Author Topic: Rigol DS1054Z drops memory  (Read 5146 times)

Offline obbeTopic starter

Rigol DS1054Z drops memory
« on: August 25, 2015, 01:28:08 pm »
I imagine this has been asked before, but I couldn't find any answers here or elsewhere (the Rigol DS1054Z-thread is pretty huge). Maybe its my lack of appropriate terminology.

When I have captured a signal using the DS1054Z and try to adjust the scale (vertical or horizontal) or the position (vertical or horizontal) it first moves as I would expect, but after a few moves it suddenly refuses to scale or reposition. The settings gets updated but the waveform is frozen on the screen.
When it captures a new waveform it works the same way - settings gets updated by waveform freezes after a while.

I'm pretty new to digital oscilloscopes, so maybe I have misunderstood something, but it was my understanding that one of the benefits of a digital oscilloscope was that it can hold the waveform in memory and that you can scale/reposition it (within reasonable limits) once it has been captured.

Thanks for any help and pointers, and once again, sorry if this has been asked before (probably)!

Edit: This applies when the oscilloscope is set to Normal triggering mode and is waiting for a new trigger (i.e. green WAIT at upper left corner).
« Last Edit: August 25, 2015, 01:49:17 pm by obbe »

Offline alsetalokin4017

• Super Contributor
Re: Rigol DS1054Z drops memory
« Reply #1 on: August 25, 2015, 10:32:25 pm »
Any chance of a video? From your description, if I am understanding you correctly,  I'm not able to reproduce the error, and I think my 1054z is just about the "buggiest" one around.

The easiest person to fool is yourself. -- Richard Feynman

Offline Shock

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: August 25, 2015, 10:34:31 pm »