Author Topic: Rigol DP832 networking problem, lost connections  (Read 1952 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline edgelog

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 42
  • Country: se
Rigol DP832 networking problem, lost connections
« on: June 07, 2017, 04:05:59 AM »
DP832
Digital: 00.01.14.00.03
Analog: 03.02.04.03.02.04
Boot: 01.09
Serial: DP8C19xxxxxxx

I'm having problems with the networking on this unit. It keeps dropping out, and every now and then reconnecting. I'm connecting over the LAN to the DP832, an MSO1104Z, and a DG1022Z. The latter two: no problem. Same network.

1. Using DHCP (also tried manual IP, but it's no better). It connects, then after a few seconds to a few minutes, it loses connection again. I'm pinging constantly from a desktop, that's how I detect it. At the same time, it stops responding over telnet. This on a local net 10.x.x.x (I have two, that's why I define it here).

2. Connecting all three instruments to another net instead (172.16.x.x) and the problem goes away. Rock steady. As I said above, the function gen and the scope are rock steady on both nets.

When it stops responding, it still shows the same IP, subnet, gate, and DNS on the I/O config screen. When I press "Apply" it recovers again. Until the next time.

So I hooked up Wireshark via a "mirror port" on the upstream switch while on the 10.x.x.x network, and what I found was that just before the DP832 stops responding, there's an MDNS broadcast from my iPhone on both IPv4 and IPv6 with "cache flush" (whatever that means). Right after that, the Rigol sends out an ARP for the iPhone v4 IP, and right after that, it stops responding to pings. I could reproduce this a couple of times.

So then I disabled wifi on my phone, only to encounter the same sequence, but then as my wife's phone did the same broadcast and the DP832 did an ARP.

Note that the other net, the net where everything works fine, has no iPhone traffic; there are none on that net.

I can't guarantee there's a correlation, but it sure is suggestive. Anyone else seen anything like this? Anyone else having the DP832 being flaky on the LAN? With iPhones?
 

Offline jc101

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 230
  • Country: gb
Re: Rigol DP832 networking problem, lost connections
« Reply #1 on: June 07, 2017, 05:16:37 AM »
Yes, I saw exactly the same issues with a DP832A on a network using mDNS (I have lots of Apple devices on the LAN), it's a firmware fault and they need to issue a fix for it. 

I replaced my DP832A with a different supply, partly because of this issue and also to get an upgrade.  I was scripting control of the PSU as part of an automated process and it was a real problem causing things to fail.
 

Offline edgelog

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 42
  • Country: se
Re: Rigol DP832 networking problem, lost connections
« Reply #2 on: June 07, 2017, 05:39:37 AM »
Yes, I saw exactly the same issues with a DP832A on a network using mDNS (I have lots of Apple devices on the LAN), it's a firmware fault and they need to issue a fix for it. 

"Good" to know it wasn't just me. I'll probably just add a firewall upstream to allow only the desktop access to the Rigols. I have a few surplus SRXs.
 

Offline edgelog

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 42
  • Country: se
Re: Rigol DP832 networking problem, lost connections
« Reply #3 on: June 07, 2017, 05:55:12 AM »
Just got a much simpler idea that seems to solve the problem. I have an old 100 Mbit USB 2 Apple network dongle, which I plugged into my iMac (on the 10.x.x.x) and set up to use the other local net (172.16.x.x). That way the iMac i dual homed, but doesn't pass any broadcasts (or even any other traffic) from one net to the other.

Seems to work!

 

Offline CustomEngineerer

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 361
  • Country: us
Re: Rigol DP832 networking problem, lost connections
« Reply #4 on: June 07, 2017, 06:10:13 AM »
Other people also reported similar in http://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/rigol-dp832-firmware-updates-and-bug-list/ . Especially checkout the last couple of pages. Pretty sure there have also been several other threads on the same issue, but am currently unable to locate them. Mostly its been reported on the DP832A, but do seem to remember seeing at least 1 other non-A version user report the same.
 

Offline edgelog

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 42
  • Country: se
Re: Rigol DP832 networking problem, lost connections
« Reply #5 on: June 07, 2017, 06:14:14 AM »
Other people also reported similar in http://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/rigol-dp832-firmware-updates-and-bug-list/ . Especially checkout the last couple of pages. Pretty sure there have also been several other threads on the same issue, but am currently unable to locate them. Mostly its been reported on the DP832A, but do seem to remember seeing at least 1 other non-A version user report the same.

Yes, something similar is described there, but it isn't mentioned if Apple devices were on the same net. jc101 above came to the same conclusion about that as me.

BTW, my DP832 has all options enabled, so it's similar, though not identical, to a DP832A. Could have something to do with it.
 

Offline CustomEngineerer

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 361
  • Country: us
Re: Rigol DP832 networking problem, lost connections
« Reply #6 on: June 07, 2017, 03:14:00 PM »
Pretty sure most other DP832 users also have all their options enabled. I know I do on my non-A version, and I've never had any network problems. Granted I don't do much network wise with mine, however it is always connected to the network.

I'm not questioning your report, just trying to give you more data.
 

Offline edgelog

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 42
  • Country: se
Re: Rigol DP832 networking problem, lost connections
« Reply #7 on: June 07, 2017, 05:24:40 PM »
Pretty sure most other DP832 users also have all their options enabled. I know I do on my non-A version, and I've never had any network problems. Granted I don't do much network wise with mine, however it is always connected to the network.

Do you have any iPhones on the same net?
 

Offline CustomEngineerer

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 361
  • Country: us
Re: Rigol DP832 networking problem, lost connections
« Reply #8 on: June 08, 2017, 06:06:31 PM »
No iphones, though do use Macbook Pro (only apple device in house) on same network frequently.

Edit: I do my best to keep the macbook well behaved on the network the best I can, but if I get some time this weekend Ill try turning on mdns on the macbook and playing around to see if I can get similar results.
« Last Edit: June 08, 2017, 06:11:27 PM by CustomEngineerer »
 

Offline edgelog

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 42
  • Country: se
Re: Rigol DP832 networking problem, lost connections
« Reply #9 on: June 08, 2017, 06:18:11 PM »
No iphones, though do use Macbook Pro (only apple device in house) on same network frequently.

Edit: I do my best to keep the macbook well behaved on the network the best I can, but if I get some time this weekend Ill try turning on mdns on the macbook and playing around to see if I can get similar results.

I don't think you'll see anything. I've got four MacBook Airs and Pros, plus an iMac, on that net and the only correlation I could see was when iPhones sent out those mDNS "flush" calls. Never correlated with anything from the Macs. I haven't tested with iPads.

But if you do see something happening, it would sure be interesting.

Also note that the DP832 keeps working normally otherwise, but stops responding to the network. No reboots or anything (as I've seen described elsewhere).
 

Offline RoGeorge

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 634
  • Country: ro
Re: Rigol DP832 networking problem, lost connections
« Reply #10 on: June 08, 2017, 06:44:16 PM »
I've used DP832 with this script to log I/U/P at constant intervals while charging Pb batteries (no Rigol or IVI drivers, just a TCP socket): https://github.com/RoGeorge/DP832_charger_logger

Never lost a connection, even while logging continuously for many days. FW 00.01.11. Always used it with a fix IP, 192.168.1.4. No Apple devices, it is a separate net card with a switch for Rigol instruments only. It works with win10, too, which apart from Linux sends a lot of unsoliceted requests of all kind to all the network interfaces.

Offline smuebreg

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 5
Re: Rigol DP832 networking problem, lost connections
« Reply #11 on: October 20, 2017, 02:55:16 AM »
I'm reviving this thread to happily report that Rigol seems to have solved this problem with a beta firmware, version 1.16 (available via tech support request, at least from Rigol NA).

I had the exact same symptoms as the OP using FW 1.14. After installing 1.16 I've had a ping test running overnight with no lost packets. Hesitant to say completely cured until I've used it for a while yet, but sure seems like it.

If you've been having the same problem, I'd encourage you to try FW 1.16 and report your results both here and back to Rigol in order that the firmware can be tweaked and/or finalized...
 

Offline CustomEngineerer

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 361
  • Country: us
Re: Rigol DP832 networking problem, lost connections
« Reply #12 on: October 20, 2017, 01:27:43 PM »
Do you have the A or non-A model?
 

Offline smuebreg

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 5
Re: Rigol DP832 networking problem, lost connections
« Reply #13 on: October 21, 2017, 04:19:45 AM »
Mine is a DP832 (non-A), although my understanding is that A and non-A versions are absolutely identical except for the colours of the front panel buttons and the UI display options. Internally the PCB is the same (the DP832 is labelled DP832A!).

In any case, they use the same firmware, so this new version 1.16 ought to work equally well for either flavour.
 

Offline edgelog

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 42
  • Country: se
Re: Rigol DP832 networking problem, lost connections
« Reply #14 on: October 21, 2017, 05:17:50 AM »
If you've been having the same problem, I'd encourage you to try FW 1.16 and report your results both here and back to Rigol in order that the firmware can be tweaked and/or finalized...

I've sent in a support request asking for 1.16. Hopefully I'll get it and I'll report back if it solves it for me as well.
 

Offline edgelog

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 42
  • Country: se
Re: Rigol DP832 networking problem, lost connections
« Reply #15 on: October 25, 2017, 06:42:00 AM »
So, got the 1.16 FW from Rigol support. Did the whole upgrade dance, including analog boards 1 & 2, went smoothly. Have to say, though, their upgrade is a bit sloppy. Turned the display setup into default (green), the language into Chinese (fun!), and the "save" to default, not "last". Probably lost all other settings as well, haven't checked.

Before upgrading I confirmed that the network dropped out as usual. After the upgrade, it doesn't anymore. Or rather, it seems to recover quickly, which it didn't before (see below).

For some reason, going into "display" and adjusting brightness and contrast drops the network connection. But, it recovers quickly. While adjusting the contrast (or brightness), it keeps flashing the message "LAN Connected", while pings are dropped at a frightful rate. I'm guessing the display adjust procedure is hogging the processor, maybe? Other settings screens don't seem to have this effect, but the display adjust screen has these "fancy" bars you adjust by spinning the encoder knob. That part of the software could use some attention, I figure.

Except for all that, it seems they've solved the networking problem. I haven't done much more than pinged so far, though.

I should add: a DP832 (non-A) with all options enabled.
 

Offline Silveruser

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 56
  • Country: ca
Re: Rigol DP832 networking problem, lost connections
« Reply #16 on: October 25, 2017, 07:30:30 AM »
Are there any Version notes for the .16 version (maybe .15 as well) explaining what they changed or upgraded.  I've seen very rare random resets (not LAN related), just wondering if any mention.
 

Offline Dubbie

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 542
Re: Rigol DP832 networking problem, lost connections
« Reply #17 on: October 25, 2017, 07:32:39 AM »
Interestingly, I was working on something else at my bench and I plugged in a mains plug. It slipped slightly in my hand as I plugged it in so as the plug made connection, it sparked and crackled a bit with the inrush current.
I noticed out of the corner of my eye that my DP832 lost it's network connection at the same moment.

I wonder if interference on the the mains line or through the air caused it?
 

Offline edgelog

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 42
  • Country: se
Re: Rigol DP832 networking problem, lost connections
« Reply #18 on: October 25, 2017, 07:45:25 AM »
Are there any Version notes for the .16 version (maybe .15 as well) explaining what they changed or upgraded.  I've seen very rare random resets (not LAN related), just wondering if any mention.

No, just got the bare GEL file with a PDF explaining how to upgrade a DP832. No release notes. I haven't seen 1.15, don't know if it exists.
 

Offline CustomEngineerer

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 361
  • Country: us
Re: Rigol DP832 networking problem, lost connections
« Reply #19 on: October 25, 2017, 09:14:40 AM »
Mine is a DP832 (non-A), although my understanding is that A and non-A versions are absolutely identical except for the colours of the front panel buttons and the UI display options. Internally the PCB is the same (the DP832 is labelled DP832A!).

In any case, they use the same firmware, so this new version 1.16 ought to work equally well for either flavour.

They are identical hardware. Was asking just so we have as much info as possible. My non-A has never had this problem.
 

Offline edgelog

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 42
  • Country: se
Re: Rigol DP832 networking problem, lost connections
« Reply #20 on: October 25, 2017, 07:23:03 PM »
My non-A has never had this problem.

It's probably triggered by mDNS from iOS devices (iPhones at least) on the same net, and you said before that you don't have any.
 

Offline savyzzyz

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
  • Country: ca
Re: Rigol DP832 networking problem, lost connections
« Reply #21 on: October 25, 2017, 11:40:26 PM »
FWIW, I was experiencing the same problem but did not have any iOS devices on the net. In fact I completely isolated the DP832 on a separate router with my Surface Pro 3 tablet and still had the problem...although less frequently.

FW 1.16 is working for me. I'll have to check for LAN dropouts in the display menu...I haven't been in there since the FW update.
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf