Author Topic: Rigol DS1074Z inside Picture  (Read 44824 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline crt

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 54
  • Country: id
  • LLLLLLL-RGDSLLL-DSARLLL-LLLLLLL
Rigol DS1074Z inside Picture
« on: August 15, 2013, 01:07:53 am »
I'm bit bored at my room  :=\
first sight at analog input ==> is that rust ??? YES !!!  ;D

i see only 2 IC that been erased
(using my super eye)
one i recognize brand only == > ACTEL but the number was to blur
the second one (small chip) ==> HAD1512 PPS (can not sure)

p.s
Someone please "HACK" this scope
I believe this one will be the next rising star  :-DD
 

Offline tom66

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3351
  • Country: gb
Re: Rigol DS1074Z inside Picture
« Reply #1 on: August 15, 2013, 01:19:24 am »
Is the power supply the same as the other Rigol instruments of this generation?

Looks like Rigol have moved from AD Blackfin to Freescale i.MX. Interesting choice.

And one quad ADC chip instead of two dual ADCs, rare to see that in a 4ch scope, this is a budget model though.
 

Offline PA0PBZ

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3769
  • Country: nl
Re: Rigol DS1074Z inside Picture
« Reply #2 on: August 15, 2013, 01:39:14 am »
Interesting. It is clear where the LA is going to be, and the output connectors for the SG, but where is the rest of the SG hardware going?
Keyboard error: Press F1 to continue.
 

Offline olsenn

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 993
Re: Rigol DS1074Z inside Picture
« Reply #3 on: August 15, 2013, 02:00:05 am »
I have to admit, that's a pretty crusty looking scope :(

They should have added 4-channels to the DS2000-series. This business of making different models for every possible configuration instead of just choosing a single useful configuration for each price range is annoying. Soon, Rigol will have 200 active products on the go if they keep this up
 

Offline Electro Fan

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1721
Re: Rigol DS1074Z inside Picture
« Reply #4 on: August 15, 2013, 03:45:46 am »
I have to admit, that's a pretty crusty looking scope :(

They should have added 4-channels to the DS2000-series. This business of making different models for every possible configuration instead of just choosing a single useful configuration for each price range is annoying. Soon, Rigol will have 200 active products on the go if they keep this up

Yep, on the DS4000 you can move from 2 ch to 4 ch for $400 at 100MHz and from 2 ch to 4 ch at 200MHz for $300.  Rigol should offer the DS2000 series with 4 channel increments at same type of pricing increments rather than forcing you upstream to the DS4000 series with more Mpts and wfm/s than some users need/want, or downstream to the DS1000 series.

Seems like test equipment product managers sometimes spend more time thinking about playing chess with the competition than satisfying the customers.  Kind of like a restaurant that says you can only have this bun with that burger and these dressings, and no substitutions – might be easier on the kitchen and in theory more profitable for the time being, but longer term – maybe not so much. 

You don't need every option at every price point and infinite flexibility (although with decreasing hardware costs and software invoked features we're headed in that direction), but you need a gracefully incremental growth path that anticipates what the market wants.  The winner will be the company that can best anticipate and execute. 

Overall, Rigol is doing a fine job but there is room for improvement, and the same with Agilent (especially with their approach to serial decoders and LA functionality limitations on the 2000) – just thresholds and walls that frustrate or annoy customers. 

It's like it's all sitting there for the first one of these two to see who really figures it out, Rigol or Agilent.  The longer each waits the more they lose some customers to the other (that's the nature of competition no doubt), but I think at the low low end (around $500 and under) and at the high low end (around $1k) and at the low middle (around $1500-$2k) Rigol is very likely taking share from Agilent.

So, while Rigol could improve a few things I think doing so might maybe enable them to run the table on Agilent in the lower realm of the market.  For Agilent they either have to abandon the lower realm or step up.  Agilent probably doesn't care about the lower realm as they are happy to live with the pro "commercial", "industrial", and "enterprise” markets.  Agilent's challenge might be that once Rigol firmly embeds itself at the lower realm Rigol will only getter hungrier to move upstream.

I think there is still a ton of opportunity to figure out how to better leverage the integration of traditional "electronics" and "digital" technology - both in terms of managing users’ digital signals (serial decoding, LAs, etc.) and in terms of how to use digital technology to better monitor, analyze, and manage with test equipment (such as what Rigol is doing with the control and programming features they are bringing to $400 power supplies vs. what you currently get from Agilent for 2x the price).

Without a doubt equipment operating precision and reliability and service and support are huge - especially in the pro markets but it will be a race to see if Rigol can figure this stuff out before Agilent figures out how to embrace the use of digital technology in way that brings more feature richness and better price performance.  Clearly, more competition is good for users (by the way, anyone hear anything new from Tektronix lately?  Sure would be nice if they came back to play at the level they once displayed.)  Just sayin'
« Last Edit: August 15, 2013, 03:51:42 am by Electro Fan »
 

Offline echen1024

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1660
  • Country: us
  • 15 yo Future EE
Re: Rigol DS1074Z inside Picture
« Reply #5 on: August 15, 2013, 05:27:42 am »
Tek has been REALLY disappointing in the low end lately. Their TDS and TBS series almost have laughable memories. 2.5k points? Are you kidding me? Their DPO2000 series aren't especially compelling either, and they refuse to lower their prices. A better price for Tek's 25MHz TBS1000 would be around $100, looking at the other products that the Chinese are making. Why must I pay over 1000 dollars for a DPO class scope, when I can go buy a perfectly good, 4 channel, Rigol DS1074Z for $600, and add on a whole bunch of goodies, like serial decode/triggering, waveform gen, etc. I miss the days when their 2247's and 2467's were trailblazing. And remember the TDS210/220? Those scopes practically invented the DSO market. Tek just isn't what it used to be. *sigh*
I'm not saying we should kill all stupid people. I'm just saying that we should remove all product safety labels and let natural selection do its work.

http://www.youtube.com/user/echen1024
 

Offline tinhead

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1801
  • Country: 00
    • If you like my hacks, send me a donation
Re: Rigol DS1074Z inside Picture
« Reply #6 on: August 15, 2013, 07:01:18 am »
Looks like Rigol have moved from AD Blackfin to Freescale i.MX. Interesting choice.

and when they made (properly) use of following features:

• 128 KBytes of integrated mask-programmable on-chip ROM
• 1280 bits of on-chip one-time-programmable (OCOTP) ROM
• Security features:
— Read-only unique ID for Digital Rights Management (DRM) algorithms
— Secure boot using 128-bit AES hardware decryption
— SHA-1 and SHA256 hashing hardware
— High assurance boot (HAB4)

then there will be no hack. But who knows, Rigol had already chance to make it better on other models and they didn't.


but they didn't ^^

Someone please "HACK" this scope

On the other PCB side there must be NAND i think, the Freescale i.MX is ARM9 based so maybe even Linux running.
There is JTAG connector, if you can made a dump of the NAND.

i see only 2 IC that been erased
one i recognize brand only == > ACTEL but the number was to blur
the second one (small chip) ==> HAD1512 PPS (can not sure)

the first one can be easily identified over JTAG, the second one (the 4ch ADC) is HMCAD1511 from Hittite.
« Last Edit: January 07, 2014, 01:05:13 am by tinhead »
I don't want to be human! I want to see gamma rays, I want to hear X-rays, and I want to smell dark matter ...
I want to reach out with something other than these prehensile paws and feel the solar wind of a supernova flowing over me.
 

Offline crt

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 54
  • Country: id
  • LLLLLLL-RGDSLLL-DSARLLL-LLLLLLL
Re: Rigol DS1074Z inside Picture
« Reply #7 on: August 15, 2013, 02:10:15 pm »
Is the power supply the same as the other Rigol instruments of this generation?

I did not see it in detail, but it looks like same as DS2000 series

then there will be no hack. But who knows, Rigol had already chance to make it better on other models and they didn't.

I'm pretty sure, one or more EEVBLOG member will crack them up  >:D
« Last Edit: August 15, 2013, 02:13:07 pm by crt »
 

Offline crt

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 54
  • Country: id
  • LLLLLLL-RGDSLLL-DSARLLL-LLLLLLL
Re: Rigol DS1074Z inside Picture
« Reply #8 on: August 16, 2013, 09:51:28 pm »
To see firmware version on DS2000 series, press
Menu7 Menu6 Menu7 Utility

I don't get it, which menu ? press menu 7 time, 6 time, 7 times again and then press utitlity button?
Sorry for DUMB question  :-[
 

Offline Carrington

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1188
  • Country: es
Re: Rigol DS1074Z inside Picture
« Reply #9 on: August 16, 2013, 10:12:36 pm »
To see firmware version on DS2000 series, press
Menu7 Menu6 Menu7 Utility

I don't get it, which menu ? press menu 7 time, 6 time, 7 times again and then press utitlity button?
Sorry for DUMB question  :-[

Is easy -> http://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/first-impressions-and-review-of-the-rigol-ds2072-ds2000-series-dso/msg158684/#msg158684
My English can be pretty bad, so suggestions are welcome. ;)
Space Weather.
Lightning & Thunderstorms in Real Time.
 

Offline crt

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 54
  • Country: id
  • LLLLLLL-RGDSLLL-DSARLLL-LLLLLLL
Re: Rigol DS1074Z inside Picture
« Reply #10 on: August 16, 2013, 10:43:50 pm »
Is easy -> http://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/first-impressions-and-review-of-the-rigol-ds2072-ds2000-series-dso/msg158684/#msg158684

Thank You very much

Before, I confused, where the Menu6 & Menu7 position  |O
I randomly push all the menu button + Utility quickly ==> nothing happened ==> turn it off ==> turn it on ==> all setting back to default (plus CHINESE LANGUANGE)  :-DD

Now, i get it
at DS1074Z ==> Only have one Menu at left side
Press Menu (left side) and then ulitity quickly ==> Go to system info ==> TADA




 

Offline alank2

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1919
Re: Rigol DS1074Z inside Picture
« Reply #11 on: August 28, 2013, 06:52:07 am »
When you had it apart did you see the IC responsible for amplifying the channels?  It might help to know if it is the type that allows you to set the bandwidth...
 

Offline cybernet

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 246
  • Country: 00
  • pm deactivated, use the search function ...
Re: Rigol DS1074Z inside Picture
« Reply #12 on: August 28, 2013, 08:50:28 am »
the 1000z should work with the same keygen as the ds2000 - its the same curve, and same private key thats used.
if somebody posts a trial key we could work out the option bits, but i assume its the same schema ..
___________________
"all rights reversed :-)"
R0=-0x18;
UNLINK;
RTS;
 

Offline crt

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 54
  • Country: id
  • LLLLLLL-RGDSLLL-DSARLLL-LLLLLLL
Re: Rigol DS1074Z inside Picture
« Reply #13 on: August 28, 2013, 10:45:29 am »
When you had it apart did you see the IC responsible for amplifying the channels?  It might help to know if it is the type that allows you to set the bandwidth...

At which position ?
Inside those shield can ? if yes i will try to open it

the 1000z should work with the same keygen as the ds2000 - its the same curve, and same private key thats used.
if somebody posts a trial key we could work out the option bits, but i assume its the same schema ..

Someone had already find test key, and it works  :-+
« Last Edit: August 28, 2013, 01:04:27 pm by crt »
 

Offline HarleyYan

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 6
Re: Rigol DS1074Z inside Picture
« Reply #14 on: August 28, 2013, 03:18:42 pm »

the 1000z should work with the same keygen as the ds2000 - its the same curve, and same private key thats used.
if somebody posts a trial key we could work out the option bits, but i assume its the same schema ..

Someone had already find test key, and it works  :-+

Where can I find the test key ?
Are you try it yourself ?
 

Offline crt

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 54
  • Country: id
  • LLLLLLL-RGDSLLL-DSARLLL-LLLLLLL
Re: Rigol DS1074Z inside Picture
« Reply #15 on: August 28, 2013, 10:05:28 pm »
Where can I find the test key ?
Are you try it yourself ?

Please see my personal text  :)
yes i had try it, and it work
 

Offline HarleyYan

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 6
Re: Rigol DS1074Z inside Picture
« Reply #16 on: August 28, 2013, 11:27:41 pm »

Please see my personal text  :)
yes i had try it, and it work

Thank you! It works for me ^-^

but, after reboot, the scope return to trial mode again :(
how about your scope after reboot?
 

Offline crt

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 54
  • Country: id
  • LLLLLLL-RGDSLLL-DSARLLL-LLLLLLL
Re: Rigol DS1074Z inside Picture
« Reply #17 on: August 28, 2013, 11:42:44 pm »
Thank you! It works for me ^-^

but, after reboot, the scope return to trial mode again :(
how about your scope after reboot?

Your patient will be rewarded
someone still getting through  >:D
 

Offline HarleyYan

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 6
Re: Rigol DS1074Z inside Picture
« Reply #18 on: August 29, 2013, 12:07:21 am »

Your patient will be rewarded
someone still getting through  >:D

Thanks for your reply, and waiting for that monent coming >:D

BTW, when i use "Storage" function to save CSV, it will failed if sample depth is more than 60Kpts, do you have same problem on your scope?(firmware ver: 00.10.00.SP10)
 

Offline crt

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 54
  • Country: id
  • LLLLLLL-RGDSLLL-DSARLLL-LLLLLLL
Re: Rigol DS1074Z inside Picture
« Reply #19 on: August 29, 2013, 01:01:14 am »
Thanks for your reply, and waiting for that monent coming >:D

BTW, when i use "Storage" function to save CSV, it will failed if sample depth is more than 60Kpts, do you have same problem on your scope?(firmware ver: 00.10.00.SP10)

with this parameter
Storage ==> CSV  //  DataSrc ==> Screen  //  Param ==> Off
I have try it at 240Kpts and 2.4Mpts, it can save normally at my USB Drive

I have same version off firmware as you have
 

Offline crt

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 54
  • Country: id
  • LLLLLLL-RGDSLLL-DSARLLL-LLLLLLL
Re: Rigol DS1074Z inside Picture
« Reply #20 on: August 29, 2013, 10:12:01 am »
Sneak peak with test key  >:D

 

Offline baljemmett

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 666
  • Country: gb
Re: Rigol DS1074Z inside Picture
« Reply #21 on: August 29, 2013, 11:32:18 am »
Wow, they finally managed to spell 'official' correctly!  ;)
 

Offline HarleyYan

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 6
Re: Rigol DS1074Z inside Picture
« Reply #22 on: August 29, 2013, 05:44:25 pm »
with this parameter
Storage ==> CSV  //  DataSrc ==> Screen  //  Param ==> Off
I have try it at 240Kpts and 2.4Mpts, it can save normally at my USB Drive

I have same version off firmware as you have

Could you try following parameter ?
Storage ==> CSV  //  DataSrc ==> MEM  //  Param ==> ON and sample depth > 60Kpts
 

Offline iloveelectronics

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 937
  • Country: hk
Re: Rigol DS1074Z inside Picture
« Reply #23 on: August 30, 2013, 04:11:16 pm »

Before, I confused, where the Menu6 & Menu7 position  |O
I randomly push all the menu button + Utility quickly ==> nothing happened ==> turn it off ==> turn it on ==> all setting back to default (plus CHINESE LANGUANGE)  :-DD

Now, i get it
at DS1074Z ==> Only have one Menu at left side
Press Menu (left side) and then ulitity quickly ==> Go to system info ==> TADA

How quick is quick? I tried it numerous times and still couldn't see that screen on my DS1104Z.

Do you need to be on the Trigger menu before you push “menu” on the left (the light blue one, correct?), or other menu/screen? And do you then push “system” and then “system info” to see it?

BTW, I just asked my supplier to send me the lastest “software” version and now it reads 00.01.00.SP10. Used to say SP5
« Last Edit: August 30, 2013, 04:13:00 pm by iloveelectronics »
My email address: franky @ 99centHobbies . com
My eBay store: http://stores.ebay.com/99centhobbies
 

Offline crt

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 54
  • Country: id
  • LLLLLLL-RGDSLLL-DSARLLL-LLLLLLL
Re: Rigol DS1074Z inside Picture
« Reply #24 on: August 30, 2013, 11:45:19 pm »
Could you try following parameter ?
Storage ==> CSV  //  DataSrc ==> MEM  //  Param ==> ON and sample depth > 60Kpts

Yep, same as you
its failed to save  :palm:

How quick is quick? I tried it numerous times and still couldn't see that screen on my DS1104Z.

Do you need to be on the Trigger menu before you push “menu” on the left (the light blue one, correct?), or other menu/screen? And do you then push “system” and then “system info” to see it?

BTW, I just asked my supplier to send me the lastest “software” version and now it reads 00.01.00.SP10. Used to say SP5

Yes, enter trigger menu ==> press light blue menu (near left display) ==> and press utility

Funny thing, right now i can not enter that mode too  :-//
i dont know, maybe because i upgrade my firmware form 03 to 10 ?
or because those trial key  :-//
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf