Author Topic: Triggering at lower levels - mushy trace and loss of triggering  (Read 2247 times)

Offline trysTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
  • I started with the AC128
    • Trystan's Workbench
Triggering at lower levels - mushy trace and loss of triggering
« on: October 30, 2017, 08:01:24 pm »
Hiya all,

I'm new to EEVblog forum and new to a Rigol DS1054Z. It's my first DSO, apart from a DSO Nano that I have.

I'm having difficulties understanding what is normal, and what could possibly be a fault.

Here is the scenario.

At low signal levels, in this example about 20mV pp, frequency 1 KHz I'm not getting triggering on the Rigol. I just get a mush of two different waves flashing about back and forth, with what appears to be lots of noise. In using edge detect triggering, and irrespective of the trigger level I set. I've attached the image below, but it's just a snapshot so doesn't show the image darting left and right.

I've also hooked up my DSO Nano handheld scope to the same signal at the same time, and I get a triggered waveform, and I can see distortion in the wave, and I can read it well. I've attached the image below.

So, please bear in mind my inexperience with this, why is it I can't get a decent plot on the Rigol?

My initial thinking is that the higher bandwidth of the Rigol is showing the noise that the DSO Nano just doesn't see, and as a result it doesn't know to trigger off the main signal?

On a similar issue, I'm getting loss of triggering if (say) I probe a square wave and I reduce the V/div scale without changing the trigger level. I don't see why the trigger is affected by the vertical scale if it not just looking for the trigger voltage set?

I'm thinking that I'm fundamentally not understanding triggering or something. 

Trys

Edited to add: Just found Dave's video on trigger holdoff - I'm thinking it along those lines?? https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=1&v=ta096oBzSac
« Last Edit: October 30, 2017, 08:04:21 pm by trys »