Poll

Has the hackabiliy of the E4 made you buy one :  

Yes, I was already looking at the competition at a similar price, but the hack swung it to E4
226 (25.9%)
Yes, I'd not considered buying a TIC before, but 320x240 resolution at this price justifies it (as either tool or toy!)
413 (47.3%)
Yes, I was going to buy an E5/6/8 class of unit but will now get the E4
40 (4.6%)
No, but am looking out for a cheap i3 to hack
39 (4.5%)
Not yet, but probably will if now that a closed-box hack becomes is possible
155 (17.8%)

Total Members Voted: 748

Author Topic: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown  (Read 2372112 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline JSJFIN

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 2
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #2475 on: December 20, 2013, 02:43:42 am »
Second camera:

Ordered 12 December 2013 from tester.co.uk received today.

Calibration 25 November 2013
Firmware 1.19.8

Hacking worked like a charm, thanks all who participated in the hack development!
 

Offline john19

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 17
  • Country: se
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #2476 on: December 20, 2013, 06:15:41 am »
Here is the excel sheet I made for calculating new calibration parameters, if anyone wants to play around with it. (Sorry for using commercial software.)
 

Offline gabriel.klein

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 9
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #2477 on: December 20, 2013, 06:25:58 am »
Just bought one.
Model E4 1.1
Software 1.19.8
The hack is still working.

But I have issue with RNDIS on windows 8.1.

Do you know a way to make it work on Linux?

Answer for Linux (Work like a charms...):
With a static IP of 192.168.250.1 the camera was happy at 192.168.250.2, and would talk telnet/ftp/http.
login flir/3vlig
« Last Edit: December 20, 2013, 09:08:19 am by gabriel.klein »
 

Offline nacke

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 18
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #2478 on: December 20, 2013, 07:26:15 am »
Here is the excel sheet I made for calculating new calibration parameters, if anyone wants to play around with it. (Sorry for using commercial software.)

Great, I have to take at look at it. Thank you for the effort
 

Offline pomonabill221

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 250
  • Country: us
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #2479 on: December 20, 2013, 08:24:25 am »
The LCD is protected behind a glass or high-strength composite shield.

I'm not going to go through the hassle of returning the entire unit unless the issue gets worse, nor will I open it up to massage the panel. I did consider that, but the protective cover got in the way. Complaining about it makes me feel a little better though. =)

Mike provided a "remove hacks" firmware option in the download, so it should be possible to restore it factory-fresh.
More like "factory crippled"!  :palm:
Hope you get your problem resolved!
 

Offline tomas123

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 832
  • Country: de
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #2480 on: December 20, 2013, 08:34:07 am »
Here is the excel sheet I made for calculating new calibration parameters, if anyone wants to play around with it.
thanks, a nice proof of my reversed engineered formulas

Offline daves

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 103
  • Country: cz
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #2481 on: December 20, 2013, 09:51:38 am »
I rewrote Tomas123's flir.php for batch process and added some more functions. I will post new versions only here, as update.
You can find original Tomas123 flir.php here: http://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/flir-e4-thermal-imaging-camera-teardown/msg342072/#msg342072

WINDOWS VERSION GUI  (No need PHP)

DOWNLOAD ----> http://test.daves.cz/wrapper/wrapper.zip (about 12MB - it contains utils)



YOUTUBE VIDEO :

Now there is also editor - under hard development of course :)


This is prerelease version for testing ! Let me know bugs and suggestions. Its under development.
It can do thermal fusion with thermal opacity:



It can do nice reports and yet better Picture in Picture (full IR inside of full Real - not like Flir tools!):


There is also support for interiors


DOWNLOAD ----> http://test.daves.cz/wrapper/wrapper.zip (about 12MB - it contains utils)



You can use run it also as PHP script by hand (located in UTILS directory)

What is new from original scritp ? You can use wildcards to make it batch:
Code: [Select]
>php flir.php -i FLIR00??.jpg --msx --pip
You can use some directories, like
Code: [Select]
>php flir.php -i ./in/FLIR00??.jpg -o ./out --msx --pip
Tshift shifts temperature (just numbers) and resize can interpolate output image.
Code: [Select]
>php flir.php -i FLIR0049.jpg --resize 200% --pip --msx --tshift 5
You can assing photos to GPS location via GPX file, LOGO support, new palette calculation
Code: [Select]
>php flir.php -i inputdir/FLIR0???.jpg -o outpurdir --gpx ../gpsdir/gpsfile.gpx --gshift +15 --msx --pip --rmin 10500 --logo sometextMy E4 did some huge time deviation (2 minutes in 1 hour), after freeze and reboot it returned to normal. Anyway, was very hard to remap to correct position. Seems deviation was not linear, it made gaps between some photos. Maybe time is software computed, only on reboot synched with RTC.

You can generate html REPORT, viewable in your internet browser, can be saved as PDF...
--report must be together with --pip and --msx otherwise images will be mising
Code: [Select]
>php flir.php -i ../in/FLIR016?.jpg -o ../out --msx --pip --report
« Last Edit: March 15, 2014, 12:34:00 am by daves »
Batch Thermal Images Editor (JPG, BMT, SNP, IRI, ISI, IS2, PGM, TIF, IMG, BMP):  http://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/flir-e4-thermal-imaging-camera-teardown/msg350556/#msg350556
 
The following users thanked this post: Alex13

Offline flu5

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #2482 on: December 20, 2013, 10:01:45 am »
Where can one find the latest and greatest .zip file for the image resolution enhancement?

Thank you.
 

Online mikeselectricstuff

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 11077
  • Country: gb
    • Mike's Electric Stuff
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #2483 on: December 20, 2013, 10:06:09 am »
Where can one find the latest and greatest .zip file for the image resolution enhancement?

Thank you.
Link to most current stuff is maintained at start of thread
Youtube channel:Taking wierd stuff apart. Very apart.
Mike's Electric Stuff: High voltage, vintage electronics etc.
Day Job: Mostly LEDs
 

Offline gabriel.klein

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 9
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #2484 on: December 20, 2013, 11:30:54 am »
Hi,

I have the feeling that we can make the JPG image bigger (320x200 is quite small). Without extra resolution but with more interpolation.

These commands (terminal) might help
rls image
rls image.services.store
rset ...

Any idea of how to configure it?
 

Offline CesarEscudero

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 88
  • Country: 00
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #2485 on: December 20, 2013, 11:59:02 am »
Anybody else using FLIR Tools for Mac? I can't connect to my camera after the Menu hack, on windows works fine.

It is always listed as "Flir Ex-series" regardless of USB mode
 

Offline mrflibble

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1878
  • Country: nl
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #2486 on: December 20, 2013, 01:00:10 pm »
I can't connect to my camera after the Menu hack, on windows works fine.
By which you mean to say "On Mac I cannot connect to my camera before the menu hack either"?
 

Offline CesarEscudero

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 88
  • Country: 00
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #2487 on: December 20, 2013, 02:40:17 pm »
mmm not really, sorry I don't know if I made a language mistake on that statement.

I mean that before the menu hack I was able to establish a connection between FLIR tools and my E4+, after the hack I can't.
On the other hand on Windows I have no problem, and is listed as "Flir USB video"

The question is, someone else is facing the same problem?
 

jlr134

  • Guest
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #2488 on: December 20, 2013, 04:17:24 pm »

I looked at the Flir E4 manual and it refers the user to the CD for specs  :o A bit odd I thought. The E4 brochure is even more evasive on the topic. It states an accuracy of  +-2% and a temp range of -20C to +250C  with no caveats. Naughty.
The marketing boys have had a lot of input to the documentation me thinks !

Flir had a Thermal Imaging webinar today sponsored by EC&M.  I posted a question regarding this matter "specs being misleading'.... Of course they ignored the question.
« Last Edit: December 20, 2013, 05:02:52 pm by jlr134 »
 

Offline daves

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 103
  • Country: cz
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #2489 on: December 20, 2013, 05:53:59 pm »
The question is, someone else is facing the same problem?

Did you play with new USB menu ? Need to set first option, otherwise you can not connect as mass storage.
Batch Thermal Images Editor (JPG, BMT, SNP, IRI, ISI, IS2, PGM, TIF, IMG, BMP):  http://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/flir-e4-thermal-imaging-camera-teardown/msg350556/#msg350556
 

Offline Taucher

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 456
  • Country: de
  • 1DsaYDGWXEYhEKL rfrbFyYsehaAtfBWawf
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #2490 on: December 20, 2013, 08:04:42 pm »
The question is, someone else is facing the same problem?

Did you play with new USB menu ? Need to set first option, otherwise you can not connect as mass storage.
I agree - most likely still set to one of the "other" USB modes - bad setting, only relation to menu hack is that the USB mode got changed (by the owner) to apply the hack - guess why "advanced" users recommendation :)
(I know my scale for "advanced" is set pretty low here  ::))

Offline mjl

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
  • Country: nl
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #2491 on: December 20, 2013, 09:56:49 pm »
mmm not really, sorry I don't know if I made a language mistake on that statement.

I mean that before the menu hack I was able to establish a connection between FLIR tools and my E4+, after the hack I can't.
On the other hand on Windows I have no problem, and is listed as "Flir USB video"

The question is, someone else is facing the same problem?
Yes, me. I only recently (i.e. post-hack) tried using FLIR tools on my mac and it doesn't see my E4+ (on my work Windows laptop it works fine).

BTW: it shows up as a mass storage device in Finder so I can get at the images that way, but not in FLIR tools.
« Last Edit: December 20, 2013, 09:59:24 pm by mjl »
 

Offline tomas123

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 832
  • Country: de
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #2492 on: December 20, 2013, 10:47:45 pm »
I rewrote flir.php for batch process. Dirty quick night job, so I did not tested it too much. Working for me under windows.
Code: [Select]
>php flir.php -i FLIR006?.jpg --msx --pip

my php doesn't accept the pathinfo function
Code: [Select]
>php -v
PHP 5.3.24 (cli) (built: Apr 10 2013 18:32:42)
Copyright (c) 1997-2013 The PHP Group
Zend Engine v2.3.0, Copyright (c) 1998-2013 Zend Technologies

>php flir.php
Parse error: syntax error, unexpected '[' in E:\temp\Flir\FLIR_E4 - Kopie\flir.php on line 102

I don't understand the part
Code: [Select]
@pathinfo($options['o'])['extension']after reading
http://php.net/manual/en/function.pathinfo.php

Offline Taucher

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 456
  • Country: de
  • 1DsaYDGWXEYhEKL rfrbFyYsehaAtfBWawf
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #2493 on: December 20, 2013, 11:06:45 pm »
mmm not really, sorry I don't know if I made a language mistake on that statement.

I mean that before the menu hack I was able to establish a connection between FLIR tools and my E4+, after the hack I can't.
On the other hand on Windows I have no problem, and is listed as "Flir USB video"

The question is, someone else is facing the same problem?
Yes, me. I only recently (i.e. post-hack) tried using FLIR tools on my mac and it doesn't see my E4+ (on my work Windows laptop it works fine).

BTW: it shows up as a mass storage device in Finder so I can get at the images that way, but not in FLIR tools.

What USB mode is it set to?

Offline gabriel.klein

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 9
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #2494 on: December 20, 2013, 11:44:18 pm »
Suggestion if you cannot access your camera (and you have enabled RNDIS mode)

Use a USB Linux (life linux)

Set a static IP to 192.168.250.1 for the cam interface (top right).

You can connect your camera on 192.168.250.2.

 

Offline tomas123

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 832
  • Country: de
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #2495 on: December 20, 2013, 11:46:45 pm »
a untouched brand new Flir E4 has USB modus
Code: [Select]
UVC and MSD
... checked with hidden (usb) menu
http://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/flir-e4-thermal-imaging-camera-teardown/msg334290/#msg334290
Quote
secret menu - hold <right> down for 10 secs in the Camera Information menu



What is usbforcefs [0, 3] ? ( USB force filesystem)
Code: [Select]
rls -r -l .system
r---r---r----- 0 root   root   <a> usbconn                "high480"
rw--rw--r----p*0 root   root   <i> usbforcefs                     0
                 [0, 3]
rw--r---r---1p 2 root   root   <a> usbmode                  "RNDIS"
                 ["RNDIS" "MSD" "UVC" "RNDIS_UVC" "RNDIS_MSD" "UVC_MSD" "RNDIS_UVC_MSD"]
« Last Edit: December 20, 2013, 11:59:03 pm by tomas123 »
 

Offline CesarEscudero

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 88
  • Country: 00
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #2496 on: December 21, 2013, 12:56:21 am »
Quote
Yes, me. I only recently (i.e. post-hack) tried using FLIR tools on my mac and it doesn't see my E4+ (on my work Windows laptop it works fine).

BTW: it shows up as a mass storage device in Finder so I can get at the images that way, but not in FLIR tools.

Exactly, I can import as a mass storage too. Did you notice that even if you eject properly the memory it mounts again instantly?
BTW Finder is the explorer of windows

Quote
I agree - most likely still set to one of the "other" USB modes - bad setting, only relation to menu hack is that the USB mode got changed (by the owner) to apply the hack - guess why "advanced" users recommendation :)
Yes :D, In my first post I said that I even tried all the usb modes in case I was making bad assumptions.


Quote
a untouched brand new Flir E4 has USB modus
Code: [Select]
UVC and MSD

Yep, this was my first try, It was in that mode before I made the Menu hack, so it was obvious.


I think mac drivers are the problem, not the camera as is working on windows.
 

Offline daves

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 103
  • Country: cz
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #2497 on: December 21, 2013, 01:11:36 am »
I don't understand the part
Code: [Select]
@pathinfo($options['o'])['extension']

Sorry, that is PHP>5.4 syntax. I noticed it today morning. Please see the post for update version. Tested on 5.3.13
Batch Thermal Images Editor (JPG, BMT, SNP, IRI, ISI, IS2, PGM, TIF, IMG, BMP):  http://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/flir-e4-thermal-imaging-camera-teardown/msg350556/#msg350556
 

Offline tomas123

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 832
  • Country: de
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #2498 on: December 21, 2013, 03:26:31 am »
now it works fine

I like the white frame around the scale :)
« Last Edit: December 21, 2013, 03:28:23 am by tomas123 »
 

Offline Taucher

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 456
  • Country: de
  • 1DsaYDGWXEYhEKL rfrbFyYsehaAtfBWawf
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #2499 on: December 21, 2013, 04:46:53 am »
Quote
I agree - most likely still set to one of the "other" USB modes - bad setting, only relation to menu hack is that the USB mode got changed (by the owner) to apply the hack - guess why "advanced" users recommendation :)
Yes :D, In my first post I said that I even tried all the usb modes in case I was making bad assumptions.
Well, then "un-hack" the camera and compare ;)
Maybe also worth a try: remove battery from camera (cold boot it) after changing USB mode!


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf