Author Topic: Uni-T UT171B Teardown (Updated)  (Read 36623 times)

Offline MaxlorTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
Uni-T UT171B Teardown (Updated)
« on: January 29, 2015, 02:08:35 pm »
Let's have a look at the Uni-T UT171B, one of Uni-T's new high end models: .

First things first: let's take it apart! Btw, I'm an amateur, not an expert, so forgive me if I don't notice everything, or get some things wrong. Helpful pointers are always welcome.
  • The soldering of the through hole components is a bit uneven. There's the one extreme, way too much solder (see that large solder ball directly above the COM hole) on one of the pins holding the 10A fuse, and in some other places (below COM and V holes) the solder doesn't even fully cover the exposed copper. But it's not a problem, the connections are solid.
  • No idea what that chip is, it doesn't have an manufacturer logo on it.
  • Note the LEDs/photosensors around the A and mA jacks, they're for warning you if the leads are plugged into the wrong jacks.

• The main processor is an EFM32 Cortex-M3, the display processor is separate (and again, contains no manufacturer markings.)
  • The measurement section has its own shield, in addition to the shielding in the case. Nice! Slightly disappointing: one of the shield's tabs isn't soldered down.
  • The white 2-pin connector is for the lipo battery. The PCB also contains two unused pads for a battery connection, which are probably meant for the UT171A.
  • The input protection, which is discussed curiously often here, seeing how it's an electronics and not an HVAC forum, seems solid. The meter claims 600V Cat IV, and since it claims being ETL listed*, I believe it.