Author Topic: Signal Generator on MSO2202A  (Read 708 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline whalphen

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 46
  • Country: us
Signal Generator on MSO2202A
« on: July 26, 2016, 10:41:28 PM »
I've narrowed my selection of a scope to the Rigol MSO2202A or the MSO2202A-S.  The -S model has the signal source.  I'm still trying to decide if the -S is worth the extra cost.  Can anyone tell me if the signal generator can provide sweep output?
 

Offline whalphen

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 46
  • Country: us
Re: Signal Generator on MSO2202A
« Reply #1 on: August 04, 2016, 01:09:11 AM »
I've done some more investigation on this question.  It appears that the signal source can be setup to sweep frequencies by using the FM option and setting the deviation to cover the range of interest.
 

Offline nugglix

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 165
  • Country: de
Re: Signal Generator on MSO2202A
« Reply #2 on: August 05, 2016, 01:20:52 AM »
Hi!

As a MSO2102A-S owner I can't recommend the -S option.
Onyl if you really need everything in one device or have extremely limited space
this option would make sense.

The poor man's sweep is possible, but the usefulness depends on what frequencies
you want to work. The usability isn't the best too. The manual can't show that in
detail, but if you need to change values often it's starts to become a pain.

Save the money and a little more and get a real 2 channel sig-gen.
You'll probably buy it anyway in the future (I did).


Cheers
  Guido
 
The following users thanked this post: whalphen

Offline CustomEngineerer

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 346
  • Country: us
Re: Signal Generator on MSO2202A
« Reply #3 on: August 05, 2016, 08:40:53 AM »
As a DS2072A-S owner, I completely agree with everything nugglix said. I ended up getting a real generator less than a year after getting the scope because I was tired of having to keep switching between controlling the scope or the builtin generator. Even one of the cheap FeelTech signal generators would be better than using the built one.

Edit: The only times I would recommend getting the builtin generator is if you don't have the space on your bench for a separate generator, or you need an all-in-one instrument to take onsite somewhere else.
« Last Edit: August 05, 2016, 08:44:37 AM by CustomEngineerer »
 
The following users thanked this post: whalphen


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf