Author Topic: Rigol DS2072A vs DS2072A-S  (Read 2958 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline mrpackethead

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1397
  • Country: nz
Rigol DS2072A vs DS2072A-S
« on: October 25, 2015, 06:38:31 PM »
Is there any difference in the hardware of the 2072A vs the 2072A-s Version... It seems there is, but I was'tn 100% certain..   
 

Offline Roeland_R

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 45
  • Country: nl
Re: Rigol DS2072A vs DS2072A-S
« Reply #1 on: October 27, 2015, 08:24:26 AM »
From Rigol website:

The Rigol DS2072A is a multi-functional high performance digital oscilloscope. Standard features include - Sensitivity down to 500μV/div, record, replay & analysis functions, selectable 50Ω input impedance and 8" WVGA display with 256 grading levels. Furthermore, it possesses a variety of trigger functions, decoding functions, connectivity options, mathematical operations including FFT, automatic waveform measurement parameters with statistics, a pass / fail test and a built-in help system. A two channel 25MHz function / arbitrary waveform generator is included on '-S' models. The Rigol DS2072A is a versatile instrument that offers useful performance and features at a very competitive price.
 

Offline crispy_tofu

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1124
  • Country: au
Re: Rigol DS2072A vs DS2072A-S
« Reply #2 on: October 27, 2015, 09:47:28 AM »
I wonder if it's just a software-configurable feature...
 

Offline mrpackethead

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1397
  • Country: nz
Re: Rigol DS2072A vs DS2072A-S
« Reply #3 on: October 27, 2015, 06:31:36 PM »
I wonder if it's just a software-configurable feature...

like everything else in Rigol Land. One unit, with software features.

Does a 2072A have the output connectors on the back?
 

Offline donkey77

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 68
  • Country: gb
Re: Rigol DS2072A vs DS2072A-S
« Reply #4 on: October 27, 2015, 07:29:52 PM »
I've got the -s version. I don't think the standard version has the extra 2 BNC connectors on the back or the source button to the left of the jog dial.
 

Offline tec5c

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 406
  • Country: au
Re: Rigol DS2072A vs DS2072A-S
« Reply #5 on: October 27, 2015, 07:40:03 PM »
Isn't the only difference being that the '-S' model has a built in sig. gen.? Hence, same hardware...

 

Offline Ivan7enych

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 134
  • Country: ru
    • My astronomy projects
Re: Rigol DS2072A vs DS2072A-S
« Reply #6 on: October 27, 2015, 08:51:39 PM »
Check the teardown

There's no sig gen output connectors and obviously no sig gen board.
 

Offline crispy_tofu

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1124
  • Country: au
Re: Rigol DS2072A vs DS2072A-S
« Reply #7 on: October 27, 2015, 08:56:47 PM »
Not sure if there's any difference, but the one in the teardown is a DS2202 and not a DS2072...
 

Offline tec5c

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 406
  • Country: au
Re: Rigol DS2072A vs DS2072A-S
« Reply #8 on: October 27, 2015, 09:07:00 PM »
It's only a bandwidth difference. 200meg vs 70meg
 

Offline crispy_tofu

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1124
  • Country: au
Re: Rigol DS2072A vs DS2072A-S
« Reply #9 on: October 27, 2015, 09:13:59 PM »
It's only a bandwidth difference. 200meg vs 70meg
Okay, so that means that it's most likely software-enabled.
Which means that the DS2202 is the same as the DS2072
And the DS2202 doesn't have a signal analyser
Therefore, there is a difference in the hardware between the DS2072A and the DS2072A-S  :-+
 

Offline Ivan7enych

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 134
  • Country: ru
    • My astronomy projects
Re: Rigol DS2072A vs DS2072A-S
« Reply #10 on: October 27, 2015, 09:21:02 PM »
Not sure if there's any difference, but the one in the teardown is a DS2202 and not a DS2072...
DS2202 and DS2072 are hardware identical
DS2072A has 50om termination on inputs (small hardware change)

I think there's no software key to turn on signal gen or logic analyzer on DS2072A model, I think the firmware checks if hardware is present, and than uses it and shows additional menus.
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf