Author Topic: New 17B+, Is This Normal?  (Read 6177 times)

Offline robocoyoteTopic starter

New 17B+, Is This Normal?
« on: July 24, 2017, 10:01:59 pm »
Bought this meter on eBay from a US seller, it arrived Saturday.  It has some weird behaviors.  For background, I'm an electronic tech that works in the transportation industry as well as an extra class ham, I'm not new to electronics.  Previous to buying this I've had a series of cheap meters and this is my first nice meter.  Now on to the problems.  When I measure voltage it overshoots.  For example, when I measure a 9V battery the voltage shoots to 42V and then comes back down to 9V, the high voltage LED comes on also.  It also takes as long as 10 seconds before the reading settles down to the right value on resistance.  It fails the classic continuity test, only beeping about 50% of the quick contacts.  I've tried putting new batteries in but it makes no difference.  Is this normal for this meter?  It's much worse than my Mastech MS8264 in almost every way except build quality.

Offline Fungus

• Super Contributor
Re: New 17B+, Is This Normal?
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2017, 10:17:58 pm »
Definitely not normal.

Offline MosherIV

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: July 24, 2017, 10:20:27 pm »
Nope. Sounds like it is damaged.

Did the seller describe it as working?
If so a)send it back and get a refund
B) get a partial refund and get help here to fix it

Not sure from your description what is wrong.

Offline joeqsmith

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: July 24, 2017, 10:50:48 pm »
I have a 17B+.  Nice meter.  No, it does not do what you describe.  Maybe someone sent you a used damaged one.   

« Reply #4 on: July 24, 2017, 11:02:29 pm »
Thanks everyone, I bought it new from someone who imports the Chinese model into the US.  I've contacted the seller and will see if he will exchange it. 

Joe: I watched many of your videos while researching a new DMM, nice work.

Rob