Author Topic: SDS 1104X-E I could use some help capturing DC  (Read 4626 times)

Offline slodatTopic starter

• Contributor
SDS 1104X-E I could use some help capturing DC
« on: March 30, 2019, 08:25:29 pm »
As the subject states, I need some help. I have a Siglent SDS 1104X-E. I’m needing to use it to capture a 0-3.3vdc output from a three servo drives. I’m new to this oscilloscope and it’s kicking my arse.

For the life of me I can’t get a nice, continuous rolling dc trace. Instead I get all of the minute noise that’s most likely being induced by the mains ac going to the servo drives.

I was thinking I would do a single shot when the signal is changing and then be able to change the time base and get a meaningful trace of what the signal did during that capture. I need to capture about 3-10 seconds. I have time bass at 500ms, hit single and it get this:

As I “zoom in”, it’s just noise.

Is there a way to filter out the ac and just show the dc?

Offline tautech

• Super Contributor
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. Siglent Distributor NZ.
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: SDS 1104X-E I could use some help capturing DC
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2019, 10:19:37 pm »
Is there a way to filter out the ac and just show the dc?
Sure.

First, where are your probes referenced to ?
Is it 0V on the servo drives ?
Is this point the same as mains Ground ie. the same as the BNC's on the scope ?

It really must be at the same potential in order not to create a ground loop and have potentially damaging currents pass through the probe reference (GND) leads and the scope.
Important ^

Above all ^ satisfied, let's just use a single channel to keep things simple.
Check probe attenuation switch and channel settings are both 10x.
Set this one channel to DC coupling and V/div to 1V. ( Ch3 in your pic is in Fine V/div mode....Select that channel and re-press the V/div button to return to Coarse V/div steps mode.)
20 MHz BW limit ON is OK for this job.