Author Topic: Siglent's new product- SDS2000X Series  (Read 26324 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Online nctnico

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 15415
  • Country: nl
    • NCT Developments
Re: Siglent's new product- SDS2000X Series
« Reply #100 on: August 01, 2016, 07:50:01 am »
The latest manual suggest the SDS2kX supports 7 and 10 bit but the manual is older than the latest FW, so I'd need to check a unit to be sure.............. :popcorn:

Edit
Only 7 or 10 bit with current FW 38.7
I'm 99.99% sure you mean 7,8,9 or 10 bit.

edit: added Tautech's text quote
« Last Edit: August 01, 2016, 06:00:00 pm by nctnico »
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.
 

Offline Wuerstchenhund

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Banned!
  • Posts: 2766
  • Country: gb
  • Occasionally active on the forum, available via PM
Re: Siglent's new product- SDS2000X Series
« Reply #101 on: August 01, 2016, 05:55:45 pm »
Regarding the Serial Decode option. Does the Rigol DS2000A support 9-bit serial data?

Note that LeCroy does support this:
http://teledynelecroy.com/options/productseries.aspx?mseries=261&groupid=88

Actually its up to 16bit for data (the 9bit thing is a specific mode).

Quote
So if Wuerstchenhund reads this, he is going to be a happy man! :)

Why? Because some upper mid-range and high-end scopes support that (FYI: the cheapest scope that supports that option, the WaveSurfer 10, starts at $10k)? :palm:

But now you got me all excited waiting to hear from you how that is relevant for a thread discussing a <$1700 Siglent entry-level scope  ;)
Brexit n - The undefined being negotiated by the unprepared in order to get the unspecified for the uninformed.
 

Offline tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 13238
  • Country: nz
  • NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Siglent's new product- SDS2000X Series
« Reply #102 on: August 19, 2016, 02:57:10 am »
For the inbuilt AWG in this series of DSOs, new EasyWave software:
http://www.siglentamerica.com/USA_website_2014/Firmware&Software/Software/EasyWave_V100R001B01D01P34.rar

Note this is NOT FW, it is PC software for remote management of the AWG over LAN or USB


UI screenshot

Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 

Offline tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 13238
  • Country: nz
  • NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Siglent's new product- SDS2000X Series
« Reply #103 on: November 24, 2016, 05:04:19 am »
New FW for SDS2000X DSO's
http://www.siglentamerica.com/gjjrj-xq.aspx?id=4991&tid=15

~3 Mb

Changelog
1. Optimized the FFT
  a) The maximum number of FFT points was increased from 1.4k to 16k
  b) Flattop window was added
  c) The UI was optimized
2. Optimized the hardware frequency counter. The precision at low frequency was improved
3. Optimized the Autoset function
4. Optimized the efficiency on the LAN port
5. Fixed some bugs
  a) The abnormal display of digital channels in some cases
  b) The IIC decoded results don’t follow the zoom change
  c) AC/HFR trigger broken
  d) UART decoding broken in previous 1.2.2.x version
  e) …

Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 

Offline tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 13238
  • Country: nz
  • NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Siglent's new product- SDS2000X Series
« Reply #104 on: May 14, 2017, 12:39:53 pm »
New firmware for the 2000X series that also now offers long awaited Power Analysis functionality (Option)
Trial times come enabled for PA = 30

Version: V1.2.2.2
http://siglentamerica.com/gjjrj-xq.aspx?id=5334&tid=15
~3 Mb

Changelog
1. Released the Power Analysis option
2. Fixed several bugs in serial decode


Note.
There is another freshly released version for the SDS2000 series also fixing and enabling the PA option.
« Last Edit: May 14, 2017, 08:01:40 pm by tautech »
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 

Offline lichao

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 7
  • Country: us
Re: Siglent's new product- SDS2000X Series
« Reply #105 on: May 14, 2017, 01:09:31 pm »
when will it be available to purchase in US?
 

Offline tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 13238
  • Country: nz
  • NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Siglent's new product- SDS2000X Series
« Reply #106 on: May 14, 2017, 01:43:40 pm »
when will it be available to purchase in US?
AFAICT immediately but I have no pricing at this time.
The PA option comes pre-installed and just an option code need be purchased to activate it.
This new FW only enables the PA option to been seen now in the Options UI.
Contact supplier for pricing and, pay and you will receive a code to enter online along with scope SN# and scope ID# to get the option activation code to enter in your scope. There is a new hidden Siglent webpage for pre-purchased option enablement. The link should be provided after purchase.
I have it somewhere.........not found quickly.

It has been changed to this method rather than sending the supplier the scope info in an effort to reduce/eliminate error.

Excuse the ke_board errors. Fixed.  :)
« Last Edit: May 14, 2017, 02:10:14 pm by tautech »
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 

Online JPortici

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2310
  • Country: it
Re: Siglent's new product- SDS2000X Series
« Reply #107 on: May 14, 2017, 04:33:10 pm »
About time!

is there an updated manual with the PA too?
I recall rf-loop writing that you'd need special probes inserted (or at least a current probe) to activate the function.. what if i have my current sense amplifier and i wanted to use only voltage probes instead?
 

Offline tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 13238
  • Country: nz
  • NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Siglent's new product- SDS2000X Series
« Reply #108 on: May 14, 2017, 06:38:52 pm »
About time!

is there an updated manual with the PA too?
Not that I can see online or in my records.
In some short while we would expect new units shipped to have the PA option available for use in the Options trial time period. EDIT Upon updating with latest 2.2 FW 30 Trial times for use of PA option are activated.
So all current 2000X series owners can have free 30 test drives with the PA option.  :)

I have it enabled in my SDS2304X (special test mode  ;) ) so I'll grab some screenshots of the UI.

PA is accessed in the Utilities menu, P2.
The main UI:



One item is unshown in the above PA Analysis menu: Efficiency

From the Power Quality sub menu shown above these further options are available:



Each selection from the Analysis type menu creates different lists and types of analysis options to perform.

Quote
I recall rf-loop writing that you'd need special probes inserted (or at least a current probe) to activate the function.. what if i have my current sense amplifier and i wanted to use only voltage probes instead?
Not to activate it but for the comprehensive suite of measurements to provide accurate data.
One of the adjustments that must be made prior to using it is nulling the propagation delays between the voltage and current probes. (Deskew probes) Current probes need be an accurate and characterised for the PA analysis suite to give quality data.
Siglent offer this accessory for accurate calibration and deskew of current probes.
http://siglentamerica.com/prodcut-fjxx.aspx?fjid=1311&id=1488&tid=1&T=2

Connection is available on the PCB for the voltage probe to get the same pulse as through the current loop to allow nulling of the propagation delay with the Deskew adjustment provided in the 2000X.


 
« Last Edit: May 14, 2017, 07:21:53 pm by tautech »
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 

Offline tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 13238
  • Country: nz
  • NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Siglent's new product- SDS2000X Series
« Reply #109 on: May 14, 2017, 08:19:09 pm »
Is there an updated manual with the PA too?
Attached is old 2014 (SDS2000) version listing some functionality and screenshots. (Word doc)
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 

Offline tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 13238
  • Country: nz
  • NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Siglent's new product- SDS2000X Series
« Reply #110 on: November 24, 2017, 08:25:45 am »
New firmware for SDS2000X models.

Version 1.2.2.2R10
3 Mb

http://siglentamerica.com/gjjrj-xq.aspx?id=6493&tid=15

Changelog
1. Optimized the self-calibration for better offset accuracy. Note: Self-calibration must be executed after upgrading to this version. Please be sure the scope has been working continuously for at least 30 minutes before performing the self-calibration.
2. Fixed several bugs
a) Intermittent inaccuracies in measurements collected during Roll mode.
b) Max hold would not clear correctly in FFT
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 
The following users thanked this post: Tsippaduida

Offline Tsippaduida

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 12
  • Country: fi
Re: Siglent's new product- SDS2000X Series
« Reply #111 on: December 02, 2017, 08:14:52 am »
Thanks for the heads up. Updated mine 2104X, letting it warm up before self cal.
 

Offline Ryl

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 20
  • Country: be
Re: Siglent's new product- SDS2000X Series
« Reply #112 on: January 04, 2018, 09:37:15 pm »

This scope is quite interesting.
So far, it is the only one I found which can provide all of the following for 2k bucks (including the purchase of the extensions/licenses):
- 4 channels,
- 200 MHz bandwidth,
- 2 GSa/s,
- 16-channel logic analyzer,
- function generator,
- 140Mpts memory and 140k waveforms/s.

However, 2k bucks is still a huge investment and a "toy" is not worth getting at that price.
From what I see, the first firmwares in the SDS2000 (not X) used to be pure crap.
But that's already from a long time ago.
I see that the latest firmware for this SDS2000X was released on November 21st 2017, which is fairly recent.
Can someone provide a clear summary of the good's and bad's of this firmware (or a very recent one) on the SDS2000X?
Is the scope usable and reliable?
If not, are there any reliable alternatives with the functionalities above?

Thanks
 

Offline tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 13238
  • Country: nz
  • NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Siglent's new product- SDS2000X Series
« Reply #113 on: January 04, 2018, 09:56:08 pm »
There a lot of historical info on the evolution of the V2 firmware that these 2000X models came released with:
http://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/siglent-sds2000-new-v2-firmware/
When Performa01 joins the thread at reply #41 he dives deeply into the UI and runs many tests and shows examples of things that were lacking but have now been improved.

This UI has been further developed in 1000X and especially the new X-E models but essentially they operate in exactly the same manner. Of the Siglent range at this time the 2000X series is the flagship model that offers the most functionality.
I have had zero problems with the 2000X units I've sold and the 2304 and 2304X models I have owned for personal and demo usage.
There are few members here that have these 2000X models that might take the time to share their experiences with you.
« Last Edit: January 04, 2018, 10:03:17 pm by tautech »
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 

Online nctnico

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 15415
  • Country: nl
    • NCT Developments
Re: Siglent's new product- SDS2000X Series
« Reply #114 on: January 05, 2018, 04:21:26 am »

This scope is quite interesting.
So far, it is the only one I found which can provide all of the following for 2k bucks (including the purchase of the extensions/licenses):
- 4 channels,
- 200 MHz bandwidth,
- 2 GSa/s,
- 16-channel logic analyzer,
- function generator,
- 140Mpts memory and 140k waveforms/s.
If not, are there any reliable alternatives with the functionalities above?
GW Instek MSO2204EA. Lower samplerate (but still enough for 200MHz) and less memory but OTOH longer FFT, input filtering, dual channel function generator, free math equations and a faster hardware platform.
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.
 

Offline Ryl

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 20
  • Country: be
Re: Siglent's new product- SDS2000X Series
« Reply #115 on: January 05, 2018, 04:50:39 am »
Thanks to both of you for your replies. :)
nctnico, the MSO2204EA also seems like a good alternative!
However, I cannot find this specific model anywhere in Europe (only one seller in the USA).
Where have you found this?
The closest I could find is the MSO-2204E (without the 'A') at Distrelec, 2150Eur TVAC (but it does not contain the arbitrary waveform generators).
 

Online nctnico

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 15415
  • Country: nl
    • NCT Developments
Re: Siglent's new product- SDS2000X Series
« Reply #116 on: January 05, 2018, 04:57:11 am »
Thanks to both of you for your replies. :)
nctnico, the MSO2204EA also seems like a good alternative!
However, I cannot find this specific model anywhere in Europe (only one seller in the USA).
Where have you found this?
The closest I could find is the MSO-2204E (without the 'A') at Distrelec, 2150Eur TVAC (but it does not contain the arbitrary waveform generators).
You can try Eleshop.nl. The MOS-2204EA is not on their website but they can order it for you. A while ago I got a quotation from them for this model when I asked for it.
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.
 

Offline tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 13238
  • Country: nz
  • NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Siglent's new product- SDS2000X Series
« Reply #117 on: January 05, 2018, 05:16:48 am »
Thanks to both of you for your replies. :)
nctnico, the MSO2204EA also seems like a good alternative!
However, I cannot find this specific model anywhere in Europe (only one seller in the USA).
Where have you found this?
The closest I could find is the MSO-2204E (without the 'A') at Distrelec, 2150Eur TVAC (but it does not contain the arbitrary waveform generators).
You might want to do some more homework on these as it appears the Decoding isn't yet fully functional.
http://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/gw-instek-gds2204e-(200mhz-4-channel-dso)-review/msg1380777/#msg1380777
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 

Online nctnico

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 15415
  • Country: nl
    • NCT Developments
Re: Siglent's new product- SDS2000X Series
« Reply #118 on: January 05, 2018, 05:24:01 am »
Thanks to both of you for your replies. :)
nctnico, the MSO2204EA also seems like a good alternative!
However, I cannot find this specific model anywhere in Europe (only one seller in the USA).
Where have you found this?
The closest I could find is the MSO-2204E (without the 'A') at Distrelec, 2150Eur TVAC (but it does not contain the arbitrary waveform generators).
You might want to do some more homework on these as it appears the Decoding isn't yet fully functional.
http://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/gw-instek-gds2204e-(200mhz-4-channel-dso)-review/msg1380777/#msg1380777
Decoding works just fine on the GW Instek scopes (and all of the memory is decoded!) but it needs to be adjusted to allow for lower oversampling rates. But you already knew that.
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.
 

Offline tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 13238
  • Country: nz
  • NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Siglent's new product- SDS2000X Series
« Reply #119 on: September 21, 2018, 06:30:15 pm »
New firmware for SDS2000X scopes.

Version 1.2.2.2R15
3.15 MB
https://www.siglentamerica.com/download/7203/

Changelog
1. Fixed several bugs
a) Incorrect FFT amplitude with 10X probe setting (2017/12/12-162177)
b) Incorrect SPI decode at high data rate (analog channel > 20Mbps, digital channel >10Mbps). (2018/06/20-1126184)
c) Baud rate setting error in UART decode (2018/06/20-1126184)
d) Data error in saved .CSV file with some setting (2018/04/25-112716)
« Last Edit: September 21, 2018, 07:13:16 pm by tautech »
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 
The following users thanked this post: kado

Offline markus_jlrb

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 75
  • Country: de
Re: Siglent's new product- SDS2000X Series
« Reply #120 on: September 22, 2018, 10:57:48 pm »
FYI,

I had yesterday update my scope SDS2204X with the new FW
announced by tautech. Update was so far succesful - have not
tested the functionality of the scome in more details yet.
But after update and I started the calibration routine.
The duration of calibration last longer then 3h!.
Could someone confirm such observation.

When running cal routine with old FW (have done it three times
since getting the scope) the duration was less then ten minutes.

Every segment of the progress bar last more the 15 minutes in
time.

Any ideas?   

Markus
 

Online Hydrawerk

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2332
  • Country: 00
Re: Siglent's new product- SDS2000X Series
« Reply #121 on: September 23, 2018, 03:57:27 am »
 :palm:
Amazing machines. http://www.youtube.com/user/denha (It is not me...)
 

Offline tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 13238
  • Country: nz
  • NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Siglent's new product- SDS2000X Series
« Reply #122 on: September 23, 2018, 06:58:31 am »
FYI,

I had yesterday update my scope SDS2204X with the new FW
announced by tautech. Update was so far succesful - have not
tested the functionality of the scome in more details yet.
But after update and I started the calibration routine.
The duration of calibration last longer then 3h!.
Could someone confirm such observation.

When running cal routine with old FW (have done it three times
since getting the scope) the duration was less then ten minutes.

Every segment of the progress bar last more the 15 minutes in
time.

Any ideas?   

Markus
:-//
Stock standard factory SDS2304X = 3 minutes, 10s.
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 

Offline markus_jlrb

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 75
  • Country: de
Re: Siglent's new product- SDS2000X Series
« Reply #123 on: September 23, 2018, 07:56:17 pm »
Thanks for verification tautech.

I had reflashed the fw back to the previous version.
Did calibration (lasting just few minutes as observed by you)

Flashing again the new fw and run calibration again.
This time the screen was active every 6% step of the
progress bar and the colored horizontal lines (levels)
appears for every channel up to the end of calibration.

This was not the case when I did calibration as mentioned
after first fw update tow days ago.

Now all seams to work properly.

Thanks for the effort in testing.

Hope this experience is helpful for someone in the same
situation. Don't waste the time and exit the calibration
process when running to long with the run/stop button in the
top right corner and restart it again or even reflash the fw
again.

Markus 
 

Offline bugi

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 162
  • Country: fi
  • Hobbyist using the ultra slow and unsure method
Re: Siglent's new product- SDS2000X Series
« Reply #124 on: October 12, 2018, 05:11:56 am »
My scope updated just nice with the latest version, including the self-calibration afterwards. The calibration result was so far the best; earlier the offsets and gains were clearly "about there", now "almost or exactly there". Could be just lucky case this time. (I didn't assume that scopes would be precision instruments anyway, except on timing.)

--

In general, some questions/comments/things I've been collecting (for way too long)...

Is the scope supposed to remember all previous settings after reboot?  It seems to mostly do so (i.e. most settings and most of the time), but randomly some settings are "randomized". So far I have noticed occasional randomizations on at least trigger type and various trigger parameters (like levels), and wavegen's waveform. Wavegen's freq has twice now been 750Hz after reboot (when I left it at 1kHz). These happen seemingly on almost every reboot, not every parameter, but at least one on each reboot. It might depend on how much of things I changed during the operation, and uncertainty on if I can remember what the setting was before reboot (e.g. did I really leave the trigger level at some value that makes no sense with what I was measuring). One thing happens I guess always: if I have overridden channel probe factor(s) (i.e. not using auto-detect), after a reboot those settings seem to always reset to auto-detect. Bugs? Undocumented features?

Would be nice (at least for me) if a menu selection that uses the adjustment knob would keep that knob active the same way as menu (numeric) value adjustments do. That is, value adjustments seem to not "time out" the knob (one can wait a minute and still adjust the value), but selections time out quite quickly.  At least I use the default action of intensity (or whatever) adjustment pretty much never, but I am constantly making a selection change, looking at the view for a moment, and try to select another choice... only to end up tweaking the intensity instead :P  However, this would then benefit from some way to deselect the current menu item (return the knob back to intensity adjust) without causing changes in the selection. The current way of clicking the menu button first to select/activate it, then to step through the values makes it not possible to have another push for deselect. (I have more to say about this, but I need to check / massage the ideas a bit more first...)

On wavegen, when selecting an arbitrary waveform that has not been loaded (e.g. accidentally turning the knob the wrong way), the wavegen gets otherwise disabled, but the waveform selection stays active. The latter is good, the former is not. Once the selection is adjusted back to something that works (say, sine wave), the wavegen is still kept disabled, and it has to be manually turned back on. IMHO, it should just stay (logically) on (even if not driving anything), so that when a working waveform is selected again, it will automatically start also driving again etc., as if that visit to the "bad" waveform never happened.

10:1 probe, normal modes (default stuff), trigger at normal (and 0V), probe shorted, 10mV/div, showing about 10mV of noise (as expected). Adjusting position of the channel moves the offset pointer/trigger line smoothly (like 1 pixel at a time, 0.20mV per step), but the shown signal does NOT move up/down at all (it is still updating the data otherwise as expected), until about 11/12th step, when it jumps to the new height on the display. However, if trigger is set to single, showing the one span of noise, that signal view does move smoothly with the position adjustment. I would have expected that normal mode view to move smoothly with the position adjustment, too. Sure, it is mostly noise, but e.g. the average level of the "signal" could be looked at, but with that effect it is not always shown correctly. Explanations? Bug?
(EDIT: for easier and clearer version of this: http://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/siglent_s-new-product-sds2000x-series/msg1891271/#msg1891271)

I did manage to get the scope into a state where showed wavegen's sine output with pretty darn horrible stepped view (like 4 bit ADC/DAC or something). Adjusting things on the wavegen side seemed to solve this (after another short glitch with stuck waveform type), so I guess it was some sort of temporary glitch, and I was not able to get it like that again. Attached a screenshot for giggling (normally it would look a nice smooth curve)... (EDIT: and ignore that filename "16bit-", brainfart on mixing 16 levels and 4 bits.)

--

Referring to the earlier comment of mine about the really crappy adjustment knob behavior ("acceleration" effect):
The behavior ("acceleration") has indeed improved a lot. It still has some minor issues left, e.g. adjusting to lower value seems to happen (in certain value ranges) faster than to higher value. But when it still makes an unexpected fast/large change, the change isn't that drastic, and it is a matter of a second or two to get back on track, instead of the old version's exercise in frustration. At least I didn't bump into old style of behavior during the short testing I made, which included some cases I had specifically made notes of for repeating/testing.

My other earlier comment about some minor trigger problems.. I could not find my notes about those (perhaps I wrote them to the paper related to the project at hand, instead of the notes about the scope), so, will have to return to this triggering topic when/if I either find the notes or bump to the issues again.
« Last Edit: October 15, 2018, 09:25:47 pm by bugi »
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf