Author Topic: rigol ds1054z inconsistent measurement from channel 1 only  (Read 3538 times)

Offline crazyhogTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
rigol ds1054z inconsistent measurement from channel 1 only
« on: September 05, 2016, 11:52:11 pm »
Hi all,

I just brought my first oscilloscope, the Rigol DS1054z.  I notice channel 1 is giving low Vrms readings.  To test, I hooked up all 4 channels to the same AC source.

ch 1: 9.9 vrms
ch 2: 11.2 vrms
ch 3: 11.2 vrms
ch 4: 11.3 vrms

The difference between channel 1 and other channels seems excessive.  I've verified the probes by swapping them; the probes are fine.  I've also ran the self calibration multiple times.

I also noticed when I increase the horizontal scale from 5ms to 20ms, channel 2,3 and 4 drops to 10.3 vrms.  Why does changing horizontal time scale changes vrms result?

Am I right the difference is excessive?  Should I be concerned that my scope is defective.  I am new to working with oscilloscopes and EE.  Your help is sincerely appreciated.

Offline alsetalokin4017

• Super Contributor
Re: rigol ds1054z inconsistent measurement from channel 1 only
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2016, 03:23:07 am »
The DS1054z has known "issues" relating to the RMS measurements. These seem to be related to the latest firmware version.

So... yes, and no. Yes, your scope is behaving "normally" for what it is. No, one would indeed expect the RMS readings to be both accurate and consistent across channels, so it's a bug, probably in the software.

See my screenshots below.

Changing the horizontal scale puts more cycles on the screen, and the scope computes the left-menu measurements from the displayed screen data. So, within limits, the more complete cycles you have displayed the more accurate the measurements will be.

You may also want to experiment with the "Per.VRMS" or Period RMS measurements, which will just use a single full cycle to compute the RMS. See the third shot below.