Author Topic: Cheap DDS boards - any good ones?  (Read 4035 times)

Offline smjcukTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
Cheap DDS boards - any good ones?
« on: April 15, 2015, 06:39:05 am »
Are there any half respectable ones out there? Need something that will kick out a clean sine wave across the 100KHz-5MHz range. I've been bodging one off oscillators for a few months which is somewhat tedious. Don't really care if there is an output stage; I can build one :)

I've noticed a couple of designs ranging from a resistor ladder DAC off an AVR to an AD DDS IC so it looks like a minefield hence the request.

Offline tggzzz

• Super Contributor
  • Numbers, not adjectives
    • Having fun doing more, with less
Re: Cheap DDS boards - any good ones?
« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2015, 09:18:35 am »
Consider something like http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/1x-DDS-Function-Signal-Generator-AD9851-0-50MHz-DDS-signal-source-DDS-Module-/151254816780 It is essentially intended as a means of generating an accurate square wave clock, but which also gives a sine output 1Hz->50MHz.

The design is straight from the AD data sheet, and is essentially: 180MHz DDS clock, DAC -> 70MHz 7th Order LPF, and the LPF -> 50ohm output and comparator input. The comparator only works to ~5MHz. I found the comparator introduced glitches, so I disconnected the comparator's input from the LPF output.

I have no idea whether that would consititute a "clean" sine wave for your purposes.
There are lies, damned lies, statistics - and ADC/DAC specs.
Glider pilot's aphorism: "there is no substitute for span". Retort: "There is a substitute: skill+imagination. But you can buy span".
Having fun doing more, with less

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #2 on: April 15, 2015, 09:41:22 am »
Thanks - that looks like what I need. Plus it's only £25 so not the end of the world if it's a turd :)