Author Topic: Tektronix 2465 as main scope  (Read 9664 times)

Offline Tom314159Topic starter

Tektronix 2465 as main scope
« on: August 12, 2016, 12:59:03 am »
Hello all, first post here,

I'm a little new to electronics and I had started looking for an oscilloscope some weeks ago. Then, to my delight, I  found an old Tektronix 2465 300MHz scope in a dumpster :-+; I was wondering how it compares to newer digital scopes. It's in near perfect condition and the calibration, while probably not up to spec, is good enough for me! I don't have that much to spend, and if the TEK is good, I'd rather spend my money on something else like a good function generator. Could I use it as my main scope? If so, what are the drawbacks of it? Thanks in advance.

Tom

Offline Hydrawerk

• Super Contributor
Re: Tektronix 2465 as main scope
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2016, 01:21:53 am »
It is a very nice Tek scope. Once upon a time it must have been quite expensive.
In general analog scopes have very few automatic measurements (or none) and they have no singleshot and waveform storage feature.
Amazing machines. https://www.youtube.com/user/denha (It is not me...)

Offline Electro Fan

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: August 12, 2016, 05:22:11 am »
It is a very nice Tek scope. Once upon a time it must have been quite expensive.
In general analog scopes have very few automatic measurements (or none) and they have no singleshot and waveform storage feature.

+1 for Hydrawerk's comments