Author Topic: Which "precision" multimeter?  (Read 8887 times)

Offline MavroTopic starter

• Contributor
Which "precision" multimeter?
« on: December 30, 2013, 02:24:58 am »
I've been using my trusty Fluke 77 multimeter for 10 years now and I need something more precision to test power supply rails for certification of our product.   I need a True RMS multimeter as accurate as my price range (up to $1100) -- it looks like the Fluke 289 is a nice option given it provides a handheld form factor, RMS and 50,000 counts -- the data logging is a plus, but not really needed because most other multimeters have the ability to connect a PC to do data logging.

So the open question to the forum -- which "precision" multimeter, bench or handheld would you highly recommend to someone in my price range?

Thanks!

Offline Fsck

• Super Contributor
  • sleep deprived
Re: Which "precision" multimeter?
« Reply #1 on: December 30, 2013, 02:26:28 am »
agilent 34461a fits that price range. dave even has a review and a teardown of it.
"This is a one line proof...if we start sufficiently far to the left."

Offline don.r

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #2 on: December 30, 2013, 02:27:30 am »
LOL! I was about to post the same thing (and from a fellow canuck as well, sheesh!). It looks like the very beast you need.

Offline free_electron

• Super Contributor
    • SiliconValleyGarage
« Reply #3 on: December 30, 2013, 02:27:52 am »
Forget fluke. Agilent 34410 or 34411 or a 34460
Professional Electron Wrangler.
Any comments, or points of view expressed, are my own and not endorsed , induced or compensated by my employer(s).

Offline EEVblog

• Administrator
    • EEVblog
« Reply #4 on: December 30, 2013, 03:03:01 am »
At that price range, yeah, that's bench meter territory, and hard to beat the Agilent 34461A
The built in stats features are cool.
Like getting this noise histogram of my uCurrent.
No PC needed.

• Contributor
« Reply #5 on: December 30, 2013, 04:20:22 am »