Author Topic: Rigol DS1054Z - Still the best bang for the buck?  (Read 4514 times)

Offline broderpTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Rigol DS1054Z - Still the best bang for the buck?
« on: December 04, 2016, 02:13:35 am »
I've watched all Dave's video's, but they are getting a year or so old.  Has anyone come out with a competitor to the Rigol DS1054Z? (bang for buck)

I'm a long time engineering hobbyist, and have been out of the "business" for many years.  The last scope I used was an analog 20Mhz model.  (Still wish I had it)

I purchased a Rigol DP832 PS for my testing and it has been great.  (Thanks Dave for the great video's).  I'd like to be brand loyal, but logically, I'll get what works best and provides the most for my money.

I read the 50Hrz Rigol DS1054Z can be upgraded or unlocked making it a value leader.  Is this still so? Or should I looks another brand for better specifications pr performance? 

Thank you.

Offline nanofrog

• Super Contributor
Re: Rigol DS1054Z - Still the best bang for the buck?
« Reply #1 on: December 04, 2016, 04:11:03 am »
I read the 50Hrz Rigol DS1054Z can be upgraded or unlocked making it a value leader.  Is this still so?
Given the ability to fully unlock it, I'd say Yes.  :-+

That's not to say there's not other scopes to consider, but the Siglent SDS2000 Series is more expensive (seems to be a nice scope though). For example, the 4ch 100Mhz SDS2104 is on sale for ~$1100 from Saelig (here). Which is nearly ~3x the cost for the same frequency & channel count.

Offline JPortici

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: December 04, 2016, 05:59:16 am »
... which also has
- 2GS/s sample rate
- selectable 1Meg/50ohm input
- greater input sensitivity
- timebase can go as fast as 1ns/div
- almost as 3 times as the waveform update rate
- can/lin decoding and triggering
- optional waveform generation
and probably more, like better usability and an UI that doesn't struggle to perform actions... which can't be known before trying it.