Author Topic: Rigol DP832 networking problem, lost connections  (Read 774 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline edgelog

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 23
  • Country: se
Rigol DP832 networking problem, lost connections
« on: June 07, 2017, 04:05:59 AM »
DP832
Digital: 00.01.14.00.03
Analog: 03.02.04.03.02.04
Boot: 01.09
Serial: DP8C19xxxxxxx

I'm having problems with the networking on this unit. It keeps dropping out, and every now and then reconnecting. I'm connecting over the LAN to the DP832, an MSO1104Z, and a DG1022Z. The latter two: no problem. Same network.

1. Using DHCP (also tried manual IP, but it's no better). It connects, then after a few seconds to a few minutes, it loses connection again. I'm pinging constantly from a desktop, that's how I detect it. At the same time, it stops responding over telnet. This on a local net 10.x.x.x (I have two, that's why I define it here).

2. Connecting all three instruments to another net instead (172.16.x.x) and the problem goes away. Rock steady. As I said above, the function gen and the scope are rock steady on both nets.

When it stops responding, it still shows the same IP, subnet, gate, and DNS on the I/O config screen. When I press "Apply" it recovers again. Until the next time.

So I hooked up Wireshark via a "mirror port" on the upstream switch while on the 10.x.x.x network, and what I found was that just before the DP832 stops responding, there's an MDNS broadcast from my iPhone on both IPv4 and IPv6 with "cache flush" (whatever that means). Right after that, the Rigol sends out an ARP for the iPhone v4 IP, and right after that, it stops responding to pings. I could reproduce this a couple of times.

So then I disabled wifi on my phone, only to encounter the same sequence, but then as my wife's phone did the same broadcast and the DP832 did an ARP.

Note that the other net, the net where everything works fine, has no iPhone traffic; there are none on that net.

I can't guarantee there's a correlation, but it sure is suggestive. Anyone else seen anything like this? Anyone else having the DP832 being flaky on the LAN? With iPhones?
 

Offline jc101

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 203
  • Country: gb
Re: Rigol DP832 networking problem, lost connections
« Reply #1 on: June 07, 2017, 05:16:37 AM »
Yes, I saw exactly the same issues with a DP832A on a network using mDNS (I have lots of Apple devices on the LAN), it's a firmware fault and they need to issue a fix for it. 

I replaced my DP832A with a different supply, partly because of this issue and also to get an upgrade.  I was scripting control of the PSU as part of an automated process and it was a real problem causing things to fail.
 

Offline edgelog

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 23
  • Country: se
Re: Rigol DP832 networking problem, lost connections
« Reply #2 on: June 07, 2017, 05:39:37 AM »
Yes, I saw exactly the same issues with a DP832A on a network using mDNS (I have lots of Apple devices on the LAN), it's a firmware fault and they need to issue a fix for it. 

"Good" to know it wasn't just me. I'll probably just add a firewall upstream to allow only the desktop access to the Rigols. I have a few surplus SRXs.
 

Offline edgelog

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 23
  • Country: se
Re: Rigol DP832 networking problem, lost connections
« Reply #3 on: June 07, 2017, 05:55:12 AM »
Just got a much simpler idea that seems to solve the problem. I have an old 100 Mbit USB 2 Apple network dongle, which I plugged into my iMac (on the 10.x.x.x) and set up to use the other local net (172.16.x.x). That way the iMac i dual homed, but doesn't pass any broadcasts (or even any other traffic) from one net to the other.

Seems to work!

 

Offline CustomEngineerer

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 323
  • Country: us
Re: Rigol DP832 networking problem, lost connections
« Reply #4 on: June 07, 2017, 06:10:13 AM »
Other people also reported similar in http://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/rigol-dp832-firmware-updates-and-bug-list/ . Especially checkout the last couple of pages. Pretty sure there have also been several other threads on the same issue, but am currently unable to locate them. Mostly its been reported on the DP832A, but do seem to remember seeing at least 1 other non-A version user report the same.
 

Offline edgelog

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 23
  • Country: se
Re: Rigol DP832 networking problem, lost connections
« Reply #5 on: June 07, 2017, 06:14:14 AM »
Other people also reported similar in http://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/rigol-dp832-firmware-updates-and-bug-list/ . Especially checkout the last couple of pages. Pretty sure there have also been several other threads on the same issue, but am currently unable to locate them. Mostly its been reported on the DP832A, but do seem to remember seeing at least 1 other non-A version user report the same.

Yes, something similar is described there, but it isn't mentioned if Apple devices were on the same net. jc101 above came to the same conclusion about that as me.

BTW, my DP832 has all options enabled, so it's similar, though not identical, to a DP832A. Could have something to do with it.
 

Offline CustomEngineerer

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 323
  • Country: us
Re: Rigol DP832 networking problem, lost connections
« Reply #6 on: June 07, 2017, 03:14:00 PM »
Pretty sure most other DP832 users also have all their options enabled. I know I do on my non-A version, and I've never had any network problems. Granted I don't do much network wise with mine, however it is always connected to the network.

I'm not questioning your report, just trying to give you more data.
 

Offline edgelog

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 23
  • Country: se
Re: Rigol DP832 networking problem, lost connections
« Reply #7 on: June 07, 2017, 05:24:40 PM »
Pretty sure most other DP832 users also have all their options enabled. I know I do on my non-A version, and I've never had any network problems. Granted I don't do much network wise with mine, however it is always connected to the network.

Do you have any iPhones on the same net?
 

Offline CustomEngineerer

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 323
  • Country: us
Re: Rigol DP832 networking problem, lost connections
« Reply #8 on: June 08, 2017, 06:06:31 PM »
No iphones, though do use Macbook Pro (only apple device in house) on same network frequently.

Edit: I do my best to keep the macbook well behaved on the network the best I can, but if I get some time this weekend Ill try turning on mdns on the macbook and playing around to see if I can get similar results.
« Last Edit: June 08, 2017, 06:11:27 PM by CustomEngineerer »
 

Offline edgelog

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 23
  • Country: se
Re: Rigol DP832 networking problem, lost connections
« Reply #9 on: June 08, 2017, 06:18:11 PM »
No iphones, though do use Macbook Pro (only apple device in house) on same network frequently.

Edit: I do my best to keep the macbook well behaved on the network the best I can, but if I get some time this weekend Ill try turning on mdns on the macbook and playing around to see if I can get similar results.

I don't think you'll see anything. I've got four MacBook Airs and Pros, plus an iMac, on that net and the only correlation I could see was when iPhones sent out those mDNS "flush" calls. Never correlated with anything from the Macs. I haven't tested with iPads.

But if you do see something happening, it would sure be interesting.

Also note that the DP832 keeps working normally otherwise, but stops responding to the network. No reboots or anything (as I've seen described elsewhere).
 

Offline RoGeorge

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 408
  • Country: ro
Re: Rigol DP832 networking problem, lost connections
« Reply #10 on: June 08, 2017, 06:44:16 PM »
I've used DP832 with this script to log I/U/P at constant intervals while charging Pb batteries (no Rigol or IVI drivers, just a TCP socket): https://github.com/RoGeorge/DP832_charger_logger

Never lost a connection, even while logging continuously for many days. FW 00.01.11. Always used it with a fix IP, 192.168.1.4. No Apple devices, it is a separate net card with a switch for Rigol instruments only. It works with win10, too, which apart from Linux sends a lot of unsoliceted requests of all kind to all the network interfaces.


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf

 

http://opalkelly.com/