Low Cost PCB's Low Cost Components

Author Topic: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread  (Read 27722 times)

0 Members and 3 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline anton610

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
  • Country: at
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #325 on: November 15, 2017, 07:40:57 AM »
BUD!
MANY THANKS for the great WORK!!!

Flir E4 without wifi works!

p.s. don't use win8.1
 

Offline kaz911

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 682
  • Country: gb
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #326 on: November 15, 2017, 07:02:32 PM »
does anyone have the first numbers of the serials for E4/E5's with wifi?  (so first 3-4 numbers of serial?)

thanks in advance :)
 

Offline Bud

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1928
  • Country: ca
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #327 on: November 15, 2017, 07:11:30 PM »
BUD!
MANY THANKS for the great WORK!!!

Flir E4 without wifi works!

p.s. don't use win8.1

Why do you think i use 8.1 ?
 

Offline DaveWB

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 118
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #328 on: November 15, 2017, 07:35:57 PM »
does anyone have the first numbers of the serials for E4/E5's with wifi?  (so first 3-4 numbers of serial?)

thanks in advance :)
wifi units started around 63997xxx
 

Offline anton610

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
  • Country: at
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #329 on: November 15, 2017, 08:16:37 PM »
Hi,

just for info to other people with win 8.1
i tryed it with win 8.1 and it didn't work properly. So i made it with a VM and win7 without problems...

Thanks!
BR anton
 

Offline FredB

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 29
  • Country: nl
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #330 on: Yesterday at 07:21:49 AM »
My Flir E4 non Wifi model 2.0L firmware  3.9.0.

Is this a success?

Power on the camera and see if you now have 320x240 resolution working.  <=== step 15 , I see is 80x60 , how to I check resolution

I skipped the step 15 and proceeded to step 16. Now the resolution shows 320X240 by itself without me editing anything. Did I succeed in the hacking?






I see that the digital resolution is 320x240 for hardwareversion E4 2.0.
For my E4 1.2L I think this is 640x480.
Or am I wrong?
Did Flir downgrade the hardware?
 

Offline DaveWB

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 118
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #331 on: Yesterday at 07:23:40 AM »


I see that the digital resolution is 320x240 for hardwareversion E4 2.0.
For my E4 1.2L I think this is 640x480.
Or am I wrong?
Did Flir downgrade the hardware?
I was wondering the same thing, I believe the old ones were indeed 640x480.
 

Offline FredB

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 29
  • Country: nl
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #332 on: Yesterday at 08:16:18 AM »
My archieved photos say 640x480 for digital resolution, I'm sure.  ;)
 

Offline Bud

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1928
  • Country: ca
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #333 on: Yesterday at 10:27:16 AM »
Read the datasheet, it says 640x480 for the digital camera.
 

Offline Squawk

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 38
  • Country: nl
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #334 on: Yesterday at 11:01:55 PM »
So the hack reduces the Original digital camera resolution from 640x480 to 320x240?

Is it possible to adjust the hack in a such a way to get the digital camera resolution back to 640x480?
 

Offline Fraser

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6631
  • Country: gb
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #335 on: Yesterday at 11:09:29 PM »
With regard to visible camera resolution, it is not uncommon for the visible light image to be cropped and downsampled to match the thermal image when a 'dual image' save is active. This is done to simplify image comparison and even Image Fusion. The image you have provided details of was a dual image save.

Try taking a 'visible light only' image and check its resolution. The E4 camera is 640 x 480 pixels but what is saved depends upon how the E4 is configured. Visible light camera resolution can be set by a configuration line in the configuration file on earlier E4 cameras

Fraser
« Last Edit: Yesterday at 11:13:08 PM by Fraser »
 
The following users thanked this post: Squawk

Offline Squawk

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 38
  • Country: nl
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #336 on: Yesterday at 11:43:32 PM »
Thank you for your insight Fraser, you sure are a living IRpedia! :)

Indeed as you described, it is a setting thing.
When one goes to: Settings - Save Options - Photo as seperate JPEG: and choose "ON", it will save the digital camera photo as a 640x480 JPEG file.
But when this option is set to "OFF", you will have the digital photo resolution of 320x240, as shown in Summer's screenshot above.

This is regardless of the "Digital Camera" only setting in the "Image Mode" option in the main toolbar (menu button press).

Strangly though, in this "Digital Camera" (only) mode, it makes the first photo (that would normally be an IR photo) in 320x240, but the (second) photo (that would normally be the visible camera photo) in 640x480.
« Last Edit: Yesterday at 11:47:36 PM by Squawk »
 

Offline FredB

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 29
  • Country: nl
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #337 on: Today at 03:27:07 AM »
That is a difference between the E4 1.2L FW2.3 en E4 2.0 FW3.9 because the setting of the imagemode option doesn't matter for the E4 1.2L. Digital resolution is always 640x480 in the archieved photos.
« Last Edit: Today at 10:31:42 AM by FredB »
 

Offline Bud

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1928
  • Country: ca
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #338 on: Today at 07:41:42 AM »
So the hack reduces the Original digital camera resolution from 640x480 to 320x240?

It has nothing to do with digital camera, it only unlocks the config file which then can be edited to E8 configuration.
 

Offline Bud

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1928
  • Country: ca
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #339 on: Today at 07:46:07 AM »
That is a difference between the hacked E4 1.2L FW2.3 en E4 2.0 FW3.9

You should not be using the "hacked" word until you compare the stock cameras. If the stock WiFi camera shows same information, you should ask Flir why they changed it. To find out you can roll back the mod (see recovery procedure on page 8 ) or ask someone here who has not applied the mod yet to check what their stock camera says.



 

Offline FredB

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 29
  • Country: nl
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #340 on: Today at 10:29:50 AM »
Yes, I understand and you are right, Bud. It will be a stock change by Flir and has nothing to do with the hack.
I first wonder why they make the change. My first thought was a hardware change but Fraser did explain it very well, I think.
By the way, I’m glad to ‘see’ you are back for this hack. Three years ago you did already some very good magic work together with Janekivi for the E4 1.2L, that I own. I tested at the time for Janekivi.
I wonder if the possibilities will be more than at the time. I already saw the new medical.pal you found.
Keep doing good work, Bud.  :-+
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf