Author Topic: Tektronix 2225 vs TAS 220, which one to keep?  (Read 11445 times)

Offline tmammelaTopic starter

• Contributor
Tektronix 2225 vs TAS 220, which one to keep?
« on: October 17, 2013, 05:39:25 pm »
So, today I made some really good deals. My school wanted to get rid of some stuff so I bought Tek 2225, TAS 220, 10x Tek probe and a Philips PM 5131 signal generator for 30€ total! I did some testing and both seem to work, only problem I found is that in 2225 the single sweep doesn't work OR I don't know how to use it. Every other feature works and after some time turning the knobs, they seemed to clean themselves as I don't get any distortion from changing the settings anymore.

Now, I don't need two analog scopes so one of them is going to leave soon, I already made a deal to sell one but I have few days to decide which one I'll give. So which one is better? I already have some idea of the differences but I'm a noob really so I would appreciate other opinions.   :scared:

Time for an image, both have identical settings:

Offline Nermash

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Tektronix 2225 vs TAS 220, which one to keep?
« Reply #1 on: October 17, 2013, 05:48:44 pm »
I would keep the 2225 and sell the tas...

Offline madshaman

• Frequent Contributor
  • ego trans insani
« Reply #2 on: October 17, 2013, 06:18:25 pm »
I find I like the user interface on the TAS series the worst of all tech scopes.

I have a TAS 485, and although it is a beautiful scope, I don't use it as much because I don't like the UI.  I found setting cursors to be annoying for my hand in particular, but your milage may very.  I think Tektronix could have done a better marriage of modern digital control and an analog scope.

I'd second keeping the 2225, it's beautiful and elegant and I reckon that you'll have an easier time maintaining it.

Just my two cents.
To be responsible, but never to let fear stop the imagination.

Offline edavid

• Super Contributor