it is made available?

Tell me I'm missing something.

If it isn't broke...  I'm on 1.06 and I've not had a single issue.  And I don't ever plan on upgrading.  There's no need to, the thing works just fine.

Why ? Maybe you should re-read the OP ;-)

And if none of us try firmware updates, how could we know if bugs are fixed or introduced ? Doesn't the point of this thread ?

So now, we can hardly suggest to NOT FLASH 1.11.


Cheers
---
Daniel.
« Last Edit: September 06, 2014, 07:50:57 pm by f1rmb »
 

Offline Uup

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 71
  • Country: au
Re: Rigol DP832 - Firmware list and bugs
« Reply #124 on: September 06, 2014, 08:29:13 pm »
WHY are people upgrading firmware in cases where the existing firmware is not causing issues?

Can anyone explain?  One has a device that works as it is just fine, then chooses to apply firmware right after it is made available?

Tell me I'm missing something.

If it isn't broke...  I'm on 1.06 and I've not had a single issue.  And I don't ever plan on upgrading.  There's no need to, the thing works just fine.

I appreciate the time and the effort that you made to dispense your wisdom here. However, no one is forcing you, or anyone else for that matter, to upgrade. We're just sharing our experiences here.

Did you happened to read the OP or even the subject line?

In any case, this particular issue with 1.11 is really a non-issue unless you intend to calibrate your PSU. The reason I posted here about it was to make others aware of the issue in order to avoid potential problems.

And since you asked... I upgraded my DP832A specifically in order to add the 'Classic' GUI. I don't really like the standard triangle GUI that is on the DP832A. However, I would have upgraded anyhow, unless any major issues were first raised. I like to have the latest firmware, to be on the cutting edge. But that's just me.  :D

Yes, I ended up wasting time with calibration issues, but in the end things worked out better than I expected. The calibration is now perfect, where previously it was out by a couple of mV on both indication and set-point.

Ununpentium
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf