Author Topic: Siglent Technical Support join in EEVblog  (Read 239028 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline fluxcapacitor

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 345
  • Country: gb
Re: Siglent Technical Support join in EEVblog
« Reply #125 on: August 31, 2013, 11:23:07 pm »
I do not think it is very nice to make a assumption that we are pretending!

Actually, it is not very nice that you pretend with your websites that you are Atten/Siglent. Which you aren't. You are just a reseller.


Hi,

Once again we do not pretend , we are a official distributor and web-shop please check :
http://www.siglent.eu/about-siglenteu-store
Please stop making wrongful assumptions if you have any questions contact me at : http://www.siglent.eu/contacts/

Siglent.eu

Either you are stupid or you pretend to be stupid. Neither of these alternatives really encourages to patronize your business.

That website looks just like the typical scam in a computer security book.


http://www.eurid.eu/en/whois-search

http://nl109546096.fm.alibaba.com/contactinfo.html

http://myworld.ebay.com/j.rijnders/

http://www.whoismind.com/whois/scoob.net.html

http://www.scoob.net/index.php/about-scoob.net

http://translate.google.co.uk/translate?hl=en&sl=nl&u=http://nl.linkedin.com/pub/jonas-rijnders/39/3a1/a99&prev=/search%3Fq%3DJR%2BSpecial%2BElectronics%26client%3Dfirefox-a%26hs%3DjLS%26rls%3Dorg.mozilla:en-GB:official%26channel%3Drcs


« Last Edit: September 01, 2013, 12:17:25 am by fluxcapacitor »
 

Offline BeerCannon

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 45
  • Country: us
Re: Siglent Technical Support join in EEVblog
« Reply #126 on: September 01, 2013, 05:54:25 am »
ZBig,

Thanks for the vote of confidence for the Siglent scope.  I don't expect a stream of firmware updates if the unit is working properly at the current revision.   I also don't expect to turn it on one day and find that it won't boot (unless there's a hardware failure of some sort).  If the firmware is solid, I don't care if they ever update it.  But if there's a known issue, I'd rather buy from a company that will fix it instead of moving on to the next product line without correcting the existing product.  It sounds like Siglent is striving to be such a company.

I was really impressed with the unboxing/overview of the SDS1102CML in the video by ToolBoom.  I also realize that when you look online for criticism of a product, you mostly find the negative experiences, which may be few and far between in the real world.   That's why I figured I'd ask around in a forum such as this one, where I can get some balance.   I also talked to Al at Saelig.com and he had good things to say about the Siglent (as well as the Rigol). 

Thanks again for weighing in.. my anxiety about a potential 'scope purchase is beginning to subside!
 

Offline Siglent

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 170
  • Country: cn
  • SIGLENT
    • SIGLENT TECHNOLOGIES
Re: Siglent Technical Support join in EEVblog
« Reply #127 on: September 05, 2013, 01:29:16 pm »
Who knows what it is "Depth Recover" in the FACTORY submenu in SAVE/RECAL menu on a SIGLENT SDS 1102CML?
In the HELP menu there is nothing about it.

I'm not sure, but I guess it's like a reset to factory defaults but even more ;)

"Depth Recover" will remove the stored waveform, setup and  the mask setting of Pass/Fail function.
SIGLENT TECHNOLOGIES CO.,LTD
 

Offline Siglent

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 170
  • Country: cn
  • SIGLENT
    • SIGLENT TECHNOLOGIES
Re: Siglent Technical Support join in EEVblog
« Reply #128 on: September 05, 2013, 01:36:42 pm »
Siglent SPD3303, channel 1 is channel 2, vice versa? You confuse me.
Are there two different models? I am aware of the difference in resulution between D and S model, but did you change the channelorder between the two?
http://www.siglent.com/en/news/detail.aspx?id=100000040068753&nodecode=119002004
Take a look at "Timing Output Function by Panel" and "Real-time Waveform Display".
Kind regards

No, we didn't change the channel order between the CH1 and CH2.
The images of "Timing Output Function by Panel" is wrong. We will update the images as soon as possible.
SIGLENT TECHNOLOGIES CO.,LTD
 

Offline nixxon

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 278
  • Country: no
Re: Siglent Technical Support join in EEVblog
« Reply #129 on: September 06, 2013, 05:25:24 am »
Who knows what it is "Depth Recover" in the FACTORY submenu in SAVE/RECAL menu on a SIGLENT SDS 1102CML?
In the HELP menu there is nothing about it.

I'm not sure, but I guess it's like a reset to factory defaults but even more ;)

"Depth Recover" will remove the stored waveform, setup and  the mask setting of Pass/Fail function.

Nice to see that user 'Siglent' is online and posting again. Please keep posting your comments. It makes me feel Siglent cares about it's customers.
 

Offline israel

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 38
  • Country: es
Re: Siglent Technical Support join in EEVblog
« Reply #130 on: September 17, 2013, 03:13:04 am »
HI, I have a question for the support Siglent.

which is the latest hardware version of SDS1102CML oscilloscope ?

I am interested in purchasing one and I would like to know which is the latest version available

Regards,
 

Offline rf-loop

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2668
  • Country: fi
  • Starting with DLL21
Re: Siglent Technical Support join in EEVblog
« Reply #131 on: September 17, 2013, 06:39:02 am »
Not official answer but AFAIK latest I have seen arrived some time ago from factory:
HW 11-62-3.5
If practice and theory is not equal it tells that used application of theory  is wrong or the theory itself is wrong.
It is much easier to think an apple fall to the ground than to think that the earth and the apple will begin to move toward each other and collide.
 

Offline israel

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 38
  • Country: es
Re: Siglent Technical Support join in EEVblog
« Reply #132 on: September 17, 2013, 07:21:20 am »
Thank you very much rf-loop.
your answer is very useful for my  :-+



Best regards
 

Offline israel

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 38
  • Country: es
Re: Siglent Technical Support join in EEVblog
« Reply #133 on: September 19, 2013, 06:12:59 am »
HI, I finally bought a SDS1102CML in UK.  :D :D

someone could provide me with the latest firmware?

on the Siglent website is the 5.01.02.13. but I know there is a newer version not yet published.

Best regards
 

Offline hax

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 5
Re: Siglent Technical Support join in EEVblog
« Reply #134 on: December 08, 2013, 09:57:47 am »
Hello!

I am trying to measure Source-Drain voltage drop in switching DC-DC converter with Siglent SDS1072CML:


Source-Gate voltage drops down to -13V to open MOSFET fully:


I have a 750mA load connected.
Peak current across Drain-Source is about 1A ( measured on Rx resistor):



The Drain-source image looks like this:


The voltage drop across open MOSFET is 900mV!  The accuracy of oscilloscope is 0.2 * V/div, so there is +-100mV error range.

According to datasheet, voltage drop can not be more then 500mV:


And if calculated from RdsOn=0 .14Ohm, it should be about 140mV, which is far from 900mV displayed.

The strange behaviour of oscilloscope is that increasing V/div drifts Vmax and it eventually goes above zero to 1V with 10V/div!
I can accept it with 10V/div because error is 0.2 * V/div = 0.2*10 = 2V, but with 500 mV/div readings should be close to reality, otherwise it is impossible to find out whether I am correctly driving MOSFET.

I have latest firmware. I've been trying switching probe ( and oscilloscope settings ) to 1x/10x without improvement.

I took my old USB oscilloscope from the shelf, and it shows Drain-Source voltage drop <300mV and does not have that strange zero drift with V/div encrease:



How could I correctly measure Drain-Source drop with my Siglent?
 

Offline illyesgeza

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 41
Re: Siglent Technical Support join in EEVblog
« Reply #135 on: December 08, 2013, 07:13:23 pm »
use two channels measurement with substracion
 

Offline hax

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 5
Re: Siglent Technical Support join in EEVblog
« Reply #136 on: December 09, 2013, 06:41:22 am »
Unfortunatelly it does no work.

With 500mV/div I am able to set offset voltage to -36V and see voltage on source( CH2, blue) and on drain (CH1, yellow).

Drain voltage appears to be higher when source which is impossible:


And math does not show anything:


With 200mV/div maximum offset voltage is 1.6V so I can not use it.
 

Online tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 11961
  • Country: nz
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Siglent Technical Support join in EEVblog
« Reply #137 on: December 09, 2013, 07:03:17 am »
No offset required, use AC coupling, same reference(0V) both channels(only 1 needed) and 1 probe on source, 1 probe on drain.
Then use minus to show the difference between channels.
Avid Rabid Hobbyist & NZ Siglent Distributor
 

Offline Mark_O

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 937
  • Country: us
Re: Siglent Technical Support join in EEVblog
« Reply #138 on: December 09, 2013, 08:27:41 am »
4ADC + less interleave distortion due better ratio of clock jitter on non-dedicated FPGA clockout pins
                       vs. phase shit needs for 1GSs and amount of ADCs.

5ADC - more interleave distortion due worse ratio of clock jitter on non-dedicated FPGA clockout pins
                       vs. phase shit needs for 1GSs and amount of ADCs.

Ah, _shift_.  :)
 

Offline illyesgeza

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 41
Re: Siglent Technical Support join in EEVblog
« Reply #139 on: December 09, 2013, 07:37:22 pm »
I am not shure that you can set 36v offset on 500mV/div.
Probably that's the problem. You overdrive the input amplifier
 

Online tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 11961
  • Country: nz
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Siglent Technical Support join in EEVblog
« Reply #140 on: December 09, 2013, 07:59:44 pm »
I am not shure that you can set 36v offset on 500mV/div.
Probably that's the problem. You overdrive the input amplifier

You do not need offset.
Use AC coupling in each probe menu.
Avid Rabid Hobbyist & NZ Siglent Distributor
 

Offline hax

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 5
Re: Siglent Technical Support join in EEVblog
« Reply #141 on: December 09, 2013, 09:41:17 pm »
1) I think I can use +-40V offset on 500mV range:


2) I do not think I can use AC couping. With AC coupling channels have different offset voltage:


And math does not account for it. It substracts what is seen on screen, and it does not give me any usefull information:


Also original question is still actual. While specified accuracy is:


For offset=0,
500mV/div:
expected reading=140mV:

0.03*140 + 500*0.2 + 0.01*0 + 0.2*500 + 100 = +-304mV

and I see 900mV instead of expected 140mV +- 300mV.

(BTW now I realize that 0.2*V/div+100mV error is too high to sense 140mV even with 206mV/div).

I am affraid the only way to sense Source-Drain drop with 140mV - 36V swing is to use 1V resistor+zener to limit swing to 140mV - 1V. Then I will be able to sense at 100mV/div range.

Currently picture on 100mV/div looks like this ( DC Coupling):
 

Offline hax

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 5
Re: Siglent Technical Support join in EEVblog
« Reply #142 on: December 10, 2013, 05:38:59 am »
Ok, so I soldered 1n4148 and 1K resistor to limit forward voltage to ~0.7V:


and was able to measure voltage drop on MOSFET at 200,100,50 and 20mV/div:






It appears to be ~80mV which is very good.

So there is a practical way to measure voltages with large  swing. It is important to use diode with low capacitance.

But I am little dissapponted with oscilloscope accuracy which does not follow specification and appears to be lower then my old USB oscilloscope.
 

Offline rjeng

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
Re: Siglent Technical Support join in EEVblog
« Reply #143 on: December 22, 2013, 06:09:14 am »
Hi,

I recently purchased SDS1102CNL.  With the 1x scope probe attached to the build in 1khz reference signal, vertical setting at 200mV/div, the square wave looks distorted.  Turn the knob to 500mV/div, the square wave went back to normal.  The software version is 5.01.02.13 and the hardware version is 11-62-3.5

Is there a setting?  Firmware update?  Or the unit is possibly defective?

 

Online tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 11961
  • Country: nz
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Siglent Technical Support join in EEVblog
« Reply #144 on: December 22, 2013, 06:55:47 am »
Quote
Is there a setting?  Firmware update?  Or the unit is possibly defective?

You have the latest Firmware.  :)
It is normal for these entry level scopes to wrongly display the Calibration waveform with the wrong input settings. Many scopes wrongly display any waveform that as largely OFF the display.
Set correctly for 1 KHz and 3 V pp (1V/div) all will be OK.

Get into the habit of using ONLY 10x probe and scope settings and only use 1x when you need to.
« Last Edit: December 22, 2013, 07:01:16 am by tautech »
Avid Rabid Hobbyist & NZ Siglent Distributor
 

Offline hax

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 5
Re: Siglent Technical Support join in EEVblog
« Reply #145 on: December 22, 2013, 07:09:13 am »
Valid voltage range for 200mV/div is +-1.6V.

Reference is 0...3V.

Unfortunatelly all signals above range are displayed distorted, and no warnings are given.
 

Offline TheBay

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 634
  • Country: wales
Re: Siglent Technical Support join in EEVblog
« Reply #146 on: December 22, 2013, 01:48:45 pm »
I'm looking at the SDS1102CML, where is the best place to buy one in the UK, they are either grossly overpriced their RRP or from China and am concerned about import taxes and warranty.
 

Offline echen1024

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1660
  • Country: us
  • 15 yo Future EE
Re: Siglent Technical Support join in EEVblog
« Reply #147 on: December 22, 2013, 02:39:17 pm »
I'm looking at the SDS1102CML, where is the best place to buy one in the UK, they are either grossly overpriced their RRP or from China and am concerned about import taxes and warranty.
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/New-Siglent-SDS1102CML-Digital-Oscilloscope-100MHz-1GSa-s-Real-Time-Sample-Rate-/271222811453?pt=UK_BOI_Electrical_Test_Measurement_Equipment_ET&hash=item3f2623ab3d

I've bought from them before. They can usually give you a small discount if you ask.
I'm not saying we should kill all stupid people. I'm just saying that we should remove all product safety labels and let natural selection do its work.

http://www.youtube.com/user/echen1024
 

Offline TheBay

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 634
  • Country: wales
Re: Siglent Technical Support join in EEVblog
« Reply #148 on: December 22, 2013, 09:44:34 pm »
Can you try sending that seller a question as ebay won't let me, I think he may have blocked me? I only asked a few days ago whether his prices were incorrect as he had them for over £1200? As I was trying to buy one. Also Canton is China so customs tax...?


I'm looking at the SDS1102CML, where is the best place to buy one in the UK, they are either grossly overpriced their RRP or from China and am concerned about import taxes and warranty.
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/New-Siglent-SDS1102CML-Digital-Oscilloscope-100MHz-1GSa-s-Real-Time-Sample-Rate-/271222811453?pt=UK_BOI_Electrical_Test_Measurement_Equipment_ET&hash=item3f2623ab3d

I've bought from them before. They can usually give you a small discount if you ask.
 

Offline Farrari

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 11
  • Country: us
Re: Siglent Technical Support join in EEVblog
« Reply #149 on: December 23, 2013, 02:19:45 pm »
Quote
Is there a setting?  Firmware update?  Or the unit is possibly defective?

You have the latest Firmware.  :)
It is normal for these entry level scopes to wrongly display the Calibration waveform with the wrong input settings. Many scopes wrongly display any waveform that as largely OFF the display.
Set correctly for 1 KHz and 3 V pp (1V/div) all will be OK.

Get into the habit of using ONLY 10x probe and scope settings and only use 1x when you need to.

Sorry, but my Owan SDS7102E  is Just the opposite.
With the 1x scope probe attached to the build in 1khz, 5Vpp reference signal, vertical setting at           100mV/div, the wave should not be dispalyed full scale. howerver, it is good but valid when adjusting   the vertical position.
While with 10x scope probe, it seems like what Siglent SDS1102CNL shows.
« Last Edit: December 23, 2013, 02:34:26 pm by Farrari »
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf