Author Topic: Sniffing the Rigol's internal I2C bus  (Read 1355123 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline marmad

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2986
  • Country: aq
    • DaysAlive
Re: Sniffing the Rigol's internal I2C bus
« Reply #350 on: July 07, 2013, 03:43:34 AM »
Having said that, I understand where you came from. I guess there isn’t much I can do on this front to give you absolute proof that my problems are genuine.

I’ll be happy to send you a PM with a photo of my DS2072, my face and my credit card with the number deleted. This should show you (and the other people on the forum that may have doubts) that I don’t have any hidden agenda. Please let me know if you want me to do it.

No credit card or photos needed ;D  But I sent you a PM.  :)
 

Offline 5V

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 17
Re: Sniffing the Rigol's internal I2C bus
« Reply #351 on: July 07, 2013, 03:47:22 AM »
Hello,

perhaps 5V got a real DS2202 with wrong DS2072 sticker

Best Regards
egonotto

 :-DD
 

Offline doma

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 11
  • Country: 00
Re: Sniffing the Rigol's internal I2C bus
« Reply #352 on: July 07, 2013, 05:37:57 AM »
(...) Can you please post a screen image of your full system info (with your serial number blacked out, if you wish)? (...)


5V got MCU 00.05 - I have 02.12. Maybe that makes a difference. SPU, WPU, CCU are the same.

I don't know if I can uninstall DS2202 - and just I don't want to try it unless I have to ;)

Doma
 

Offline egonotto

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 109
Re: Sniffing the Rigol's internal I2C bus
« Reply #353 on: July 07, 2013, 06:01:32 AM »
Hello,

my DS2072 has also MCU 00.05 and I can switch between DS2202 and DS2072

Best Regards
egonotto
 

Offline hl

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
  • Country: at
Re: Sniffing the Rigol's internal I2C bus
« Reply #354 on: July 07, 2013, 08:25:02 AM »
Hello,

perhaps 5V got a real DS2202 with wrong DS2072 sticker

Best Regards
egonotto

Looks like I need that sticker, too. My DS2072 also completely transformed into a DS2202. I found also no way to get back.
 

Offline alank2

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1725
Re: Sniffing the Rigol's internal I2C bus
« Reply #355 on: July 07, 2013, 08:26:42 AM »
I found also no way to get back.

Did you try uninstalling the key as others have mentioned above?
 

Offline hl

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
  • Country: at
Re: Sniffing the Rigol's internal I2C bus
« Reply #356 on: July 07, 2013, 08:37:58 AM »
I found also no way to get back.

Did you try uninstalling the key as others have mentioned above?

I tried all combinations incl. double self-cal, downgrade to earlier fw, trial code, uninstall and everything mentioned here in this thread on every downloadable fw. Of course in the correct order. No way. The only thing that happened once ... the model number was suddenly DS2022 (no, no typo) and both bandwidth options were gone. But I never got back to the real model number.
 

Offline orbiter

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 614
  • Country: gb
  • -0 Resistance is Futile
Re: Sniffing the Rigol's internal I2C bus
« Reply #357 on: July 07, 2013, 09:01:20 AM »
Hey guys,

In your scope options.... 

Following the DSA9 serial number input, and the scope showing up as a DS2202. Do you guys still have the 200MHz option still
showing?, or does that disappear once the scope is 'upgraded' as it is effectively a DS2202?

The reason I ask is that I have no options showing at all, however I do still have the 2ns/div timebase and the scope model as a DS2202.

Cheers   
 

Offline 5V

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 17
Re: Sniffing the Rigol's internal I2C bus
« Reply #358 on: July 07, 2013, 09:42:37 PM »
It gets weirder... this morning I switched on the scope and all the trial times were back. I didn’t do anything (serials, tests, calibration…) beforehand. I simply took it out of the case and I switched it on.  :o

The 100MHz and the 200MHz options are not there but I guess it makes sense as the scope believes it is a DS2202.

Utility/System Info still shows “Model: DS2202”, I can set horizontal scale to 2nsec/div and BW limit to 20MHz or 70MHz.

(...) Following the DSA9 serial number input, and the scope showing up as a DS2202. Do you guys still have the 200MHz option still showing?, or does that disappear once the scope is 'upgraded' as it is effectively a DS2202?

The reason I ask is that I have no options showing at all, however I do still have the 2ns/div timebase and the scope model as a DS2202. (...)

This is what I had yesterday. No options: the Options/Utility/Installed was greyed out.

I tried all combinations incl. double self-cal, downgrade to earlier fw, trial code, uninstall and everything mentioned here in this thread on every downloadable fw. Of course in the correct order. No way. The only thing that happened once ... the model number was suddenly DS2022 (no, no typo) and both bandwidth options were gone. But I never got back to the real model number.

So now we have two people saying they can't get back to DS2072 ???

It looks like it. At least 2 people can't go back to DS2072. Although after this morning my situation is slightly different as I got my trial times back.
 

Offline 5V

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 17
Re: Sniffing the Rigol's internal I2C bus
« Reply #359 on: July 07, 2013, 11:53:59 PM »
@ 5v, Strange that you are showing 70MHz in BW options, once mine shows up as a DS2202 the BW options are 20 & 100MHz.

Sorry - typo. I can't check the scope right now but I think BW are indeed 20 & 100Mhz.
 

Offline doma

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 11
  • Country: 00
Re: Sniffing the Rigol's internal I2C bus
« Reply #360 on: July 08, 2013, 02:18:11 AM »
I believe the key is in what cybernet is doing. Identifying the subs involved in the mechanism and finding out what and how they do using what information. Until that we're pretty much in the dark :)

 A tough job if you need to fix a screw-up but can be a good challenge for fun. :)
 

Offline poida_pie

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 119
  • Country: au
Re: Sniffing the Rigol's internal I2C bus
« Reply #361 on: July 08, 2013, 11:44:41 AM »
I recently used the 2072 trials down to about 1200 minutes. f/w is 03
No self cals have been done since I purchased the unit until...
Then, while it was impersonating a 200 Mhz 2202 only (via one of the service mode keys) I chose to self cal.
After self cal
- no trials any more
- retains model 2202 name but without 200 Mhz bandwidth after a reboot
- still responds to VSAx and DSAx  service mode keys
So I thought, no worries, I'll just send the key needed via USB from now on.
So I have sent various DSAx codes, I like DSA8 since all I want is memory and procol decode.

This morning I started up the 2072 and it retained the trial time limits. No need to re-enter the codes for a while!

So, for those who can't be arsed to read the above I'll say it again:
My trial time was 1200 minutes, self cal killed them. f/w 03
On my 2072 I have re-enabled some of the trials (non-volatile, i.e. retained over power cycles)
by using the DSAx and VSAx codes only. 
Time left on trials now 1800 minutes.
All via USB. No elements of the "special procedure" were employed.



 

Offline orbiter

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 614
  • Country: gb
  • -0 Resistance is Futile
Re: Sniffing the Rigol's internal I2C bus
« Reply #362 on: July 08, 2013, 10:30:42 PM »
Another confirmation of being unable to revert to model DS2072.

Tried ALL combinations as mentioned by Wim & other users. No Go... My scope is fixed as a DS2202. Now that in itself is not a bad thing although
on initial boot my scope screen shows up like this :wtf:






If I reboot it a second time it boots and works just fine.
« Last Edit: July 19, 2013, 09:36:47 PM by orbiter »
 

Offline marmad

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2986
  • Country: aq
    • DaysAlive
Re: Sniffing the Rigol's internal I2C bus
« Reply #363 on: July 08, 2013, 10:57:59 PM »
Another confirmation of being unable to revert to model DS2072.

Tried ALL combinations as mentioned by Wim & other users. No Go... My scope is fixed as a DS2202. Now that in itself is not a bad thing although
on cold boot my scope screen shows up like this :wtf:

Did you buy your Rigol through Telonic in the UK?
 

Offline orbiter

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 614
  • Country: gb
  • -0 Resistance is Futile
Re: Sniffing the Rigol's internal I2C bus
« Reply #364 on: July 08, 2013, 10:59:12 PM »
Another confirmation of being unable to revert to model DS2072.

Tried ALL combinations as mentioned by Wim & other users. No Go... My scope is fixed as a DS2202. Now that in itself is not a bad thing although
on cold boot my scope screen shows up like this :wtf:

Did you buy your Rigol through Telonic in the UK?

No mate.. Batronix.

A good few months ago too.
 

Offline Marc M.

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 124
  • Country: us
Re: Sniffing the Rigol's internal I2C bus
« Reply #365 on: July 08, 2013, 11:16:05 PM »
Another confirmation of being unable to revert to model DS2072...
I just received my 2072 on Friday the 5th from TEquipment.  FW was 05, updated to 02.  I just tried uninstalling the service options via Ultra Sigma and had no issues.  Model switched back to DS2072.  My Serial is: DS2A151200xxx
Don't replace the cap, just empty the filter!
 

Offline orbiter

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 614
  • Country: gb
  • -0 Resistance is Futile
Re: Sniffing the Rigol's internal I2C bus
« Reply #366 on: July 09, 2013, 12:12:29 AM »
Another confirmation of being unable to revert to model DS2072...
I just received my 2072 on Friday the 5th from TEquipment.  FW was 05, updated to 02.  I just tried uninstalling the service options via Ultra Sigma and had no issues.  Model switched back to DS2072.  My Serial is: DS2A151200xxx

This does seem strange... I'm using the correct procedure (below) to switch back using Ultra Sigma v00.01.05.01. Yet nowt happens as regards getting 2702 to show up again.

Connect DSO via USB; boot the DSO; start Ultra Sigma; open SCPI Control Panel; type (or copy and paste) the following:

:SYSTem:OPTion:INSTall XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX  (the code)

then, if you want to get rid of it, immediately enter (without reboot):

:SYSTem:OPTion:UNINSTall


I'm able to install options, uninstall options & change firmwares about how I like between versions (05) (03) (02) even tried simple things like turning
boot configuration option on the scope from 'LAST' to 'DEFAULT' etc. Still no luck.
« Last Edit: July 09, 2013, 12:21:48 AM by orbiter »
 

Offline orbiter

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 614
  • Country: gb
  • -0 Resistance is Futile
Re: Sniffing the Rigol's internal I2C bus
« Reply #367 on: July 09, 2013, 12:17:16 AM »
Quote
So you can now get back to DS2072 orbiter?

No.
 

Offline orbiter

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 614
  • Country: gb
  • -0 Resistance is Futile
 

Offline adcajo

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
Re: Sniffing the Rigol's internal I2C bus
« Reply #369 on: July 09, 2013, 07:18:17 PM »
Yes - the only key I used is the VSA9 with the behaviour according to alank2 description above (incl "trial"-message). It turned into a DS2202 and it sticks to this model label, regardless power on/off or uninstall options.
 

Offline orbiter

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 614
  • Country: gb
  • -0 Resistance is Futile
Re: Sniffing the Rigol's internal I2C bus
« Reply #370 on: July 09, 2013, 07:25:22 PM »
For you guys who can't return to a DS2072, can you load the VSA9 key successfully?  Do you get a screen message about "trial" or something when you load it?  But yet it stays as DS2202?

Yes Alan. All commands confirmed on the scope, inc trials, options installed & uninstalled etc

I can install/uninstall anything at all regarding the trials/options etc. However the scope will not revert back to a DS2072.
 

Offline marmad

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2986
  • Country: aq
    • DaysAlive
Re: Sniffing the Rigol's internal I2C bus
« Reply #371 on: July 09, 2013, 08:05:20 PM »
I can install/uninstall anything at all regarding the trials/options etc. However the scope will not revert back to a DS2072.

There is one other thing that might work for those whose model numbers are stuck on a higher number. You want to force the DSO to use the backup copy of the model data by exploiting the firmware upgrade bug.

They only thing is that I'm not sure when that bug was fixed - it definitely existed in FW.00.01.00.02 - but I'm not sure if it was repaired in FW.00.01.00.05 or FW.01.00.00.03. Unfortunately, there aren't any copies of FW.00.01.00.02 floating around (that I'm aware of), but you can give it a try using FW.00.01.00.05 (I think it still exists in that):

1) Downgrade to FW.00.01.00.05
2) Boot the DSO
3) While running the DSO normally, insert a USB stick with FW.01.00.00.03 on it.
4) When you see the message, "A newer firmware detected, update?" press 'OK".
5) a) If the update works normally - then the firmware upgrade bug does not exist in FW.00.01.00.05 - and this method won't work.
    b) If the update process freezes about 60% of the way - then the bug has happened. Continue to next step.
6) Turn off the DSO, then upgrade it using the boot-loader process (the 'Help' button method). The backup copy of model data will be duplicated and used.
7) Boot up and check model number.
« Last Edit: July 09, 2013, 08:21:37 PM by marmad »
 

Offline orbiter

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 614
  • Country: gb
  • -0 Resistance is Futile
Re: Sniffing the Rigol's internal I2C bus
« Reply #372 on: July 09, 2013, 08:34:17 PM »
Hi marmad...

When you say 'the back-up copy will be duplicated and used' (Step 6) what do you mean?

Once the scope is booted and the 'help' button pressed.. What next as regards FW?.. Do you mean just re-install FW01.01.00.02 or press
a sequence of buttons to reload some saved FW etc?

Thanks mate
« Last Edit: July 09, 2013, 08:46:29 PM by orbiter »
 

Offline marmad

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2986
  • Country: aq
    • DaysAlive
Re: Sniffing the Rigol's internal I2C bus
« Reply #373 on: July 09, 2013, 08:47:43 PM »
When you say 'the back-up copy will be loaded' what do you mean?

There are two copies of all the model data (model number, calibration data, etc): the working copy and the backup copy. I can't say for certain whether the model number has been changed in both copies (for those of you who can't get it back), but in any case, this method, if successful, will restore the backup copy.

Quote
Once the scope is booted and the 'help' button pressed.. What next as regards FW?.. Do you mean just re-install FW01.01.00.02 or press a sequence of buttons to reload some saved FW?

Re-install any FW - if you have gotten to this step (i.e. invoked the firmware upgrade bug by causing it to freeze while upgrading) you can use any version of the FW (00.01.00.05, 01.00.00.03, or 01.01.00.02) because the DSO should automatically use the backup copy of model data while upgrading:

The boot loader upgrade method:
1) Use two hands when booting up - one thumb on the 'Power On' switch - one thumb on the 'Help' button. When you press 'Power On', all of the scope LEDs will light for ONE SECOND - during that brief period, you must PRESS AND LET GO of the 'Help' button. It can be a little tricky, but when it works, bootup will stop before the Rigol logo with the 'SINGLE' button lit (if it doesn't, turn off power and try again until you get it).
2) Then insert the USB stick with whatever FW file you want to use on it. The CH1 LED will start to flash as the DSO loads the file.
3) Once updating is finished, several of the LEDs will light up - and all flashing, etc. will stop.
4) Remove the USB stick and reboot, and check your model number.
« Last Edit: July 09, 2013, 08:53:57 PM by marmad »
 

Offline orbiter

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 614
  • Country: gb
  • -0 Resistance is Futile
Re: Sniffing the Rigol's internal I2C bus
« Reply #374 on: July 09, 2013, 08:52:13 PM »
Hi marmad...

Tried the procedures in sequence as you mentioned....

FW initially downgraded to FW.00.01.00.05

Rebooted and flashed again (USB method) with FW.00.01.00.03, this completed fully and the scope rebooted automatically. Still
as a DS2202.

Re-installed FW 01.01.00.02 on re-boot (help button method)   

Scope is still a DS2202.
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf