Author Topic: RIGOL DS1054Z Offset Range limits  (Read 18372 times)

Offline rbrodersTopic starter

RIGOL DS1054Z Offset Range limits
« on: May 31, 2016, 04:20:52 am »
I'm new to DSOs, so forgive me if this is a stupid question.

I was using my scope for the first time today trying to measure ripple on a new 24V SMPS when switching on a 1A electromagnet load.  I'm trying to decide whether adding a large capacitor (0.1F) to the output rail will help or hinder the system.

Things were going pretty well, until I ran into problems trying to zoom in on the signal by decreasing the vertical scale below 500mv/div.  When at or above 500mv/div you can offset the signal +/-100V, but when below it you can only offset by +/-2V.  What the heck!  Anyone know the reason for such a drastic reduction in the offset level?

Thanks -- Bob

P.S. I have a current limiting power supply Meanwell SE-350-24 so it should be able to startup ok even with the giant cap on the rails.  However, with no external load, it isn't stable with the cap: voltage wanders from 22-23V.  I'm also driving a 3A actuator motor and thought the cap might help alleviate spikes.  Ah, forget it.  Still curious about the offset range limit thing though.

Offline ebastler

• Super Contributor
Re: RIGOL DS1054Z Offset Range limits
« Reply #1 on: May 31, 2016, 04:44:49 am »
To measure small fluctuations on a large constant background (e.g. power supply ripple), the best solution is to set your scope's input to AC mode. That way, the input signal is coupled via a capacitor, and the DC offset is fully removed.

On the DS1054Z, AC vs. DC coupling can be selected by calling up the Input Channel menu (pressing channel selector 1-4); input coupling is the topmost softkey on the right.

The following users thanked this post: rbroders

« Reply #2 on: May 31, 2016, 06:59:50 am »