Author Topic: Best thermal/ir camera (dev kit) for embedded linux board?  (Read 8441 times)

Offline want2cthermalTopic starter

Best thermal/ir camera (dev kit) for embedded linux board?
« on: December 02, 2016, 02:24:20 pm »
Hey guys,

I'm looking for a thermal camera to hook up to an embedded linux board (raspberry, beaglebone, etc).

I found the FLiR dev kit which connects over spi to linux boards, but it's resolution is only 80x60. I've been reading as many posts as I can, admittedly not all since many threads are well over 100+ pages, but I see there is some firmware flash to get the flir to a better resolution? Would that work for this? - https://www.sparkfun.com/products/13233

I'm also considering the Seek thermal cameras, which appear to have USB connectors and have SDK's that come with them so I can start coding out of the box. Are there any Seek cameras which have codes in C or C++ & work with ARM embedded boards?

So shortly said, I'm a C coder (but I can live w/C++ too) and I want to connect it to any embedded linux board, but need something w/working sample codes as I won't be able to write a driver from scratch for that.

The application is to monitor wildlife at out animal refuge. I saw youtube videos that the higher resolution flir e4 can easily see 150+ meters with zoom. That's what I'd really like to get!

Do these thermal cameras normally come with a /dev/camera interface on linux like other cameras do? I'd really like to use it with opencv.

What would your commendation be? My post is kind of all over the place, sorry about that, just looking for some guidance really.

Thanks

Offline tomas123

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Best thermal/ir camera (dev kit) for embedded linux board?
« Reply #1 on: December 02, 2016, 03:07:24 pm »
there are some raspberry pi projects in this forum

Flir One 160x120
load the site:
Code: [Select]
http://192.168.1.70

Flir Ex 320x240