Author Topic: SDG2042X square wave 25 MHz wrong????  (Read 4446 times)

Offline conanderTopic starter

• Contributor
SDG2042X square wave 25 MHz wrong????
« on: August 05, 2016, 12:53:47 pm »
Hello all,
This is my first post. I am an electronics amateur entusiastic and recently I have bought the SDG2042X (40Mhz function generator) + SDS1202X (200Mhz osciloscope).
I saw the review in the youtube channel and I liked but. I wasn't aware of a few thinks regarding the Function generator.
The max, frecuency supposed to be 40 MHz. This is true..but only in sinewave. Not valid for triangle/square waves. Square waves only goes up to 25 MHz
Other strange thing is when I see the signal in my brand new 200Mhz (1Gsample) oscilloscope of the 25MHz square signal I see this.
The square signal is quite sloopy, no sharp edges....
Is that normal????
Thank you in advance.
Best regards.
« Last Edit: August 05, 2016, 12:55:57 pm by conander »

Offline wraper

• Supporter
Re: SDG2042X square wave 25 MHz wrong????
« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2016, 01:01:21 pm »
Max rated frequency is for sine only. Square wave won't be with perfect edges either. Also you need to use 50 ohm terminator, otherwise waveform will be distorted at higher frequencies because of the reflections in coax cable.

Offline Jwalling

• Supporter
  • This is work?
« Reply #2 on: August 05, 2016, 01:10:04 pm »
Have a look in the manual for the rise-time specification on the output. I suspect that's what you're seeing and it's normal.

Jay
Jay

System error. Strike any user to continue.

The following users thanked this post: Kilrah

Offline jpb

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: August 05, 2016, 07:40:38 pm »
Square waves are a sum of odd harmonics, so the next highest harmonic is the third harmonic.

If the frequency bandwidth for sine is 40MHz and you're looking at a 25MHz square wave then the third harmonic will be 75MHz and this will be attenuated by around