Author Topic: Can I use ESR meter on a big capacitor with a bleed resistor?  (Read 2673 times)

Offline MikeyFreshTopic starter

Hi all, I'm hoping you can help me with my ESR meter.

I'm a sunbed technician and recently bought an MESR-100 meter to compliment my DMM and diagnose capacitor issues. 

Will the ESR meter work correctly on a big cap that has a bleed resistor across the two terminals?

The cap is 50uF.  It says 400V 50/60Hz.  It operates at 240VAC.  See attachment below.

Thanks in advance for your help!

Mike

Re: Can I use ESR meter on a big capacitor with a bleed resistor?
« Reply #1 on: May 07, 2018, 09:59:22 pm »
Here's what the ESR measured.  It says the cap is ok, but that's also based on table for a 25V cap.  If anyone could explain the results that would be helpful!

Offline ogden

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: May 07, 2018, 10:04:15 pm »
Will the ESR meter work correctly on a big cap that has a bleed resistor across the two terminals?

Indeed it will work correctly. Bleeder resistors usually have high resistance, many, many orders of magnitude bigger than ESR, thus will not change measurement. Things will change with series resistor :)

Offline pigrew

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #3 on: May 07, 2018, 10:19:05 pm »
Based on a quick online search, it looks like the meter (not sure if the video I saw is version 1 or 2, it had a small label for the chart of good cap values) alternates applying a positive and negative current on the meter. It determines the ESR by looking at the voltage step as it switches polarity. The test signal is on the order of many kilohertz.  However, the frequency is variable, and inversely proportional to the capacitance.

My intuition is that if the measurement period is much shorter than the RC time constant of your capacitor in parallel with the bleeder resistor, the ESR will be accurate. I'd suggest playing with a spice simulation to confirm.
« Last Edit: May 07, 2018, 10:21:13 pm by pigrew »

Offline oldway